Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Marxist-Leninist Party Broadside

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse Committee Against Social-Chauvinism
Title: Marxist-Leninist Party Broadside
Inclusive Dates: 1980
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Single broadside advertising public meeting of the Syracuse Committee Against Social-Chauvinism opposing draft and U.S. Imperialism. Two political cartoons and an article.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Marxist-Leninist Party (MLP) was a group combining the Communist League and the American Communist Workers' Movement, which traced their roots from the Communist Party USA and the Cleveland Draft Resistance Union, respectively. The MLP and its predecessors were anti-revisionists, opposing changes in communist thought, returning instead to the original philosophies of Marx and Lenin, initially lauding Mao Tse-tung as the modern embodiment of their ideals. The group specifically denounced American imperialism as an enemy of all people, which they declared in the first issue of their newspaper, The Workers' Advocate, and also later came to denounce Mao as a revisionist after his death. The event advertised on this broadside, a public meeting in Syracuse on April 18, 1980, was followed by a larger "No to U.S. Imperialist War Preparations!" event in Buffalo on June 7, 1980, also sponsored by the Buffalo Branch of the Marxist-Leninist Party, the Syracuse Committee Against Social-Chauvinism, as well as the Union of Anti-Imperialist Students, as reported in The Workers' Advocate, July 10, 1980.

[Information adapted from Encyclopedia of Anti-Revisionism On-Line, articles titled "The New Communist Movement: The Early Groups, 1969-1974," "American Communist Workers' Movement (Marxist-Leninist)," and "The New Communist Movement: Initial Party-Building Campaigns, 1973-1974," as well as The Workers' Advocate, Volume 1, Number 1 (July 2, 1969) and Volume 10, Number 4 (July 10, 1980).]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marxist-Leninist Party Broadside is a single item, advertising an anti-war, anti-draft meeting in Syracuse at the Sumner School, sponsored by the Syracuse Committee Against Social-Chauvinism and the Buffalo Branch MLP (Marxist-Leninist Party), and also featuring an article against U.S. Imperialism.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Carter, Jimmy, 1924- -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Marxist-Leninist Party, USA. Buffalo Branch.

Subjects

Anti-imperialist movements.
Communism -- United States.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Broadsides.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marxist-Leninist Party Broadside,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Fell out of one of the wood carrels being taken apart on upper floors of Bird Library during summer (2018) renovations.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DSA
Date: 30 May 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Broadsides
SC 848 Marxist-Leninist broadside April, 1980
Front features apparent caricature of President Jimmy Carter, and information about the time and place of a public meeting of the Syracuse Committee Against Social-Chauvinism, with slogans "No ! To U.S. Imperialism's War Preparations !" and "No to the Draft!". On reverse is article "Go All Out to Fight U.S. Imperialism!" reprinted from The Workers' Advocate, Vol. 10, No. 3 (April 15, 1980), with a cartoon captioned The Hangmen and Assassins of the People, featuring Carter with figures representing USSR and China.

Return to top