Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Mugler Engraving Co. Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mugler Engraving Co.
Title: Mugler Engraving Co. Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1909
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printer's proofs for an ad for Zipp's Root Beer, printed by Mugler Engraving Co.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mugler Engraving Co. was a commercial printer in Cleveland, Ohio, with offices located in the Mugler Building. A Mugler Engraving Co. in Syracuse is mentioned in the August, 1909 edition of The Printing Art (pp. 361 and 367). The precise relationship between the two is unknown, although this collection makes it clear that there was some connection.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mugler Engraving Co. Collection contains a small number of printer's proofs for an advertisement for Zipp's Root Beer, a Cleveland-based brewer of root beer in the early 20th century (see Thomas Register of American Manufacturers, 1905-6, p. 384; Images of America: Brocton and Portland, Edward T. Kurtz, p. 74), along with the original artwork. One item in the collection has an address in Cleveland, Ohio, while another has an address in Syracuse, New York.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Mugler Engraving Co.
Zipp Manufacturing Co.

Subjects

Advertisements.
Printers -- New York (State)
Printers -- Ohio.
Printing -- Specimens.

Genres and Forms

Printers' proofs.

Occupations

Printers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mugler Engraving Co. Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2012.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Mar 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
SC 847 Proofs, Zipp's Root Beer ad circa 1909

Return to top