Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Joseph McDonald Collection of Plastics Patents

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McDonald, Joseph.
Title: Joseph McDonald Collection of Plastics Patents
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1989
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains copies of patents for plastic food and beverage containers collected by Joseph McDonald from 1951 to 1989, in the course of his work for Sweetheart Plastics, Inc. and a selection of technical offprints and reports.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph McDonald was an American researcher and consultant in the field of plastics. He was employed by Sweetheart Plastics, Inc., a division of Maryland Cup Corporation, in Wilmington, Massachusetts. He later formed Joseph McDonald Associates, Inc. in Lexington, Massachusetts.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph McDonald Collection of Plastics Patents contains copies of patents for plastic food and beverage containers collected by Joseph McDonald from 1951 to 1989, in the course of his work for Sweetheart Plastics, Inc. (originally Maryland Cup) and a selection of technical offprints and reports. Many of these patents are the work of Thomas W. Winstead who head the research division of Sweetheart.

Patents contains copies of patents for plastic food and beverage containers. Notes and letters regarding work and research on products and patents by Sweetheart Plastics are kept with the patents they describe. These patents originate mostly from the United States Patent Office but include one Canadian and one German patent.

Publications contains articles, papers, and reports about plastics and its applications, including electrical insulating, styrene and packaging. It contains two reports written for Sweetheart Plastics relating to extrusion and thermoforming technical data (1966) and two reports written for Winstead Patents, a division of Maryland Corp. (1977 and 1989).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Collection found in archives intact in a largely chronological order. Notes and letters were kept with patents as found to preserve original order and context as much as possible.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

McDonald, Joseph.
Winstead, Thomas W.

Corporate Bodies

Dow Chemical Company.
Maryland Cup Corporation.
Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.
United States. -- Patent Office.

Subjects

Beverage containers.
Food containers.
Patents.
Plastic containers.
Plastics -- Extrusion.
Plastics in packaging.
Plastics industry and trade.
Plastics machinery.
Styrene.
Thermoplastics.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Notes.
Patents.
Reports.

Occupations

Engineers.
Inventors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph McDonald Collection of Plastics Patents,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Feb 2012 - updated (TLJ)

