Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Daniel J. Mordell Maps

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mordell, Daniel J.
Title: Daniel J. Mordell Maps
Inclusive Dates: 1954-1965
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Maps of town, canals, railroad lines in Central New York. Includes Rome Canal, Baldwinsville, German Flats, others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Daniel J. Mordell Maps consist of several maps and drawings relating to canals, railroads and other features in Central New York. Some of the maps appear to be part of a numbered set; the others, although in the same style and with similar dates, are not numbered. Most are 8-1/2" by 11" but some fold out to a larger size. A complete list of map titles is given in the inventory below. Notations on the maps indicate that Mordell sketched them from 19th century originals.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Numbered items are in numerical order. Unnumbered items are in alphabetical ordeer by map title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Mordell, Daniel J.

Subjects

Canals -- New York (State) -- History.
Erie Canal -- Maps.
Genesee Valley Canal -- Maps.
German Flats Canal -- Maps.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

Baldwinsville (N.Y.) -- Maps.
Batavia (N.Y.) -- Maps.
German Flats (N.Y.) -- Maps.

Genres and Forms

Maps.
Sketches.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Daniel J. Mordell Maps,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Maps
RESTRICTED: COLLECTION CLOSED.
SC 418 Numbered items 1964-1965 (22 items)
1. Profile of New York State's Genesee Valley Canal
2. The Genesee Valley Canal
3. Tour area [of] the Genesee Valley Canal
4. Syracuse and Chenango Valley Railroad
5. Auburn and Syracuse Electric Rwy.
6. Syracuse Nothern Ry. [and] South Bay R.R.
7. Some historical points of interest Garbutt, N.Y. Scottsville, N.Y.
8. Sketch map of the historic Mohawk Portage at Rome, N.Y.
9. Sketch map of the Williamstown & Redfield R.R. & Forest Co.
10. Pass of the Genesee at Portage Falls [and] Hornby Lodge at Portage Falls
11. Western view of the central part of Batavia
[12-13 missing]
14. Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburgh Railroad
15. Original stone bridge over the Erie Canal at Salina Street, 1818
16. Old Fort Brewerton & its surroundings [and] Royal blockhouse at east end of Oneida Lake
17. Historical sketch map of Baldwinsville, N.Y.
[18-19 missing]
20, 21, [22 missing], 23, [24 missing], 25. Clinton's Ditch [various views]
26. Rome Canal
[27 missing]
28. Section of wooden rail used on original Auburn & Rochester Railroad
29. Proposed park [along Erie Canal, near Canastota]
[30 missing]
31. A sketch map of the Auburn & Syracuse R.R. [and] Auburn & Rochester R.R.
SC 418 Unnumbered items 1964-1965 (4 items)
German Flats Canal
Profile of the locks on Wood Creek erected in 1802-3
Rome Canal
Western Inland Lock Navigation Co. [charter limits and works]

Return to top