Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Thomas Moore Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moore, Thomas, 1940-
Title: Thomas Moore Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1983-2010
Quantity: 11.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American author and psychotherapist, author of Care of the Soul and others. Collection contains audiovisual material, correspondence, manuscripts, memorabilia, and writings.
Language: Majority is in English, with a few published items in French, German, Spanish, Japanese, and other languages.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Moore (1940-) is an American author, most known for his popular books on spirituality. He has master's degrees in musicology (University of Michigan) and theology (University of Windsor, Ontario), and a PhD in religion (Syracuse University). Over the course of his life he has been a monk, a musician, a university professor, an author, and a psychotherapist; his books include the New York Times bestseller Care of the Soul (1992). He is a regular columnist for The Huffington Post and Spirituality and Health magazine. With Jean Hinson-Lall, he co-founded the Institute for the Study of Imagination.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Moore Papers contains audiovisual material, correspondence, manuscripts, memorabilia, and writings.

Audiovisual material consists of commercially-produced audio versions of Moore's books, appearances by Moore on various radio and television shows and specials, workshops and other hosted productions, and other items.

Correspondence contains both personal and professional, including colleagues in the fields of psychotherapy, psychology and spirituality (Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Suzi Gablik, Annie Gottlieb, the New York Center for Jungian Studies, George Nickelsburg, Ronald Schenk, Joanne Stroud), publishers (Bantam Books, Harper Collins, Larson Publications, Shepherd-Walwyn), magazines for whom Moore wrote ( L'Immaginale, Journeymen, The Salt Journal, Spirituality and Health), and journalists (Bill Moyers). There are also numerous letters from readers of his best-selling book Care of the Soul.

Manuscripts contains early drafts, proofs, and setting copy of The Soul of Sex (1998).

Memorabilia includes catalogs in which Moore's works were sold, clippings, and publicity related to his books.

Writings contains published books (including numerous foreign-language editions) and book chapters; forewords, prefaces, and introductions; interviews; journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and a few miscellaneous items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Moore, Thomas, 1940-

Subjects

Authors, American.
Psychology, Religious.
Psychotherapists -- United States.
Spiritual life -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiobooks.
Audiocassettes.
Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Compact discs.
Correspondence.
Interviews.
Magazines (periodicals)
Manuscripts for publication.
Reviews (documents)
Videocassettes.

Occupations

Psychotherapists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Moore Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Thomas Moore, 2001-2002.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Audiovisual material
Audiobooks - commercially produced audio versions of books by Moore
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) (1 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_115)
Session 1: The Richness in Simple Pleasures; Session 2: A Sense of Community
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) (2 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_116)
Session 3: Emptying Out; Session 4: The Fantasy of Busyness
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) (3 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_117)
Session 5: The Spirit and Soul of Simplicity; Session 6: An Attitude of Acceptance
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) (4 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_118)
Session 7: Entering Life More Fully; Session 8: Simplicity through the Ages
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) (5 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_119)
Bonus Cassette: 10 Suggestions for Making Life Simple
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) [copy 2] (1 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_120)
Session 1: The Richness in Simple Pleasures; Session 2: A Sense of Community
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) [copy 2] (2 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_121)
Session 3: Emptying Out; Session 4: The Fantasy of Busyness
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) [copy 2] (3 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_122)
