Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Rolland B. Marvin Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Marvin, Rolland B.
Title: Rolland B. Marvin Collection
Inclusive Dates: Unknown.
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Books, clippings, notes, memorabilia, relating to the four-term mayor of Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rolland B. "Rolly" Marvin (?-1979) was a four-term mayor of Syracuse, New York whose terms covered the worst years of the Great Depression (1930-41). As mayer he initiated numerous important projects, among them bringing Carrier Corporation to the city, building a new railroad station and elevating the tracks that formerly ran through the center of downtown, constructing MacArthur Stadium to lure a professional baseball team, and renovating numerous city parks. He served as chair of the Onondaga County Republican Party (1939-1942), was a delegate to the Republican National Conventions of 1940 and 1944, and ran for the New York State Senate (1944).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rolland B. Mayor Collection contains books, pamphlets, clippings, disc records and other material relating to Rolland B. Marvin and to Syracuse history.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Complete run of the Saturday Night Bugle, transferred to Rare Books for cataloging, 1992. Marvin's four terms as mayor figure prominently in the paper. Please search the Classic Catalog for this item.

Audiotape of interview with Manny Mannheim, Saturday Night Bugle founder, transferred to Belfer, 1994.

Commercial recordings sent to cataloging.

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings relating to politics and government, and to local Central New York and Syracuse history, in both our manuscript and rare books collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections, and to the Classic Catalog for rare books and published material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Dewey, Thomas E. (Thomas Edmund), 1902-1971.
Marvin, Rolland B.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
Willkie, Wendell L. (Wendell Lewis), 1892-1944.

Corporate Bodies

Republican Party (N.Y.)
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- )

Subjects

Campaign speeches -- United States.
Campaign speeches -- New York (State)
Mayors -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Memorabilia.
Phonograph records.

Occupations

Mayors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rolland B. Marvin Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Marvin, 2005.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2009
Revision history: 26 Jun 2017 - audio inventory added (PJM)

Return to top

Inventory

Speeches
Audio recordings
Introduction by Mayor Marvin - [Wendell] Willkie speech (1 lacquer disc) (ID#: marvin_rb_001)
Let's Hear the Record! - text from speeches by candidate Franklin D. Roosevelt, during his third campaign, spoken by unknown voice actor, released on Gotham Record Company recording 76468 (2 copies, shellac disc) (ID#: marvin_rb_002-003)
Saturday Night Speech 11/02/1940 1 lacquer disc (ID#: marvin_rb_004)
[Wendell] Willkie Speech, Madison Square Garden, parts 1-8 11/02/1940 (4 lacquer discs) (ID#: marvin_rb_005-008)
Thomas E. Dewey 11/02/1940 (1 lacquer disc) (ID#: marvin_rb_009)
George Parsons 10/29/1940 (1 lacquer disc) (ID#: marvin_rb_010)
Irwin S. Cobb, parts 1-7 (4 lacquer discs) (ID#: marvin_rb_011-014)
Young Republican’s Club’s Speech At Hamilton, NY, parts 1 and 2 05/15/1942 (2 lacquer discs) (ID#: marvin_rb_015-016)
Testimonial Dinner at Hotel Syracuse, parts 1-7 02/03/1942 (4 lacquer discs) (ID#: marvin_rb_017-020)
Claire Booth for Willkie (2 copies, shellac disc) (ID#: marvin_rb_021-022)
Mayor Rolland B. Marvin - Introduction and Speech, Madison Square Garden, parts 1-9 11/02/1940 (5 lacquer discs) (ID#: marvin_rb_023-027)

Return to top