Return to top

Inventory

Patents
Box 1 Correspondence, notes, etc. 1951, 1986, 1989
Notes on a Discussion of New Polystyrene Materials; J.L. Amos, C. Miller, W.H. Schuette, E.L. Kropscott, H.W. Wehr and J.N. McDonald; October 15, 1951
Application of Frederick W. Gander, Erhard F. Hoegger and William P. Kane; To The United States Patent Office; Polyethylene, terephthalate/terpolymer blends; Films, sheets and articles made using such blends; and Method of making trays using such sheets
Receipt from Office of Patent and Trademark Services; To Patent and Trademark Customer Joseph McDonald Associates, Inc.; May 12, 1989
Letter from Herbert L. Gatewood of Marullo & Barnes, Attorneys at Law, Boston, MA; To Mr. Gerald K. Parker, President of Artisan Plastics Corporation; Subject: Re: Tamper Evident Package Invention, File No. 3353/3.86; August 4, 1986
Letter from Du Pont Corporation, E.W. Heiderich; To Gim P. Fong, Sweethearts Plastic, Inc.; December 13, 1977
Box 1 Patents 1930-1966
Container, Henry Nias and William Poster, inventors; Lily-Tulip Cup Corporation; June 24, 1930; patent # 1,766,226
Method of and Apparatus for Producing Reticulated Articles from Thermoplastics, John J. Grebe and Ernest H. Harder, inventors; The Dow Chemical Company; October 31, 1944; patent # 2,361,369
Vinylidene Chloride Compositions , Edgar C. Britton and Harold W. Moll, inventors; The Dow Chemical Company; Sept 18, 1945; patent # 2,384,884
Foamed Polystyrene Article, James B. Sisson, inventor; St. Regis Paper Company; December 15, 1959; patent # 2,917,217
Process for Producing Folded Rim on a Container of Plastic Material, as well as an apparatus for carrying out this process, Kornelis van de Kerke and Dirk van de Kerke, inventors; July 11, 1961; patent # 2,991,602
Method for Cold Forming Plastic Article, Eckel R. Lane; inventor; March 30, 1976; patent # 3,947,539
Extruded Foam Polystyrene, Albert R. Kudlach; inventor; September 18, 1962; patent # 648, 802
Thin Walled Plastic Container, James R. Caine, inventor; July 24, 1962; patent #3,045,887
Storage stable expandable polymeric composition containing expandable polymeric particles and two different blowing agents and method of making same, Carl H. Pottenger, inventor; Koppers Company, Inc.; patent # 3,089,857
Cup for hot beverage, William L. Miller, inventor; Continental Can Company, Inc.; May 3, 1964; patent # 3,123,273
Composite Plastic Container, Albert McConnell, inventor; Scott Paper Company; August 10, 1965; patent # 3,199,757
Container Rim Formation, Andre F. Commeyras , inventor; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; December 13, 1966; patent # 3,291,361
Plastic container for dairy products or the like, Paul Davis, inventor; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; March 29, 1966; Patent # 204,212
Nestable Container, Samuel Shapiro and James C. White, inventors; American Seal-Kap Corp.; November 29. 1966; patent # 3,288,340
Box 1 Patents 1967-1970
Combined Paperboard and Plastic Egg Carton, Theodore C. Baker, inventor; October 10, 1967; patent # 3,346,171
Container Lip Rolling Machine , Walter O. Weber, inventor; Haveg Industries, Inc.; December 19, 1967; patent # 3,358,331
Automatic Rim Rolling Apparatus, Frank Rukavina, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; July 6, 1965; patent # 3,192,565
Method of extruding a foamed plastic sheet having a skin on one surface, Jerome Alfred Cherney, Hubert Joseph Germiat and Elbert William Perry, inventors; American Can Company; March 28, 1967; patent # 3,311,681
Nestable Containers, Daniel R. Kalata and Henry H. Houston, inventors; October 17, 1967; patent # 3,347,411
Nesting Container, Martin Mueller, inventor; Lily-Tulip Cup Corporation; December 19, 1967; patent # 3,358,879
Container, Charles Fitzgerald, inventor, The Dow Chemical Company; August 12, 1968, patent # 3,396,868
Plastic Glasses, Paul K. Schilling, inventor; Plastics, Inc.; January 16, 1968; patent # 3,363,820Package for Fragile Articles, Bryant Edwards, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; February 3, 1970; patent # 3,493,164
