Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Guy de Maupassant Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Maupassant, Guy de, 1850-1893.
Title: Guy de Maupassant Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1881-1890
Quantity: 2 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the French author, short story writer, novelist. Autograph letters.
Language: In French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Guy de Maupassant (1850-1893) was a French author best known for his short stories such as Boule de suif (1880) and his novels such as Une Vie (1883) and Bel-Ami (1885).

Henri René Albert Guy de Maupassant was born on August 5, 1850 near Normandy, France, the eldest child of Laure Le Poittevin and Gustave de Maupassant. Custody was given to Maupassant's mother when the couple separated around 1862. He was sent to a boarding school, Institution ecclésiastique in Yvetot, but was expelled for a poem he wrote that satirized the institution. Maupassant continued to write, composing over 300 short stories during his career. He was inspired by the works of Gustave Flaubert, whom he met through his mother's childhood friend, Louis Bouilhet. Although Maupassant never married, he had many lovers, one, Joséphine Litzelmann, with whom he had three children. He died of syphilis on July 6, 1893.

Selected Works

1880 Boule de Suif
1881 La Maison Tellier, or The House of Madame Tellier
1882 Mademoiselle Fifi
1883 Une Vie, or A Woman's Life
1885 Bel-Ami
Yvette
1886 Monsieur Parent
1887 Le Horla
1888 Pierre et Jean

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Guy de Maupassant Letters consist of 2 autograph letters from the French novelist.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Maupassant, Guy de, 1850-1893.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature -- 19th century.
Novelists, French.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Guy de Maupassant Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 09 Dec 2008
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 268 18 May? 1881
SC 268 08 May 1890 - includes abstract of letter's contents

Return to top