Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Anne McCaffrey Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McCaffrey, Anne.
Title: Anne McCaffrey Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1967
Quantity: 4.5 boxes (1.8 linear ft.)
Abstract: Typescript drafts and manuscript books and short stories, correspondence
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American author, fantasy and science fiction short story writer and novelist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anne McCaffrey Papers, 1947-1967, consist of correspondence, memorabilia and writings. Correspondence includes an undated letter and memorandum. Memorabilia consists of one unidentified photograph.

Writings, 1947-1967, form the bulk of the collection and are divided into four groups: books, honors thesis, plays, and short stories. Within these groups, arrangement is alphabetical by title.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type and within that alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has an extensive collection of science fiction and fantasy novels, including many by Anne McCaffrey; please consult the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

See also the Grove Press Records : Books : Book files : McCaffrey, Anne.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

McCaffrey, Anne.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Fantasy fiction, American.
Science fiction -- Women authors.
Science fiction, American.
Women authors, American.
Women novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anne McCaffrey Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anne McCaffrey, 1968, 1970

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SBM
Date: 11 Feb 1970
Revision history: 17 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 24 Jun 2013 - related material, arrangement (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Letter
Memorabilia
Box 1 Photograph
Writings
Books
Box 1 And All the Weyrs of Pern - drafts, revisions (3 folders)
Box 1, 2 Decision at Doona 1967 - multiple drafts, revisions, typescripts, editorial comments
Box 2 Dragonflight - notes, typescript, revisions
Box 2, 3 Restoree 1967 - multiple drafts, revisions, typescripts, corrected galley
Box 3 Straight on Til Morning
Box 3, 4 Turn Turtle - research material, drafts, revisions
Honors thesis
Box 4 "Eugene Ivanovich Zamiatin, with Special Emphasis on His Utopian Novel, We" 1947 - Radcliffe, annotated typescript
Plays
Box 4 "Fiftieth Anniversary Celebration of the Presbyterian Church of Upper Montclair" 1957 - incomplete drafts, typescripts
Box 4 "The Unknown Ajax"
Short stories
Box 4 "Atlas' Pebble"
Box 4 "Bitter Talent"
Box 4 "Dramatic Mission" - multiple drafts
Box 4 "The Fare on the Styx"
Box 4 "Get Off the Unicorn" - multiple drafts
Box 4 "The Great Canine Chorus" - notes, multiple drafts, misc draft fragments
Box 5 "Horse from a Different Sea"
Box 5 "Is Not Tomorrow"
Box 5 "The Lady in the Tower" - published in Fantasy & Science Fiction, April, 1959
Box 5 "Lilacs"
Box 5 "Nick Knack"
Box 5 "She Tried Hard"
Box 5 "A Womanly Talent"
Box 5 Unidentified story
Box 5 Miscellaneous unidentified draft fragments

Return to top