Insulated Double Cup, Bryant Edwards, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; March 12, 1968; Patent # 3,372,830
Plastic container for materials in bulk, Stephen Fotos, inventor; Union Carbide Corporation; January 9, 1968; Patent # 3,362,575
Container Lid, Robert J. McCormick, inventor; The Dow Chemical Company; January 9, 1968; Patent # 3,362,565
Method for printing on foam polystyrene with cellulose ether printing composition, Ralph Karsten, inventor; Screen-Flock Industries, Inc.; July 29, 1969; Patent # 3,458,340
Kunststoffbehalter, Antrag auf Nichtnennung, inventor; Tedeco-Verpackung; October 16, 1969; Patent # 1,302,048
Extrusion Method, Lloyd Edward Lefevre and Peter Breidt, Jr., inventors; The Dow Chemical Company; November 18, 1969; Patent # 3,479,425
Method of Extruding Laminates, Douglas S. Chisholm and Walter J. Schrenk, inventors; The Dow Chemical Company; January 19, 1971; patent # 3,557,265
Apparatus for Extrusion of Thermoplastics, Gene Leroy, inventor; Union Carbide Corporation; December 30, 1969; Patent # 3,486,192
Apparatus for Extruding Thermoplastic Materials, J.S. Gwinn and D.C. Christensen, inventors; Phillips Petroleum Company; December 30, 1969; Patent # 3,486,193
Continuous method and apparatus for manufacturing articles from foamed thermoplastic material, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; November 25, 1969; Patent # 3,479,694
Biaxial Stretching Machine, H.C. Tsien, inventor; Esso Research and Engineering Company; February 18, 1969; Patent # 3,427,684
Biaxial Orientation, Heinz E. Pahlke, inventor; July 15, 1969; Patent # 3,456,044
Thermoforming Apparatus, Joseph C. Morin, inventor; Cupples Container Company; October 21, 1969; Patent # 3,473,195
Container, James E. Foote, inventor; Diamond International Corporation; September 23, 1969; Patent # 3, 468,468
Extruder for Shaping Powdery Thermoplastic Resins; Akira Iwata and Sadao Murai, inventors; Sekisui Kazaku Kogyo Kabushiki Kaisha; October 7, 1969; Patent # 3,470,584
Deep Draw Article Forming Apparatus, Bryant Edwards, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; May 12, 1970; Patent # 3,510,913
Method for the Preparation of Foamed Sheet and Product Obtained Thereby, Donald W. Simpson and John Y. Glass, inventors; The Dow Chemical Company; November 10, 1970; Patent # 3,539,473
Container, Charles E. Fitzgerald, inventor; The Dow Chemical Company; The Dow Chemical Company; August 12, 1968; Patent # 3, 520,441
Box 1 Patents 1971-1972
Self-Cooking Disposable Food Packages, Milton S. Cohen, inventor; Batelle Development Corporation; November 9, 1971; Patent # 3,619,214
Machine for Sealing Containers with Covers Molded from Synthetic Plastic Sheet, Horst Lowenthal, inventor; Schweizerische Industrie-Gesellschaft; November 9, 1971; Patent # 3, 618,293
Apparatus for Forming Closures, Martin M. Sternau, inventor; W.R. Grace & Co.; November 23, 1971; Patent # 3, 621,637
Continuous Motion Container Molding Machine, Bryant Edwards, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; September 20, 1971; Patent # 3,605,192
Vented Package, Robert F. Wescott, inventor; International Paper Company; October 19, 1971; Patent # 3,613,938
Process for Pre-Expanding Polymer Beads, Richard H. Immel, inventor; Sinclair-Koppers Company; May 4, 1971; Patent # 3,577,360
Method for Extruding Laminates, Douglas S. Chisholm, inventor; The Dow Chemical Company; January 19, 1971; Patent # 3,557,265
Food Package, Daniel Bernhardt, inventor; April 20, 1971; Patent # 3,575,337
Skin-Coated Article Formed of Foam Thermoplastic Material, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; October 5, 1971; Patent # 3,610,509
Forming unit for use with apparatus for forming and cutting three-dimensional plastic articles, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; July 27, 1971; Patent # 3,594,868
Cutting mechanism for use with apparatus for forming and cutting three-dimensional plastic articles, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; July 7, 1970; Patent # 3,518,912
