Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Maria Snowden Mayor Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mayor, Maria Snowden.
Title: Maria Snowden Mayor Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1814-1934
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, personal documents, and published material. Correspondence includes that of Audella Hyatt, Alfred G. Mayor, and Harriet Hyatt Mayor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Very little is known about Mrs. Mayor. She was the second wife of Alfred Marshall Mayor the noted physicist. Dr. Mayor had a son, Alfred Goldsborough Mayor, by his first wife Katharine Goldsborough. So the second Mrs. Mayor had a stepson.

She and Dr. Mayor also had two children of their own, Joseph Henry and Brantz, but both these boys died young. Mrs. Mayor lived with her husband for a time in Hoboken, N. J. but they moved to Maplewood, N.J. first as a summer home and later permanently. Her stepson Alfred married Harriet Hyatt in 1900 and soon she was a grandmother. She died around 1934 at an elderly age.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Maria Snowden Mayor (Mrs. Alfred Marshall Mayor) Papers contain correspondence, bills and receipts, cards, legal papers, photographs, and published material including articles and newspaper clippings about others, and books.

Correspondence, includes incoming and outgoing correspondence and correspondence to and from others. Subject File, contains an old bank note, bills and receipts, bond notices, cards, snips of children's hair, legal papers, notes of others, and photographs. Published Material, includes articles about others, two books, and newspaper clippings about others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by author and the outgoing letters are arranged chronologically. The letters to and from others are divided into general letters, letters to Mrs. Antoinette Snowden, and Snowden family letters. Subject File and Published Material are arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections for the Hyatt-Mayor families. For information on members of the Hyatt, Mayor, Beebe, and Huntington families see the SCRC Subject Index for the finding aids of individual family members.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hyatt family.
Hyatt, Audella, 1840-1932.
Mayer, Alfred M. (Alfred Marshall), 1836-1897.
Mayor family.
Mayor, A. Hyatt (Alpheus Hyatt), 1901-1980.
Mayor, Alfred Goldsborough, 1868-1922.
Mayor, Harriet H. (Harriet Hyatt), 1868-1960.
Mayor, Maria Snowden.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Bank notes.
Books.
Correspondence.
Legal documents.
Photographs.
Receipts (financial records)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Maria Snowden Mayor,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Nov. 1966
Revision history: 20 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC); 3 Feb 2016 - condensed boxes, updated inventory (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming Correspondence
Box 1 A - B
Box 1 C - D
Cook, Katharine Mayor
See Townsend, Katharine Mayor Cook.
Box 1 F
Box 1 H
Box 1 Hyatt, Audella 1896, 1900-1902, 1904-1907 1908-1913, 1915-1921, 1923-1925, 1931-1932, undated (10 folders)
Hyatt, Harriet
See Mayor, Harriet Hyatt
Box 1 J - L
Box 1 M
Box 2 Mayor, Alfred G. 1884, 1890-1893, 1896-1897, 1899-1900, 1902-1905, 1907-1911, 1913-1922, undated/unknown (15 folders)
Box 3 Mayor, Alfred M.
Box 3 Mayor, Alpheus Hyatt.
Mayor, Barbara
See Money, Barbara Mayor.
Box 3 Mayor, Brantz
Box 3 Mayor, various - Charles F., Ellen, Evelyn Griswold, Lewis C. and Virginia Sluder
Box 3 Mayor, Frank B.
Box 3 Mayor, Harriet Hyatt 1897-1905, 1907-1917 (12 folders)
Box 4 Mayor, Harriet Hyatt 1918-1927, 1929, 1931-1934, undated/unidentified (14 folders)
Box 4 Mayor, Joseph Henry
Mayor, Katharine
See Townsend, Katharine Mayor Cook.
Box 4 Money, Barbara Mayor
Box 4 N, P, R
Box 4 S
Box 5 Stevens, W. L.
Box 5 Townsend, Katharine Mayor Cook
Box 5 V
Box 5 W
Box 5 Unidentified
Outgoing correspondence
Box 5 To Mrs. Charles F. Mayor 1872-1883 1889, 1897, 1899, 1933, undated/unidentified (5 folders)
Correspondence to and from others
Box 5 [Miscellaneous]
Box 5 Letters to Miss Antoinette Snowden
Box 5 Snowden family letters 1814-1829
Subject file
Box 5 Bank Note for 12 ½ cents - Frederictown Branch Bank, 1841 (Frederick, Md.)
Box 5 Bills and receipts
Box 5 Bond notices
Box 5 Cards
Box 5 Children's hair
Box 5 Legal papers
Box 5 Notes of others
Box 5 Photographs
Published material
Box 5 Article: "Sketch of the Life of Alfred M. Mayor"
Books
Box 5 Die Plagen
Box 5 Schlau, Schlauer am Schlausten
Box 5 Newspaper clippings about others

Return to top