Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

David L. McDonald Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McDonald, David L. (David Lamar), 1906-1997.
Title: David L. McDonald Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1965
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Audiotapes, correspondence, printed material, other items from the American admiral.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David L. McDonald (1906-1997) was a United States Navy officer who retired with the rank of Admiral. He attended the U.S. Naval Academy (class of 1928) and later studied at the National War College (1950-1951). Commissioned as ensign in 1928, he was designated a naval aviator in 1931 and eventually rose to the rank of admiral in 1963. He served aboard several navy ships early in his career and commanded three others later; other postings included instructor at the Pensacola Naval Air Station, commander of the Sixth Fleet, and commander of U.S. Naval forces in Europe.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David L. McDonald Papers consist of biographical material, addresses and remarks, statements before various committees, and audiotapes of press conferences, interviews, and news briefings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not been processed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to military history; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

McDonald, David L. (David Lamar), 1906-1997.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Navy -- Officers.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Speeches.

Occupations

Admirals.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David L. McDonald Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of H. E. Hetu, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 5 Oct 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top