Stacking and packaging unit for use with machine for continuously thermoforming plastic trays or the like, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; June 22, 1971; Patent # 3,585,778
Apparatus for Sealing Thin Walled Containers, Thomas Norman Gaunt and Edward Dodsworth, inventors; Plastona (John Waddington) Limited; February 29, 1972; Patent # 3,645,825
Non-Toxic Stabilized Polyvinyl Chloride Products and Stabilizer Compositions, Carl Robert Gloskey, inventor; M&T Chemicals, Inc.; February 8, 1972; Patent # 3,640,947
Plasticized Polyvinyl Chloride Film, Donatas Tijunlis and Edward A. Shriner, inventors; Union Carbide Corporation; February 1, 1972; Patent # 3,639,318
Pellucid Halogen-Containing Resin Compositions, Kenneth C. Bergman and Thomas C. Jennings, inventors; Synthetic Products Company; February 1, 1972; Patent # 3,639,319
Reentrant Forming Apparatus, Fred P. Brown and Howard H. Rohdin, inventors; Packaging Industries, Inc.; February 8, 1972; Patent # 3,640,668
Folding Plastic Tray, Harford G. Goings, inventor; February 1, 1972; Patent # 3,638,849
Liquid Containers, Uno Wingardh, inventor; Sprinter Pack AB; May 30, 1972; Patent # 3,666,088
Cup, George A. Cheladze, inventor; Carthage Cup Company; May 30, 1972; Patent # Des. 233,704
Cup, George A. Cheladze, inventor; Carthage Cup Company; May 30, 1972; Patent # Des. 233,703
Stackable Insert Container for Axially Spaced Engaging Surfaces, Herbert J. Wanderer, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; June 27, 1972; Patent # Re. 27,409
Apparatus for Extruding a Skin-Covered, Foamed Thermoplastic; Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; August 19, 1969; Patent # 3,461,496
Continuous Method of Extruding and Thermoforming Skin-Covered Foamed Thermoplastic Articles, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; July 11, 1972; Patent # 3,676,537
Continuous Apparatus for Extruding and Forming Thermoplastic Articles, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; January 4, 1972, Patent # 3,632,266
Box 1 Patents 1974
Continuous Method of Manufacturing Articles from Foamed Thermoplastic Material; Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; January 29, 1974; Patent # 3,789,095
Method of Molding a Latch Opening, Kurt G. Dahlberg, inventor; Thermo-Trim, Inc.; October 29, 1974; Patent # 3,845,187
A Tool for Sealing a Container Such as a Cup, Bottle, Jar or the Like, Folke Evert Granseus and Ingvar Helmer Borgstrom, inventors; Aktiebolaget Platmanufaktur; November 26, 1974; Patent #3,849,971
Method of Forming Foamed Plastic Sheets, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; August 20, 1974; Patent # 3,830,900
Extrusion Apparatus, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; June 11, 1968; Patent # 3,387,328
Continuous Process for Extruding Cellular Thermoplastics, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; August 20, 1974; Patent # 3,830,901
Box 1 Patents 1975-1976
Apparatus for Molding Plastic Covers for Containers, Heinz Ruch, inventor; Albert Orbist &Co.; October 28, 1975; Patent # 3,915,613
Container for Cooking Food Therein, William P. Kane, inventor; E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company; February 11, 1975; Patent # 3,865,302
Vented Cavity Mold and Method of Thermoforming Using Such Mold; David Harris Berkebile, inventor; Patent # 1,428,328
Integrity Indicator, Donald F. Halpern, inventor; Bio-Medical Sciences, Inc.; August 12, 1975; Patent # 3,899,295
Thermoplastic Resin Composition Having High Transparency and High Impact Strength, Fumio Ide, Kazuo Kishida, Toshio Sakurai and Syoichi Kawakami, inventors; Mitsubishi Rayon Co., Ltd. and Nitto Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.; November 11, 1975; Patent # 3,919,157
Simplified Process and Apparatus for the Production of Cups from a Foamed Thermoplastic Sheet, Jingo Seto, inventor; November 11, 1975; Patent # 3,919,368
Lid for a Packaging Container or the Like, Paul Davis, inventor; November 18, 1975; Patent # Des. 237,689
Cups for Holding Ingredients for Drinks, Robert H. Day, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; December 23, 1975; Patent # 3,927,766
Method for Forming Noncircular Thermoplastic Cupped Articles; Gerrit van der Gaag and Thomas C. Tomey; Shell Oil Company; December 30, 1975; Patent # 3,929,953
Heat Sealing Apparatus, Fred Ascoli and Robert F. Hermann, inventors; Standard Container Company; February 10, 1976; Patent # 3,937,645
Closuring Containers, Emile Raymond Vermeulen, inventor; Sidaplax N.V.; December 21, 1971; Patent # 3,628,301
Shrink Film Capping Machine; Ernest Willvonseder; January 8, 1974; Patent # 3,783,582
Method and Apparatus for Uniting Articles; Bryant Edwards, inventor; Illinois Tool Works, Inc.; February 6, 1968; Patent # 3,367,808
Semi-Automatic Capping Machine; William J. Burke, inventor; Roll-O-Sheets, Inc.; February 8, 2012; Patent # 3,233,386
Apparatus for Producing Packaged Product, Robert G. Carpenter, Richard G. King and Thomas W. Greaves, inventors; W.R. Grace & Co.; May 15, 1962; Patent # 3,034,271
Apparatus for Feeding Heat Shrinkable Plastic Film and Capping Containers Therewith, Thomas E. Marion and Godfrey M. Priborksy, inventors; Maryland Cup Corporation; November 21, 1972; Patent # 3,703,066
Thermoplastic Sealing Apparatus and Method, David R. Zelnick, inventor; Koehler-Dayton, Inc.; June 10, 1969; Patent # 3,449,183
Method and Apparatus for Heat Shrink Capping Containers, William T. Doty, inventor; Maryland Cup Corporation; November 4, 1975; Patent # 3,916,602
Apparatus for Making a Closure on a Container, Martin M. Sternau, inventor; W.R. Grace & Co.; October 31, 1972; Patent # 3,701,234
Method for Blow Molding Foamed Walled Plastic Open Mouthed Containers, Granville J. Hahn, inventor; Cosden Oil & Chemical Company; February 17, 1976; Patent # 3,939,236
Scrapless Forming of Plastic Articles, Ralph E. Ayres, Kenneth J. Cleereman and Walter E. Schrenk, inventors; The Dow Chemical Company; March 30, 1976; Patent # 3,947,204
Packaging Container for a Razor or the Like, Carl H. Floren, inventor; The Gillette Company; May 18, 1976; Patent # Des. 239,920
Lid, Clarence T. Brewer, inventor; Solo Cup Company; May 4, 1976; Patent # 3,583,596
Close Nesting, Tamperproof Container Closure, Stephen W. Amberg and Rodney E. Ludder, inventors; Owens-Illinois, Inc.; May 11, 1976; Patent # 3,955,699
Sealed Container, James B. Swett, inventor; Dart Industries, Inc.; May 18, 1976; Patent # 3,957,097
Container Closure, Elmer E. Kress, inventor; July 7, 1976; Patent # 240,595
Covered Container for Serving Food with Combination Ventilation and Finger Holes, Nicholas D. Commisso, inventor; Mobil Oil Corporation; May 11, 1976; Patent # 3,955,710
Food Packaging Tray, Thomas H. White, inventor; Rubbermaid Industrial Products Corporation; July 27, 1976; Patent # 240,714
Tamper Indicator Tape, Lew W. Cornell, inventor; Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company; February 3, 1976; Patent # 3,935,960
Apparatus for Folding Container Rims, Gaylord William Brown, inventor; October 21, 1975; Patent # 3,914,102
Foam Package for Breakfast Foods, Donald K. Jewell, inventor; Restaurant Technology, Inc.; July 13, 1976; Patent # 3,968,921
Straw Dispenser, Stanley W. Peva, Jr., inventor; Austin-Gordon Design, Inc.; July 13, 1976; Patent # 3,968,901
Foam Bead Bottom Plastic Cup and Method of Making Same, Clifford Clayton Goehring, inventor; American Can Company; January 6, 1976; Patent # 3,931,378
Method of Making Nestable Foamed Plastic Cups, Ilie Mila Belivakici, Clifford Clayton Goehring, James Allan Wachtel, William Joseph Lahm and Carl Richard Storms, inventors; American Can Company; January 6, 1976; Patent # 3,931,380
Insulative Packaging Device, Wayne L. Congleton, inventor; Dolco Packaging Corporation; January 20, 1976; 3,933,295
Plastic Container, Algis Steven Andrulionis, inventor; Polysar Plastics, Inc.; January 27, 1976; Patent # 3,934,749