Session 5: The Spirit and Soul of Simplicity; Session 6: An Attitude of Acceptance
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) [copy 2] (4 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_123)
Session 7: Entering Life More Fully; Session 8: Simplicity through the Ages
Box 3 The Art of Simplicity, Thomas Moore (14080A) [copy 2] (5 of 5) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_124)
Bonus Cassette: 10 Suggestions for Making Life Simple
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (1 of 9) - unabridged audiobook set of nine cassettes/12.25 hours by arrangements with HarperCollins Publishers Inc. (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_098)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (2 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_099)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (3 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_100)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (4 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_101)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (5 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_102)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (6 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_103)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (7 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_104)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (8 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_105)
Box 3 Care of the Soul by Thomas Moore (94373) (9 of 9) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_106)
Box 2 The Education of the Heart (CPN 2593) (1 of 2) 10/11/1996 - readings and sources for "Care of the Soul", "Soul Mates", and "The Re-Enchantment of Everyday Life" selected by Moore (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_084)
Box 2 The Education of the Heart (CPN 2593) (2 of 2) 10/11/1996 - readings and sources for "Care of the Soul", "Soul Mates", and "The Re-Enchantment of Everyday Life" selected by Moore (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_085)
Box 2 A Magical Life by Thomas Moore (1 of 2) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_082)
Box 2 A Magical Life by Thomas Moore (2 of 2) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_083)
Box 2 Meditations: On the Monk Who Dwell in Daily Life (CPN10053) 8/14/1994 - Audiobook on cassette performed by the author. Includes paper box with HarperAudio flyer advertising with other published materials. (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 80:00) (ID#: moore_t_079)
Box 2 The Re-Enchantment of Everyday Life (CPN 2569) (1 of 2) 02/14/1996 - abridged audiobook on two cassettes (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_086)
Box 2 The Re-Enchantment of Everyday Life (CPN 2569) (2 of 2) 02/14/1996 - abridged audiobook on two cassettes (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_087)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (1 of 8) - unabridged audiobook set of eight cassettes/10.75 hours by arrangements with HarperCollins Publishers Inc. (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_107)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (2 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_108)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (3 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_109)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (4 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_110)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (5 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_111)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (6 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_112)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (7 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_113)
Box 3 Soul Mates by Thomas Moore (94462) (8 of 8) (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_114)
Box 3 The Thomas Moore Audio Collection (BGS004) (1 of 4) January 2 and 3, 1992 - audiobooks "Care of the Soul" and "Soul Mates"; includes HarperAudio flyer advertising with other published materials (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_094)
Tape 1: Care of the Soul (CPN2298) - A Guide for Cultivating Depth and Sacredness in Everyday Life
Box 3 The Thomas Moore Audio Collection (BGS004) (2 of 4) January 2 and 3, 1992 - audiobooks "Care of the Soul" and "Soul Mates"; includes HarperAudio flyer advertising with other published materials (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_095)
Tape 2: Care of the Soul (CPN2298) - A Guide for Cultivating Depth and Sacredness in Everyday Life
