Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jerome E. Moberg Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moberg, Jerome E. (Jerome Emanuel), 1913-1993.
Title: Jerome E. Moberg Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1915-1993
Bulk Dates: 1935-1975
Quantity: 50 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American industrial designer (primarily of cutlery, bathroom fixtures and accessories, and toy airplanes). Collection includes correspondence and client files, drawings, product brochures, metal castings, and wood, metal, or plastic product samples of household knives, tableware, carving sets, and bathroom accessories. Also, personal memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jerome E. Moberg (1913-1992) was an American industrial designer. Born in Jamestown, New York, the son of a metal worker, "Jerry" Moberg attended Alfred University, the University of Chicago, and Lawrence Technical College in Detroit. Winner of four Good Design Awards, he designed hundreds of commercial products, working primarily for Robeson Cutlery Company in Perry, New York. His cutlery work, which won numerous prizes, included household knives, tableware, hunting knives, and carving sets; it was exhibited at the Brussells Worlds Fair in 1958 and today is represented in museums in Boston, Chicago, and New York. In later years he also designed for Bush Brothers Inc., creating plastic and light metal bathroom fixtures for Sears and for motel chains.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jerome E. Moberg Papers has received only preliminary processing. The collection contains business records; personal papers, memorabilia, design publications, and advertising clipping files; and metal castings and various wooden, metal, or plastic product samples.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received only preliminary processing and remains in the original folders and original order. Business records are alphabetical by client, job, or subject, as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many important industrial designers, including Lurelle Guild, Arthur Pulos, Budd Steinhilber, Walter Dorwin Teague, John Vassos, and Russel Wright. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Moberg, Jerome E. (Jerome Emanuel), 1913-1993.

Subjects

Cutlery -- Design and construction.
Industrial design.
Industrial designers -- United States.
Interior decoration accessories -- Design and construction.
Kitchen utensils -- Design and construction.
Knives -- Design and construction.
Toys -- Design and construction.

Genres and Forms

Castings.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Memorabilia.
Notebooks.
Samples.

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jerome E. Moberg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jerome E. Moberg.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: TK/DLC
Date: Mar 1994
Revision history: 9 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); April 2017 - OS 1, 2 rehoused into 7 archival boxes; OS 29-30 moved to map-cases; inventory reordered alphabetically - MRC

Return to top

Inventory

Business records
Box 1 AAMA - Bush Brothers
Box 2 Bush Brothers - Cutlery
Box 3 Cutting boards - Hume, Clement, Hume and Lee
Box 4 Ideas - Memcee
Box 5 Miscellaneous - Quotations
Box 6 Resumes - Samples
Box 7 Samples circa 1960s-1970s - industrial printed material
Box 8 Scale modeling - Wyandotte Toys
Personal papers
Box 9 Aetna - Laura (biographical information)
Box 10 M & T Brokerage - Utilities
Box 11 Design and industrial publications
Box 11 Advertising clipping file
Box 12 Notebooks
Box 12 Address file
Box 12 Print blocks
Box 12 Memorabilia - tie clips, lighter, watches, pins, seal imprinter, paperweight, scissors, cufflinks
Models and product samples
Oversize 31 Bush Bros. plastic samples - hamper and bathroom fixtures
Oversize 3 Cooking utensils and pellet gun barrell
Box 14 Cutlery boards (wood), various
Box 15 Cutlery board and storage boxes (Robeson)
Box 19 Cutlery, plastic and wooden handled models
Box 18 Cutlery and utensils
Box 13 Metal castings and models
Box 16 Metal and glass fixture parts and samples
Oversize 1 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Oversize 2 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Oversize 32 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Oversize 33 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Oversize 34 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Box 20 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Box 21 Molded plastic samples - shutters, molding, edging, decorative panels, a few unidentifiable items
Technical drawings, artwork, and miscellany
Oversize 10 Aircraft designs 1930s
Oversize 11 Aircraft designs 1930s
Box 17 Bush Bros. papers and drawings
Oversize 5 Bush Bros. product designs and patent applications
Oversize 4 Drafting table drawing arm
Oversize 9 Early designs 1930s-1940s
Oversize 12 Maps
Oversize 8 Personal memorabilia - juvenilia, family
Map-Case 139 Robeson Cutlery drawings 1957-1963
Map-Case 140 Robeson Cutlery drawings 1957-1963
Oversize 6 Robeson printed samples, ads, artwork 1950s-1960s
Oversize 7 Student artwork and early designs undated
Oversize 14 Technical drawings and artwork 1930s-1940s
Oversize 15 Technical drawings 1930s-1940s
Oversize 16 Technical drawings 1930s-1940s
Oversize 17 Technical drawings 1960s
Oversize 18 Technical drawings, Auburn College 1960s
Oversize 19 Technical drawings 1970s
Oversize 20 Technical drawings 1970-1972
Oversize 21 Technical drawings 1970-1972
Oversize 22 Technical drawings 1973
Oversize 23 Technical drawings 1974-1975
Oversize 24 Technical drawings 1974-1975
Oversize 25 Technical drawings 1976
Oversize 26 Technical drawings 1977, 1979
Oversize 27 Technical drawings 1980-1983
Oversize 28 Technical drawings, Auburn College 1960s
Oversize 13 Unidentified artwork undated

Return to top