Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

George Marshall Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Marshall, George, plastics engineer.
Title: George Marshall Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1940s-1965
Quantity: 1 legal-size box, 1 square tube
Abstract: Collection contains correspondence from Wasco Chemical from 1959, photographs of plastics manufacturing facilities, plastics industry-related publications, and piping diagrams for a factory for Great American Plastics in Fitchburg, MA.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Marshall worked in the plastics and chemical industries. He worked for the Leominster, Mass. office of Borden Chemical in 1955 and by 1959 had moved to Wasco Chemicals, first in Cambridge, Mass. and then in Sanford, Maine.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Marshall Papers consists of blueprints (piping diagrams for a factory for Great American Plastics in Fitchburg, MA), papers (correspondence from Wasco Chemical from 1959), photographs of plastics manufacturing facilities, and publications related to the plastics indutry.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Marshall, George, plastics engineer -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Borden Chemical.
Great American Plastics.
Wasco (firm)

Subjects

Factories -- Fires and fire prevention.
Factories.
Piping.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.
Plumbing plans.

Occupations

Engineers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Marshall Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of children of Dorothy and George Marshall.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jun 2009 - reprocessed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Blueprints
Oversize 1 Great American Plastics, Fitchburg, Massachusetts 1964 - piping diagrams, rolled (20 items)
Papers
Box 1 Wasco Calculator promotional material 1959-1960
Box 1 Wasco Chemical Co.
Box 1 Water bath casting 1960
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1959-1960
Photographs
Box 1 Factories late 1940s-? - factories (exteriors and interiors), factory fires, ruins of factories, and a tanker on railroad tracks; locations are largely unidentified, a few include Illinois (Mt. Pulaski and Illiapolis), Massachusetts, and possibly Maine. (2 folders, 70 items)
Publications
Box 1 Borden, Casco News 1954-1956
Box 1 DuPont, Lucite Manual 1942
Box 1 Imperial Chemical Industries, Perspex Corrugated Acrylic Sheet, 2d Edition 1958
Box 1 Rohm and Haas, Perspex Design and Fabrication Data 1949, 1961

Return to top