Box 3 The Thomas Moore Audio Collection (BGS004) (3 of 4) October 20, 1993 - audiobooks "Care of the Soul" and "Soul Mates"; includes HarperAudio flyer advertising with other published materials (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 88:00) (ID#: moore_t_096)
Tape 1: Soul Mates (CPN2419): Honoring the Mysteries of Love and Relationship
Box 3 The Thomas Moore Audio Collection (BGS004) (4 of 4) October 20, 1993 - audiobooks "Care of the Soul" and "Soul Mates"; includes HarperAudio flyer advertising with other published materials (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 88:00) (ID#: moore_t_097)
Tape 2: Soul Mates (CPN2419): Honoring the Mysteries of Love and Relationship
Box 2 Thomas Moore on Meaningful Work (A340) (1 of 2) - audiobook on 2 cassettes (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 94:00) (ID#: moore_t_090)
Box 2 Thomas Moore on Meaningful Work (A340) (2 of 2) - audiobook on 2 cassettes (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 94:00) (ID#: moore_t_091)
Box 3 Thomas Moore on Writing (A343) (1 of 2) - audiobook on 2 cassettes; "Soul Life" book is advertised on the cassette's insert (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 96:00) (ID#: moore_t_092)
Box 3 Thomas Moore on Writing (A343) (2 of 2) - audiobook on 2 cassettes (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 96:00) (ID#: moore_t_093)
Interviews and guest appearances - most of these are homemade tapes, recorded off radio or television
Box 2 Booklights, Thomas Moore 7/20/96 (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: moore_t_055)
Box 2 Conversation with Leonard Lopate featuring Thomas Moore, "The Soul of Sex" (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_078)
Box 1 A Conversation with Thomas Moore - Video includes Pledge breaks. (VHS; running time 1:02:40) (ID#: moore_t_010)
Box 1 A Conversation with Thomas Moore (rough cut) 12/21/94 (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_011)
Box 1 A Conversation with Thomas Moore (WSP 124) 1994-1995 - As Seen on Public Television. For non-commercial private exhibition in homes. Features Thomas Moore, author of Care the Soul and Soul Mates, in a wide ranging conversation with writer Valerie Andrews. (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_034)
Box 1 Discussion with ... Thomas Moore: "Honoring the Mysteries of Love and Relationship" interviewed by Jack Cole 1/24/1994 (VHS; running time 29:15) (ID#: moore_t_007)
Box 2 Dr. Thomas Moore Revealing Secrets for Mind and Body, host Andrea Candee (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_075)
Box 1 Faces on Faith Live with Thomas Moore, hosted by Linda Hanick 10/10/1993 (VHS; running time 1:25:30) (ID#: moore_t_001)
Box 1 Good Morning America: Dreams 2/3/95 (VHS) (ID#: moore_t_014)
Box 1 Good Morning America: The Gift of Poetry 12-8-94 - Andy Carroll also appears on the show (VHS; running time 30:00) (ID#: moore_t_009)
Box 1 HB Pictures: "A Conversation with Thomas Moore" (non-broadcast version) 1/20/95 (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_012)
Box 1 HB Pictures: "A Conversation with Thomas Moore" (PBS Pledge version) 1/20/95 (VHS; running time 61:00) (ID#: moore_t_013)
Box 2 Innerwisdom with Carolyn Craft, guest Thomas Moore (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_077)
Box 2 Jean Feraca: "Meditations" by Thomas Moore 1/15/94; 1995 - Wisconsin Public Radio program: "Conversations with Jean Feraca" (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_047)
Box 2 Jean Feraca: Crass Commercialism, Thomas Moore 12/26/94; 1995 - Wisconsin Public Radio program: "Conversations with Jean Feraca" (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_049)
Box 2 Jean Feraca: The Role of Magic in Modern Life, Thomas Moore 1993; 6/09/94 - Wisconsin Public Radio program: "Conversations with Jean Feraca" (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_048)
Box 1 God Series: Thomas Moore 12/10/96 - morning program (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_019)
Box 2 JBS Program 8/11-8/12; 12-1: Thomas Moore (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_074)
Box 2 KHOW [Denver] Thomas Moore: Care of the Soul (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 26:46) (ID#: moore_t_076)
Box 2 KUSF [University of San Francisco] 03/08/2000 (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_070)
Box 2 The Marc Steiner Show: Thomas Moore 03/13/2000 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_071)
Box 1 The McCuistion Program: Searching for the Soul in Business (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_006)
Box 2 [New Dimensions?] 1991 - cassette has no labels; insert features New Dimensions tapes containing weekly interviews (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 60:0) (ID#: moore_t_058)
Box 2 New Dimensions No. 2448: Thomas Merton the Man with Ron Seitz, No. 2448 1996-1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_060)
Box 2 New Dimensions No. 2476: Thomas Merton Remembered, No. 2476 1996 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_061)
Box 2 New Dimensions No. 2484: Anne Stirling Hastings 1996 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_062)
Box 2 New Dimensions No. 2502: Thomas Moore 1991-1994 (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 65:00) (ID#: moore_t_063)
Box 2 New Dimensions No. 2810: Thomas Moore, Program No. 2810 1997-03/08/00 - unedited tape for guest (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 64:00) (ID#: moore_t_064)
Box 2 New Dimensions No. 5721: Highlights from "New Dimensions" Radio Interviews "Friends of New Dimensions" 1996-1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_059)
Box 2 NPR: Midmorning 03/22/2000 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_072)
Box 2 Prime Time Radio June 18, 1996; June 25, 1996 - one-hour weekly interview program (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_053)
Side 1: Investing and Financial Planning; Re-enchanting Everyday Life; Side 2: The Murrow Boys; Widower
Box 2 Prime Time Radio September 8, 1998; September 15, 1998 - one-hour weekly interview program (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_054)
Side 1: Sweepstakes; Storytelling; Side 2: Women's Health; Sex and the Soul
Box 1 Quest: Energy Power Spirit (Z1008) 1997 - Breakthrough views of mind, body and healing. Participants in the production: Sarah Ban Breathnach, Caroline Myss, Bernie Siegel, David Whyte, Thomas Moore, Stephan Rechtschaffen, Marianne Williamson. (VHS; running time 58:00) (ID#: moore_t_037)
Box 1 Quest: Light My Fire. The Art of Sacred and Ecstatic Lovemaking (Vol. 4) - A Lili Pournier Special. Participants in the production: Deepak Chopra, Barbara De Angelis, John Gray, Erica Jong, Sam Keen, Thomas Moore, Margot Anand, Kutira & Raphael. (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_038)
Box 1 Questions of Faith Pilot "Survival" with Eaton intro (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_030)
Box 1 Syracuse University Library Associates: "A Conversation with Thomas Moore" 6/5/98 (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: moore_t_027)
Box 1 Thomas Moore MSNBC 12/10/96 (VHS; running time 30:00) (ID#: moore_t_020)
Box 1 Thomas Moore: "A mirror with a voice" (Master No. 2) - Green Table Productions video. (S-VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_031)
Box 2 The Thomas Pecora Show: Thomas Moore, PH.D., part 3 06/05/2000 (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_073)
Box 1 Who am I? Why am I here? (WSP 131) 1996 - Featuring Thomas Moore. For non-commercial private exhibition in homes. (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_035)
Music - most of these are commercially produced tapes or CDs
Box 3 Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerti Nos. 1-5 (MHC 332660X) - commercial audio cassette of classical music; cassette No. 2, sides 3 and 4; includes insert (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_129)
Box 1 Songs of the Soul (VHS; running time 54:00) (ID#: moore_t_032)
Box 2 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic Music Celebration with Thomas Moore (UPAB1218) (1 of 2) (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 55:00) (ID#: moore_t_088)
"The Words." Introduction; Thomas Moore on the soul of Christmas, with Celtic music producer Johnny Cunningham. Moore speaking about Christmas and its most important aspects, including the tree, the star the Virgin Mother and the divine child.
Box 2 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic Music Celebration with Thomas Moore (UPAB1218) (2 of 2) - Tape 2 features today's best Celtic musicians playing the season's loveliest carols. Songs for this project selected and arranged by Moore. (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 55:45) (ID#: moore_t_089)
"The Music." 1: God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen; Jesus Christ, the Apple Tree; In Dulci Jubilo; We Three Kings; Silent Night; It Came Upon a Midnight Clear; I Saw Three Ships/Bells no Bells; In the Bleak Midwinter; Side 2: Lo, How a Rose; The Holly and the Ivy; Lully, Lullay; In Excelsis Deo; Remember O Thou Man; Christ Child's Lullaby
Box 3 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic Music Celebration with Thomas Moore (UPAB1218) (1 of 2) (CD; running time 55:00) (ID#: moore_t_126)
"The Words." Introduction; Thomas Moore on the soul of Christmas, with Celtic music producer Johnny Cunningham. Moore speaking about Christmas and its most important aspects, including the tree, the star the Virgin Mother and the divine child. Includes 72-page booklet from author Thomas Moore.
