Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Morris Family Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Morris family.
Title: Morris Family Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1818-1858
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Family of Sylvester Morris, 19th century Vermont tanner and farmer. Collection includes correspondence and legal papers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sylvester Morris (1797-1886) was a tanner and farmer in 19th century Norwich, Vermont. He was born in Stafford, Connecticut to Ephraim Morris and Pamela Converse Morris, and the family moved to Vermont in 1804. Morris was active in church affairs and was known for his temperance and anti-slavery opinions. His son George Sylvester Morris (1840-1889) was a noted American educator and philosophical writer, a lecturer at the University of Michigan (1870-1880) and at Johns Hopkins University (1880-1884).

[Adapted from information found in A Sketch of the Life of Sylvester Morris (Boston, 1887), written by his grand-daughter Kate Morris Cone; and "The Morris Family" in Volume II of Genealogical and family history of the state of Vermont (New York, 1903), pp. 358-360.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Morris Family Papers consist of correspondence, primarily incoming. Most are to Sylvester Morris, and the remainder to his brother Edward. The letters are chiefly personal although a few do discuss business matters.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Morris family.
Morris, Sylvester.

Subjects

Leatherwork -- Vermont.
Tanners -- Vermont.

Places

Norwich (Vt.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Legal documents.

Occupations

Tanners.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Morris Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 17 Nov 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top