Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Mayhew, Henry, 1812-1887. |
| Title: | Henry Mayhew Letter |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1853 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | One letter from the English author and reformer, seeking information regarding "the amount of the London traffic," presumably as research for one of his books. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Henry Mayhew (1812-1887) was an English journalist, playwright and social reformer. He was one of the two founders of the well-known magazine Punch and published several sociological studies of London's poor.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Henry Mayhew Letter consists of a single letter from Mayhew to an unidentified recipient, seeking information regarding "the amount of the London traffic," presumably as research for one of his books.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Henry Mayhew Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Transfer from Rare Books, found laid in a copy of Mayhew's 1851, or, The adventures of Mr. and Mrs. Sandboys, their son and daughter, who came up to London to enjoy themselves and to see the Great Exhibition (1851).
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jun 2010
Revision history: