Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Memoirs of the Life of David Garrick, Esq. (Vol. 2)

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Memoirs of the Life of David Garrick, Esq. (Vol. 2)
Inclusive Dates: circa 1813
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Scrapbook containing pages from an 1808 edition of Memoirs of the life of David Garrick, Esq., possibly pages from other publications
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David Garrick (1717-1779) was an influential English actor, playwright, theatre manager and producer known for his realistic and natural portrayal of characters, a contrast with the grandiose and dramatic style of the times. He was a pupil and friend of Dr. Samuel Johnson.

Memoirs of the Life of David Garrick, Esq. was written in the mid-18th century by Thomas Davies. The full title is "Memoirs of the life of David Garrick, Esq. : interspersed with characters and anecdotes of his theatrical contemporaries : the whole forming a history of the stage, which includes a period of thirty-six years." This particular edition was the product of Samuel Gosnell, printer; William Evans, engraver; Sir Joshua Reynolds, illustrator; and Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme of Paternoster Row, booksellers.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Memoirs of the Life of David Garrick, Esq. (Vol. 2) consists of pages from vol. 2 of Memoirs by Thomas Davies (London, 1808) pasted into a large album, with the title stamped in gold on the spine. Based on the different sizes of the sheets, pages/illustrations from other publications may be interspersed. Nothing is known of the creator of the volume.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Syracuse University Libraries has numerous other editions of this book from the 18th and 19th centuries. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these copies.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Davies, Thomas, ca. 1712-1785.
Garrick, David, 1717-1779.
Reynolds, Joshua, Sir, 1723-1792.

Subjects

Actors -- Biography.
Actors -- England.
Theater -- England -- London -- History.

Places

London (England) -- Intellectual life -- 18th century.

Genres and Forms

Scrapbooks.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Memoirs of the Life of David Garrick, Esq. (Vol. 2),
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 5 Feb 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Scrapbooks
Oversize 1 Memoirs of the Life of David Garrick, Esq. (Vol. 2) circa 1813

Return to top