Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William McKinley Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McKinley, William, 1843-1901.
Title: William McKinley Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1870-1901
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Miscellaneous items to, from, or about the 25th President of the United States.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William McKinley, Jr. (1843-1901) was the 25th President of the United States (1897-1901). Born in Ohio, he attended Allegheny College briefly and served in the Union Army during the American Civil War. He graduated from Albany Law School in Albany, New York and was admitted to the bar in 1867. Prior to his election as President he had served as a member of the US House of Representative for Ohio (1885-1891) and was Governor of Ohio from 1892 to 1896.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William McKinley Collection consists of papers and memorabilia.

Memorabilia consists of two printed "In Memoriam" items/

Papers consist of a very brief document signed by McKinley as attorney (26 Sep 1870), a signed invitation card from Mrs. McKinley to Miss Wagner (Minnie Saxton Wagner of Philadelphia, dated May 1897), and a typed note to Miss Wagner from William McKinley with his signature (24 May 1897). Minnie Saxton Wagner is likely to have been a relative of Mrs. McKinley, whose maiden name was Saxton.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

McKinley, Ida Saxton, 1847-1907.
McKinley, William, 1843-1901.

Subjects

Presidents -- United States -- 1890-1900.
Presidents' spouses -- United States -- 1890-1900.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Invitations.
Legal documents.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William McKinley Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer and purchase.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2011
Revision history: 13 Feb 2017 - additions, P-15-373 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 678 "In Memoriam" 1901
Purchase, 2015.
Papers
SC 678 Miscellaneous 1870, 1897 - legal document, invitation, thank-you note
Transfer from Frances Ward Harrington autograph collection.

Return to top