Box 3 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic Music Celebration with Thomas Moore (UPAB1218) (2 of 2) - CD 2 features today's best Celtic musicians playing the season's loveliest carols. Songs for this project selected and arranged by Moore. Includes 72-page booklet from author Thomas Moore. (CD; running time 55:45) (ID#: moore_t_125)
"The Music." 1. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen; 2. Jesus Christ, the Apple Tree; 3. In Dulci Jubilo; 4. We Three Kings; 5. Silent Night; 6. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear; 7. I Saw Three Ships/Bells no Bells; 8. In the Bleak Midwinter; 9. Lo, How a Rose; 10. The Holly and the Ivy; 11. Lully, Lullay; 12. In Excelsis Deo; 13. Remember O Thou Man; 14. Christ Child's Lullaby
Box 1 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic music celebration with Thomas Moore (UPV1218) 1997 - Live Concert as Seen on Public Television. Copyright program. (VHS; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_039)
Box 1 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic Music Celebration 11/18/97 - PBS Special. (VHS; running time 58:30) (ID#: moore_t_026)
Box 1 The Soul of Christmas: A Celtic Music Celebration with Thomas Moore, Off-Line Vers. 3 11/05/97 (VHS; running time 59:00) (ID#: moore_t_025)
Box 3 Thomas Moore: Music for the Soul: A Program for Re-Enchantment [copy 1] - A compilation CD with selections made by Thomas Moore. Multiple copyright owners. Includes CD insert with "exclusive new essay by Thomas Moore". (CD; running time 60:08) (ID#: moore_t_127)
1. Alma Redemptoris Mater - Choir Of King's College, Cambridge/Stephen Cleobury; 2. Tu Solus Qui Facis Mirabilia - The Hilliard Ensemble/Paul Hillier; 3. Old And Lost Rivers - Houston Symphony Orchestra/Christoph Eschenbach; 4. Vespers-Ave Maria - Swedish Radio Choir/Tonu Kaljuste; 5. Cantus In Memory Of Benjamin Britten - Bournemouth Sinfonietta/Richard Studt; 6. Salve Regina - The Sixteen/Harry Christophers; 7. Fratres (Version VI) - London Philharmonic Orchestra/Franz Welser-Most; 8. Nuper Rosarum Flores - The Hilliard Ensemble/Paul Hillier; 9. Adagio - Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra/Leonard Slatkin; 10. Symphony No.3-Second Movement - Zofia Kilanowicz/ Szymanowski State Philharmonic Orchestra; Jacek Kasprzyk
Box 3 Thomas Moore: Music for the Soul: A Program for Re-Enchantment [copy 2] - A compilation CD with selections made by Thomas Moore. Multiple copyright owners. Includes CD insert with "exclusive new essay by Thomas Moore". (CD; running time 60:08) (ID#: moore_t_128)
1. Alma Redemptoris Mater - Choir Of King's College, Cambridge/Stephen Cleobury; 2. Tu Solus Qui Facis Mirabilia - The Hilliard Ensemble/Paul Hillier; 3. Old And Lost Rivers - Houston Symphony Orchestra/Christoph Eschenbach; 4. Vespers-Ave Maria - Swedish Radio Choir/Tonu Kaljuste; 5. Cantus In Memory Of Benjamin Britten - Bournemouth Sinfonietta/Richard Studt; 6. Salve Regina - The Sixteen/Harry Christophers; 7. Fratres (Version VI) - London Philharmonic Orchestra/Franz Welser-Most; 8. Nuper Rosarum Flores - The Hilliard Ensemble/Paul Hillier; 9. Adagio - Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra/Leonard Slatkin; 10. Symphony No.3-Second Movement - Zofia Kilanowicz/ Szymanowski State Philharmonic Orchestra; Jacek Kasprzyk
Workshops and hosted programs
Box 1 Discovering Everyday Spirituality with Thomas Moore: Story - eight-part TV program; includes program summary (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: moore_t_002)
Box 1 Discovering Everyday Spirituality with Thomas Moore: Place - eight-part TV program; includes program summary (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: moore_t_003)
Box 1 Discovering Everyday Spirituality with Thomas Moore: Activity - eight-part TV program; includes program summary (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: moore_t_004)
Box 1 Discovering Everyday Spirituality with Thomas Moore: Ritual - eight-part TV program; includes program summary (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_036)
Box 1 DES [Discovering Everyday Spirituality]: Ritual - comp. reel/ producers' segments (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_005)
Box 2 The New York Open Center: Care of the Soul workshop Tape 1 11/14/92 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_041)
Box 2 The New York Open Center: Care of the Soul workshop Tape 2 11/14/92 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_042)
Box 2 The New York Open Center: Care of the Soul workshop Tape 3 11/14/92 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_043)
