Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Bebe Miles Manuscript

An inventory of her manuscript at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Miles, Bebe
Title: Bebe Miles Manuscript
Inclusive Dates: pre-1963
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscript of Bebe Miles, a practiced gardener, for her book entitled "The Wonderful World of Bulbs". Collection includes a tentative outline, early chapter drafts, a first draft, a carbon copy of the first draft, a galley proof, color page proofs, and a bibliography in the form of index cards.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Bebe Miles was a well-known gardener from Pennsylvania. She was the author of several books on gardening and natural materials. She died in 1980. [Source: Book review by Norma Beredjiklian, July 2000]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bebe Miles Manuscript consists of writings.

Writings consist of material used in the development of Miles' book, The Wonderful World of Bulbs. Materials include a tentative outline, early chapter drafts, a first draft, a carbon copy of the first draft, a galley proof, color page proofs, and a bibliography in the form of index cards. The book was published in 1963, so this material obviously predates the book's publication.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged according to when each item was produced in the writing, revision, and publication process. For example, the working outline comes first and the bibliography comes last, with the first draft predating the galley proof, etc.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Miles, Bebe.

Subjects

Gardening -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Gardening -- United States.
Women authors.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Carbon copies.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Outlines (documents)

Occupations

Gardeners.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bebe Miles Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Mislabeled as part of J. Westbrook Pegler papers, circa 1960s. Original source and acquisition date unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ZEC
Date: 21 Sep 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - working outline
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - early drafts, chapter outlines (2 folders)
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - first draft (6 folders)
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - first draft, carbon copy (3 folders)
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - galley proof (3 folders)
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - color page proofs
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - bibliography
Box 1 The Wonderful World of Bulbs - Book Club brochure, later ads [empty folder]

Return to top