Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Time Machine Typescript

A description of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.
Title: Time Machine Typescript
Inclusive Dates: 1960
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typescript treatment for the 1960 film version of The Time Machine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer or MGM is an American motion picture and television company. This treatment was for the 1960 film version of The Time Machine, produced by the British MGM studio. The film was based on the 1895 science fiction novel of the same name by H. G. Wells. The final film was directed by George Pál and written by David Duncan. It won an Oscar for Best Special Visual Effects for its use of time-lapse photography to depict time travel.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Metro Goldwyn Mayer Typescript consists of a typewritten treatment in two parts for the 1960 film version of The Time Machine. It is described as the "British version" and is no author is listed, although possibly it was created by the film's screenwriter, David Duncan. The treatment is a short adaptation of Wells' novel and was likely used as a source for the film's screenplay. It is written in novel style with prose descriptions rather than stage or camera directions.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wells, H. G. (Herbert George), 1866-1946.

Corporate Bodies

Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Associated Titles

Time machine (Motion picture : 1960).

Subjects

Science fiction films.
Time travel.

Genres and Forms

Treatments (documents)

Occupations

Screenwriters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Time Machine Typescript
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 08 October 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Treatments
SC 337 The Time Machine 1960 - typescript film treatment in two parts

Return to top