Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Drew Middleton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Middleton, Drew, 1913-1990.
Title: Drew Middleton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1935-1967
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Foreign correspondent and author. Collection contains manuscripts of four of Middleton's books including his first, Struggle for Germany, published in 1949.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Drew Middleton (1913-1990) was a reporter for the Associated Press and the New York Times, noted for his combat reports as Foreign Correspondent for the Times during World War II, and his coverage and analysis of postwar Europe and the cold war. He is author of more than a dozen books on military affairs, postwar diplomacy, and foreign policy.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Drew Middleton Papers consist of Memorabilia and Writings.

Memorabilia, donated separately, contains photographs, a clipping, and a postcard.

Writings contains manuscripts for four of Middleton's books. There are three drafts of America's Stake in Asia (1967), two drafts and a set of galleys for The Atlantic Community (1965), one draft of Crisis in the West (1965), and one draft of Struggle for Germany (1949, his first book). There are also two items of correspondence with his editors, one relating to each of the first two titles.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Writings are in alphabetical order by book title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A published copy of The Atlantic Community has been sent to Rare Books for cataloging.

The library has published editions of many of Middleton's books, including Our Share of Night : A Personal Narrative of the War Years. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Middleton, Drew, 1913-1990.

Subjects

Foreign correspondents -- Europe.
International Relations -- Asia.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives.
World politics -- 1955-1965.

Places

Asia -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Europe -- History -- 1918-1945.
Europe -- Politics and government -- 1918-1945.
Germany -- Politics and government -- 1945-1990.
North Atlantic Region -- Politics and government.
North Atlantic Region -- Strategic aspects.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Asia.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Historians.
Military historians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Drew Middleton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Drew Middleton, 1967, 1968, 1971.

Memorabilia folder, gift of Aline Archambault, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010
Revision history: 4 Aug 2011 - collection processed (MRC); 2 Oct 2015 - memorabilia added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1935, 1945, undated
Gift of Aline Archambault, 2015.
This folder contains a photograph of Drew Middleton, a photograph of a meeting between Franklin D. Roosevelt and Winston Churchill with Middleton in background, a postcard with the image of the Onondaga Hotel in Syracuse, N.Y. that was addressed to Middleton's sister Audrey, and a brief New York Times article dated 28 May 1945 about the American graves at Saint Laurent sur Mer in Normandy written by Drew Middleton.
Writings
America's Stake in Asia (1967)
Box 1 Correspondence 1967
Box 1 Draft A (2 folders)
Box 1 Draft B - appears to be identical to Draft A, down to the same handwritten corrections (2 folders)
Box 1 Draft C - incorporates corrections on previous drafts
The Atlantic Community (1965)
Box 2 Correspondence 1965
Box 2 Draft (10 folders)
Box 2 Publisher's copy of draft (2 folders)
Box 2 Final typescript
Box 2 Gallerys (2 folders)
Crisis in the West (1965)
Box 2 Draft
Struggle for Germany (1949)
Box 3 Draft

Return to top