Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Mary Hatch Marshall Collection Relating to Marguerite Yourcenar

An inventory of the ccollection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Marshall, Mary, 1903-2000.
Title: Mary Hatch Marshall Collection Relating to Margueriet Yourcenar
Inclusive Dates: 1868-1991
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Research notes and photocopied correspondence relating to Belgian-American scholar Marguerite Yourcenar and her partner Grace Frick, compiled by Syracuse University professor Mary Hatch Marshall.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Marguerite Yourcenar (1903-1987) was a French writer, later an American citizen. She was the first woman elected to the prestigious Académie Française (1980).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mary Hatch Marshall Collection Relating to Marguerite Yourcenar contains research notes and a few items of photocopied correspondence relating to Belgian-American scholar Marguerite Yourcenar and her partner Grace Frick, compiled by Syracuse University professor Mary Hatch Marshall.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Marshall, Mary, 1903-2000.
Yourcenar, Marguerite.

Corporate Bodies

Académie française.

Subjects

Authors, French.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mary Hatch Marshall Collection Relating to Marguerite Yourcenar,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mary Hatch Marshall, circa 2005.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: May 2005
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Research notes
SC 809 Research notes

Return to top