Box 1 Patents 1977-1978
Pumped Injection of Gas for Making Foamed Plastic, James W. Hendry, inventor; Ex-Cell-O Corporation; August 23, 1977; Patent # 4,043,715
Polyethylene Terephthalate/Terpolymer Blends, Film Sheets, and Articles Made Using Such Blends, and Method of Making Trays Using Such Sheets, Frederick W. Gander, Ernard F, Hoegger, William P. Kane, inventors; E.I. Du Pont de Nemours and Company; April 26, 1977; Patent # 4,020,126
Apparatus for Making Hollow Molded Products, Arthur J. Griner and Daniel Anthony Koppa, inventors; Nabisco, Inc.; July 26, 1977; Patent # 4,038,007
Apparatus for Making Hollow Molded Products, Arthur J. Griner and Daniel Anthonu Koppa, inventors; Nabisco, Inc.; July 26, 1977; Patent # 4,038,016
Sheet Support Apparatus, Gaylord William Brown, inventor; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; July 18, 1978; Patent # 4,101,252
Laminated Material of Thermoplastic Synthetic Material, Process of Making and Container Closed Therewith, Barbara Geppert and Kurt Huth, inventors; Bellaplast, GmbH; July 18, 1978; Patent # 4,101,047
Box 2 Patents 1977-1978
Nestable Containers, Daniel R. Kalata and Henry Huston, inventors; Owens-Illinois, Inc.; July 26, 1977; Patent # Re. 29, 320
Apparatus for Pre-Expanding and Molding Expandable Thermoplastic Polymer Particles, Stuart B. Smith, inventor; Foster Grant Co., Inc.; November 29, 1977; Patent # 4,060,354
Apparatus for the Manufacture of Thin-Walled Shaped Articles of Thermoplastic Material, Alfons W. Thiel and Hans Hell, inventors; Bellaplast GmbH; August 8, 1978; Patent # 4,105,386
Method and Indicator for Detecting the Loss of Integrity of a Package, Donald F. Halpern, inventor; Bio-Medical Sciences Inc.; July 4, 1978; Patent # 4,098,577
Sterile Package, Syed M.H. Zaidi, inventor; Paper Manufacturers Company; April 15, 1979; Patent # 4,197,947
Apparatus for Heating a Food Item, Albert E. Colato and Jerome L. Formo, inventors; Anchor Hocking Corporation; August 1, 1978; Patent # 4,103,736
The Winstead Patents: Analysis of Content and Coverage, Terrell C. Birch; 19 page typescript summary; July 18, 1977
Box 2 Patents 1979-1987
Tamper-Proof Closure and Method of Making Same, Gaylord Brown, inventor; Sweetheart Plastic, Inc.; June 24, 1980; Patent # 4,209,101
Method and Apparatus for Thermoforming Thermoplastic Foam Articles, Donald W. Myers and Samantha L. Vivlamore, inventors; Mobil Oil Corporation; December 16, 1980; Patent # 4,239,727
Method for the Continuous Formation of Biaxially Oriented Thermoplastic Materials and Forming Articles Therefrom by Intermittent Forming Means Interfaced Therewith, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; Maryland Cup Corporation; December 22, 1981; Patent # 4,307,049
Tilt Indicator for Shipping Containers, Ralph R. Mendelson, inventor; July 20, 1982; Patent # 4,340,008
Non-Spill Drink-Through Lid, William A. Dart and Kenneth B. Dart, inventors; Dart Container Corporation; November 1, 1983; Patent # 4,412,629
Container Closure Alignment Device, Robert H.C. M. Daenen, inventor; Dart Industries, Inc.; November 1, 1983; Patent # 4,412,630
Spill Resistant Disposable Paper Drinking Cup, William C. La Fever, inventor; November 1, 1983; Patent # 4,412,644
Method for Forming a Cup-Like Container, Carl Arndt and Martin Mueller, inventors; Owens-Illinois Inc.; May 31, 1983; Patent # 4,386,044
Thermoformable Polymer Blend Composition, Michael R. Grancio, David F. Stewart and John F. Cass, inventors; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; May 31, 1983; Patent # 4,386,188
Thermoformable Polymer Blend Composition Comprising Styrene Polymer, Olefin Polymer and Block Copolymer, Michael C. Grancio, David F. Stewart and John F. Cass, inventors; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; May 31, 1983; Patent # 4,386,187
Apparatus for the Continuous Formation of Biaxially Oriented Thermoplastic Materials and Forming Articles Therefrom by Intermittent Forming Means Interfaced Therewith, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; Maryland Cup Coproration; May 24, 1983; Patent # 4,348,836
Tuck and Nest Method and Apparatus, Gaylord Brown, inventor; Sweetheart Plastic Inc.; May 24, 1983; Patent # 4,384,439
Edible Food Containers and the Method of Coating Said Containers, Irving H. Rubenstein and Herbert M. Bank, inventors; Maryland Cup Corporation; June 28, 1983; Patent # 4,390,553
Methods and Apparatus for Curling Lips about the Open Mouths of Stacked Thermoplastic Containers, Albert W. Arends and Ronald E. Henke, inventors; Leesona Corporation; July 5,1983; Patent # 4,391,768
Thermoformable Polymer Blend Composition Comprising Styrene Polymer, Olefin Polymer and Block Copolymer, Michael R. Grancio, David F. Stewart and John F. Cass, inventors; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; May 31, 1983; Patent # 4,386,187
Thermoformable Polymer Blend Composition, Michael R. Grancio; David F. Stewart and John F. Cass, inventors; Sweetheart Plastics, Inc.; May 31, 1983; Patent # 4,386,188
Apparatus for the Continuous Formation of Biaxially Oriented Thermoplastic Materials, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; Maryland Cup Corporation; November 8, 1983; Patent # 4,413,964
Apparatus for the Continuous Formation of Biaxially Oriented Thermoplastic Materials and Forming Articles Therefrom by Intermittent Formings Means Interfaced Therewith, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; Maryland Cup Corporation; May 24, 1983; Patent # 4,384,836
Apparatus for the Continuous Formation of Biaxially Oriented Thermoplastic Materials and Forming Articles Therefrom by Intermittent Forming Means Interfaced Therewith, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; Maryland Cup Corporation; November 22, 1983; Patent # 4,416,607
Tamper Evident Closures and Packages, Mortimer S. Thompson, inventor; Tri-Tech Systems International Inc.; December 25, 1984; Patent # 4,489,841
Container Tamper Detection Device, Joseph A. Resnick, inventor; January 10, 1984; Patent # 4,424,911
Receptacle Tampering Indicator and Method Therefor, Randall A. Newkirk, inventor; February 21, 1984; Patent # 4,432,462
Tamper Resistant Security Package, Stewart A. Darling, Tadeusz Kostanecki and George Soos, inventors; DRG Inc.; July 3, 1984; Patent # 4,457,430
Tamper Evident Container and Method for Making the Same, Peter K. Laucis and Robert Terry, inventors; Nordson Corporation; November 6, 1984; Patent # 4,480,749
Container Closure Integrity System, Donald R. Wloszczyna, inventor; Denerik Creativity, Inc.; March 5, 1985; Patent # 4,502,605
Tamper-Indicating Device and Method, Robert C. Weiner, inventor; March 19, 1985; Patent # 4,505,399
Container Seal with Tamper Indicator, Howard J. Klein and Garbor L. Szekeres, inventors; April 16, 1985; Patent # 4,511,052
Oxygen Indicator for Packaging, Daniel Perlman and Henry Linschitz, inventors; July 2, 1985; Patent # 4,526,752
Tamper-Evident Closure Apparatus, Jeffrey Sandhaus, inventor; May 27, 1986; Patent # 4,591,062
Pre-Expander for Expandable Polymer Beads, Ian C. Train, inventor; June 30, 1987; Patent # 4,676,739
Refrigerant Cooled Plastic Molding, Method and Apparatus, Robert C. Ritchie, Henry J. McKone and Richard Stamm, inventors; Dart Industries, Inc.; September 1, 1987; Patent # 4,690,789
Method of Producing a Skin-Covered Foamed Thermoplastic, Thomas W. Winstead, inventor; June 13, 1972; Patent # 3,670,059
Box 2 Winstead patents 1977, 1989
The Winstead Patents: Analysis of Content and Coverage, Terrell C. Birch; 19 page typescript summary; July 18, 1977
Special Report; Winstead Patents: Continuous Thermoforming and Thermoplastic Foams; Michael Gigliotti & Associates; March 23, 1989
Publications
Box 2 Articles and papers 1946, 1959
Electrical Insulating Materials…A Symposium: Plastic compositions for dielectric applications, W.C. Goggin and R.F. Boyer, authors; The Dow Electrical Company; Reprinted from Industrial and Engineering Chemistry, Vol. 38, Page 1090, November, 1946.
Ethyl Cellulose Proves Self on Difficult Applications; Philip A. Belk, author; Hercules Powder Co.
Poly-Fibre-a new approach to molding; W.C. Goggin and R.R. Bradshaw, author
Styrene Plastics, Henno Keskkula, Alan E. Platt and Raymond F. Boyer, authors; The Dow Chemical Company; Reprinted from Kirk-Othmer: Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, Volume 19, 2nd Edition
Technical Papers, Plastics in Packaging, Lewis A. Bernhard, editor; Society of Plastics Engineers, Inc.; Regional Technical Conference; November 19, 1959
Box 2 Reports 1951, 1964, 1966,
Extrusion and Thermoforming Technical Data Prepared for Mr. J.N. McDonald, Sweetheart Plastics; January 19, 1966
The Dow Chemical Company Report: The Extrusion of Polystyrene, I, Report No. PB-11; C.E. Beyer and F.E. Towsley, authors; The Dow Chemical Company; August 17, 1951; Plastics Basic Research Laboratory
Report to Mr. J.N. McDonald Sweetheart Plastics, Inc., Analysis of Patents: Sheet Extrusion and Thermoforming Technology; From Edison Technical Services, Inc., Spring 1964

Return to top