Box 2 The New York Open Center: Care of the Soul workshop Tape 4 11/14/92 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_044)
Box 2 The New York Open Center: Care of the Soul workshop Tape 7 11/13/92 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_045)
Box 2 Soul and Everyday Life (1 of 2) - lecture and workshop weekend conducted at The Open Center in New York (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_080)
Side A: Evening Lecture; Side B: Evening Lecture (conclusion); Workshop
Box 2 Soul and Everyday Life (2 of 2) - lecture and workshop weekend conducted at The Open Center in New York (1/8 inch audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_081)
Side A: Workshop (conclusion)
Box 1 SoulWork: "Thomas Moore" 1998 - includes letter to Thomas Moore from Patricia Michael, SoulWork Producer, dated June, 9, 1998 (VHS; running time 30:00) (ID#: moore_t_028)
Miscellaneous - most of these are homemade tapes with handwritten labels
Box 1 Citibank Credit Card Campaign (VHS; running time 15:00) (ID#: moore_t_033)
Box 1 First Person Desperately Seeking Happiness 09/08/95 - television program; Moore probably appeared on this, but cannot find a listing (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_018)
Box 2 From the Heart of New York: New York Open Center 10th Anniversary Sampler Tape 1994 - Moore did several workshops at the New York Open Center; includes printed content list in the cassette insert (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_046)
Box 2 Imagination in the Helping Profession: Tom Moore Tape 2 Spring 1983 - title on the cassette insert reads: "Beginner's Yoga" (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_040)
Box 2 Institute for the Study of Imagination: On Inspiration, No. 162A (1 of 5) 1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_065)
Box 2 Institute for the Study of Imagination: On Inspiration, No. 162A (2 of 5) 1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_066)
Box 2 Institute for the Study of Imagination: On Inspiration, No. 162A (3 of 5) 1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_067)
Box 2 Institute for the Study of Imagination: On Inspiration, No. 162A (4 of 5) 1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_068)
Box 2 Institute for the Study of Imagination: On Inspiration, No. 162A (5 of 5) 1997 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_069)
Box 2 Kathleen Jenks: Woman's Way: Beyond the Hero (7 of 9) 4/12/97 - collection has only 2 of the 9 tapes in this set (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_056)
Box 2 Kathleen Jenks: Woman's Way: Beyond the Hero (8 of 9) 4/12/97 - collection has only 2 of the 9 tapes in this set (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_057)
Box 1 Man Alive - Care of the Soul 1/26/1994 - Prod. : F. M. Morrison. (VHS; running time 30:00) (ID#: moore_t_008)
Box 1 Myth of Childhood, parts 1 and 2 (VHS; running time 90:00) (ID#: moore_t_023)
Box 1 Myth of Childhood, part 3 (VHS) (ID#: moore_t_024)
Box 1 The Sacred and the Ordinary Febryary 25, 1995 (VHS; running time 1:14:16) (ID#: moore_t_015)
Box 1 Thomas Moore (edit master) (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: moore_t_029)
Box 1 Thomas Moore (rough edit 1 of 2) 4/97 - note on the label reads "With Sunset and book scroll at end" (VHS; running time 12:30) (ID#: moore_t_021)
Box 1 Tom Moore (rough edit 2 of 2) 4/97 (VHS; running time 30:00) (ID#: moore_t_022)
Box 1 Thomas Moore Father's Day Satellite Press Tour history tape (1 of 2) June 14, 1995 (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_016)
Box 1 Thomas Moore Father's Day Satellite Press Tour history tape (2 of 2) June 14, 1995 (VHS; running time 60:00) (ID#: moore_t_017)
Box 2 Thomas Moore: Re-Enchantment, Boston #1 10/16/94 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_050)
Box 2 Thomas Moore: Re-Enchantment, Boston #2 10/16/94 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_051)
Box 2 Thomas Moore: The Re-Enchantment of Everyday Life, Pacifica Graduate Institute Tape 3 05/21/95 - incomplete; tapes 1 and 2 not found (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: moore_t_052)
Correspondence
Box 4 A, misc
Box 4 Bailey, Jonathan
Box 4 Bantam Books
Box 4 Bassett, Carrie
Box 4 Brophy, Thomas
Box 4 B, misc
Box 4 C, misc
Box 4 D, misc
Box 4 Estes, Clarissa Pinkola
Box 4 E, misc
Box 4 F, misc
Box 4 Gablik, Suzi
Box 4 Gottlieb, Annie
Box 4 G, misc
Box 4 Harper Collins (2 folders)
Box 4 Howell, Alice and Walter
Box 4 Huyler, Stephen P.
Box 4 H, misc
Box 4 L'Immaginale
Box 4 Interface
Box 4 Journeymen
Box 4 J, misc
Box 4 K, misc
Box 5 Larson Publications
Box 5 L, misc
Box 5 Marshall, Laurie
Box 5 McKnight, Tom
Box 5 Moyers, Bill
Box 5 M, misc
Box 5 New York Center for Jungian Studies (Aryeh Maidenbaum)
Box 5 Nickelsburg, George
Box 5 Novak, Philip
Box 5 Noel, Dan
Box 5 N-O, misc
Box 5 Pardi, Roy
Box 5 Pearlman, Bill
Box 5 P, misc
Box 5 Rabushka, Aaron, J.
Box 5 Reinhart, Peter
Box 5 Rosen, David H.
Box 5 R, misc
Box 5 The Salt Journal
Box 5 Sardello, Robert
Box 5 Schenk, Ronald
Box 5 Shepheard-Walwyn Ltd - publishes of Ficino book
Box 5 Slattery, Dennis P.
Box 5 Stroud, Joanne H.
Box 5 S, misc
Box 5 Texas State Board of Examiners
Box 5 Theroux, Phyllis
Box 5 T, misc
Box 5 Vernon, Mary
Box 5 Voss, Angela
Box 5 V, misc
Box 5 W, Y, misc
Box 5 Unidentified, first name only
Box 5 Unidentified, no name
Manuscripts
The Soul of Sex
Box 6 Early draft, with corrections (2 folders)
Box 6 Publisher notes
Box 6 Setting copy, with corrections (2 folders)
Box 6 First proofs, with corrections (3 folders)
Memorabilia
Catalogs
Box 7 Harper Collins 1995-1996, 1999-2000 (3 folders)
Box 7 Miscellaneous
Clippings
Box 7 Articles about 1992-1999, 2003-2004 (2 folders)
Box 7 Book reviews 1992-1998, 2000 (2 folders)
Publicity
Box 7 Books
Box 7 Lectures and workshops
Box 8 "Spirituality and Health" vol, 1 and 2, bound - presentation copy for Moore, with his name embossed in silver on front
Writings
Books
Box 9 The Book of Job with commentary by Thomas Moore, Riverhead Books 1998 - paperback (2 copies)
Box 9 Care of the soul in medicine, Hay House 2010 - hardcover
Box 9 Care of the soul, the illustrated edition, Harper Collins 1998 - hardcover
Box 9 The Education of the heart, Harper Collins 1997 - uncorrected proof
Box 9 The Guru of golf, Hay House 2010 - hardcover
Box 9 Meditations: On the monk who dwells in daily life, Harper Collins 1994 - hardcover
Box 9 A Life at work, Broadway Books 2008 - hardcover
Box 9 Original self, Harper Collins 2000 - uncorrected proof
Box 9 Rituals of the imagination, Pegasus Foundation 1983 - paperback
Box 9 Soul mates, Harper Collins 1994 - hardcover
Box 9 The Soul of sex, Harper Collins 1998 - hardcover
Box 9 The Soul's religion, Harper Collins 2002 - hardcover
Box 9 Writing in the sand: Jesus & the soul of the gospels, Hay House 2009 - hardcover
Books, foreign language editions - French, German, Japanese, Spanish, etc.
