Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Morgan, John. |
| Title: | John Morgan Collection of Casein Artifacts |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1900-1945 |
| Quantity: | 2.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Collection of casein plastic artifacts |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Casein plastics, also known as milk plastics, are plastics prepared from casein, a natural phosphorus-containing protein found in milk. Adolph Spitteler and associate W. Krische of Germany invented casein plastics in 1897 when they treated casein with formaldehyde. Casein plastics held onto dyes easily and thus were colorful. They were commonly utilized in making buttons, necklaces, buckles, fountain pens, and knitting needles. Casein plastic items were popular in the early twentieth century, and were sought after based on their fashionable appearance. The process of making casein plastics is slow, and with the introduction of newer plastics post-World War II, the production of the material slowed considerably after 1945. Today, limited quantities of casein plastics are produced in countries with heavy dairy interests. John Morgan, a plastics historian and researcher, collected casein plastics that were popular in the early 20th century.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The John Morgan Collection of Casein Artifacts contain a variety of casein objects, including knitting needles, buttons, a fountain pen, a comb, and toys like dominos and a whistle. While exact dates are unknown, objects were most likely made in the early-to-mid 20th century; the manufacturing of casein plastics slowed considerably post-World War II.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
John Morgan Collection of Casein Plastics,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Helen Morgan, 2021.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 02 Dec 2021
Revision history:
Inventory
| Artifacts | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bracelet - orange bangle-like bracelet with a floral design at the tips of each end (ID#: morgan_casein_001) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Brooch - art nouveau orange and black clip-on brooch with gold clasp (ID#: morgan_casein_002) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Brooch - dark blue elephant brooch (ID#: morgan_casein_003) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Buckle and clip - black floral designed belt buckle and clip (2 items) (ID#: morgan_casein_004) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Buttons - various buttons: molded, machined, embossed, pop-eye (17 items) (ID#: morgan_casein_005) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Clock - small table-top clock with orange and black mottled frame around clock face (ID#: morgan_casein_006) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Comb - small red-orange straight hair comb (ID#: morgan_casein_007) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Crochet hooks - two green crochet hooks, one large and one small (2 items) (ID#: morgan_casein_008) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Dominos 1927 - black and white playing dominos housed within a wooden case, handwritten text under case cover reads, "A present from Mr. R. Eyre to Blossom, 1927" (ID#: morgan_casein_009) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Earrings - pale blue clip-on earrings with gold clip (ID#: morgan_casein_010) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Knitting needles - green knitting needles (2 items) (ID#: morgan_casein_011) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Napkin ring - pale blue napkin ring with a design of a belt buckle (ID#: morgan_casein_012) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Necklace - green flower designed spheres and small blue pearls with gold clasp (ID#: morgan_casein_013) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Pencil, pen, pen nib - yellow mechanical pencil, multicolored pen, and metal pen nib (3 items) (ID#: morgan_casein_014) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Whistle - blue and black child's whistle (ID#: morgan_casein_015) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Unknown fashion accessory - orange circle (ID#: morgan_casein_016) | ||||||||||