Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

W. Dean Mason Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mason, W. Dean.
Title: W. Dean Mason Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1958-1980
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American educator specializing in geriatrics and gerontology. Collection includes correspondence, speeches, reports, newsletters, and material relating to the National Geriatrics Society and to the Indiana Commission on Aging and Aged.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Wendell Dean Mason was an American educator, specializing in geriatrics and gerontology. He wrote or edited books and articles in his field, and was President of the National Geriatric Society.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. Dean Mason Papers contains material relating to gerontology, geriatrics, and nursing home administration with special emphasis on the Kennedy Memorial Christian Home in Martinsville, Indiana. Material includes correspondence, speeches, reports, newsletters, journals, surveys, press releases, clippings, memorabilia, and more. Organizations represented include the Adult Education Association, the National Council on Aging, the National Geriatric Society, and the Indiana Commission on Aging and Aged.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The material remains in original order as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Mason, W. Dean -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Indiana. Commission on the Aging and Aged.
Kennedy Memorial Christian Home (Martinsville, Ind.)
National Council on the Aging.
National Geriatrics Society.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Geriatrics -- Research.
Geriatrics -- Study and teaching.
Nursing homes.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Newsletters.
Press releases.
Reports.
Speeches.
Surveys.

Occupations

Geriatricians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. Dean Mason Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. W. Dean Mason, 22 October 1982.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DCA
Date: Feb 1985
Revision history: Aug 2008 - Converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Box list
Box 1 Curriculum vitae
Box 1 Correspondence 1964-1980
Box 1 Speeches, printed 1966-1977
Box 2 Reports, printed, various authors 1958-1976
Box 2 Adult Education Association
Box 2 Adult Education Association, relating to WDM's secretaryship of AEA
Box 2 National Council on Aging 1970s
Indiana Commission on Aging and Aged
Box 2 Correspondence 1978-1980
Box 2 Reports 1970s
Box 2 Indiana Regional Medical Program 1975
Box 2 Human Services Personnel Association 1974-1977
National Geriatric Society
Box 3 [Miscellaneous] 1970s
Box 3 Conferences 1971-1972
Box 3 Newsletters and journals 1960s-1970s
Conferences
Box 3 Middlers 1969
Box 3 Wingspread 1971
Box 3 White House 1971
Nursing homes
Box 4 Kennedy Memorial 1960s-1970s
Box 4 Others
Box 4 Reports 1960s-1970s
Box 4 Management desk book 1972
Box 4 Surveys 1960s-1970s
Box 5 Nurses Training Program 1970
Box 5 Press releases 1970s
Box 5 U.S. Government publications 1966-1976
Box 5 Memorabilia
Box 5 Newspaper clippings 1960s-1970s
Box 5 Periodicals 1960s-1970s
Box 5 Department of Education Title IA grant application 1980
Box 5 Transactional Analysis for Managers
Box 6 Related books and periodicals

Return to top