Box 9 Miscellaneous
Box 10 Miscellaneous
Chapters
Box 11 "Annunciation" in The Angels, edited by Robert Sardello 1994 - paperback
Box 11 "The Artist: Therapist as magus" in Spiele der Seele. Traum, Imagination und k√ľnstlerisches Tun, by Hans-Helmut Decker-Voigt 1992 - paperback; entire volume in German except for Moore's piece
Box 11 "A world of mentors" in If I were your daddy, this is what you'd learn, edited by Julia Espey 2010 - includes letter of appreciation from author
Box 11 "The soul makes us human" in Invitations to dialog: The legacy of Sideny M. Jourard, edited by Anne Richards and Tiparat Schumrun 1999 - paperback
Box 11 "Marsilio Ficino: Magus and cultural visionary" in Friend to mankind: Marsilio Ficino 1433-1499 edited by Michael Shepherd 1999 - paperback (2 copies)
Box 11 "Jesus Hermes and shifting worlds: Metanoia as therapy" in Disturbances in the field, edited by Christine Downing 2006 - paperback
Box 11 "Thomas Moore" in 100 words, 200 visionaries, edited by William Murtha 2010 - paperback; not really a chapter, just 2 pages from each contributor
Box 11 "The Sacred arts of life" in Spirit of simplicity 1996? - paperback; excerpt from Care of the Soul
Forewords, prefaces, introductions
Box 11 Best spiritual writing 2000, edited by Philip Zaleski 2000
Box 11 The Buddha and the terrorist, by Satish Kumar 2006
Box 11 Four faces, by Mark Tully 1997
Box 11 God's breath: Sacred scriptures of the world, edited by John Miller and Aaron Kenedi 2000
Box 11 Gregorian chant: Songs of the spirit, edited by Huston Smith 1996 - includes music CD in pocket inside back cover
Box 11 Intimate kisses: The poetry of sexual pleasure, edited by Wendy Maltz 2001
Box 11 Jamila, by Chingiz Aitmatov 1999
Box 11 The Shadow in America: Reclaiming the soul of a nation, edited by Jeremiah Abrams 1994
Box 11 Shelter fo the spirit, by Victoria Moran 1997
Box 11 The Soul in grief, by Robert Romanyshyn 1999 - signed and inscribed to Moore
Box 11 Storytelling with children, by Nancy Mellon 2000
Box 11 Time shifting, by Stephan Rechtschaffen 1996 - signed and inscribed to Moore
Box 11 The War on pain, by Scott Fishman 2000
Box 11 Work and the life of the spirit, edited by Douglas Thorpe 1998
Interviews with
Box 8 America West 1993
Box 8 American Way 1994
Box 8 Bottom Line 1993
Box 8 Common Boundary 1992
Box 8 Journal of Family Life 1995, 2000
Box 8 Journeymen 1993
Box 8 Lotus 1996
Box 8 N-O 1992-1993, 1999 - New Dimensions, Orbit, Quaker Life
Box 8 Science of Mind 1995
Box 8 Troubadour 1994 - in German
Box 8 U 1993, 2009 - Unified Health; Uptown Express
Box 8 Miscellaneous newspapers
Journal articles
Box 11 "L'Art de contempler," Initiations, numero 13 1996 - in French
Box 11 "Beauty and the reanimation of things," Pilgrimage, vol. 18 no. 3 1992
Box 11 "Body and soul," Topics in geriatric rehabilitation, vol. 19 no. 4 2003
Box 11 "Commentary: The sacred art of psychotherapy," Journal of integrative and eclectic psychotherapy, vol. 6 no. 3 1987
Box 11 "Friendship and platonic love," Monet Senario, vol. 3 no. 9 1999 - entire volume is in Italian except for Moore's piece
Box 11 "Re-morse: An initiatory disturbance of the soul," The Psychotherapy Patient vol. 5 no. 1/2 1988
Magazine articles
Box 12 B 1993, 1999 - Body and Soul; Business Ethics
Box 12 Complete Woman 1996
Box 12 Daily Word 1998
Box 12 Forbes 1996
Box 12 i to i [Eye to Eye] 1994
Box 12 Inward Springs 1998
Box 12 Lapis no. 7
Box 12 Liguorian 1995-1996, 2000, 2002
Box 12 New Age 1995
Box 12 P 1993-1996 - Parabola; Praying; Psychology Today (2 folders)
Box 12 Reform 2010
Box 13 Resurgence 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002-2003, 2006-2007, 2010 (6 folders)
Box 13 Salt Journal 1997
Box 13 Spirituality & Health 1996-2000 (2 folders)
Box 14 Spirituality & Health 2001-2003, 2007-2010 (8 folders)
Box 15 The Sun 1998, 2001
Box 15 This Old House 2001
Box 15 Tikkun 1998, 2000, 2003-2004 (2 folders)
Box 15 Trinity News 1995
Box 15 T misc 1997, 2003 - Transition; TV Guide
Box 15 The World and I 1992
Box 15 Yoga Journal 1994
Newspaper articles
Box 15 Miscellaneous newspapers 2010
Miscellaneous
Box 11 Calendar
Box 15 Magazines, no clear connection (2 folders)

Return to top