Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Gerard Malanga Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Malanga, Gerard.
Title: Gerard Malanga Papers
Dates: 1944-1971
Quantity: 10 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence from the 1960s; essays, poems, playscripts, and transcripts of interviews by Malanga; 35 notebooks containing journal entries, draft poems, and ideas for various projects; worksheets for poems; manuscripts by contributors to Intransit; and memorabilia, including an address book and publicity for poetry readings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American author, poet, periodical editor of the first two issues of Inter/view, and of Intransit: the Andy Warhol-Gerard Malanga monster issue (1968).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1944 to 1971, the Gerard Malanga Papers comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the American poet, photographer, and periodical editor (b. 1943). Illuminating both Malanga's professional career and personal life, the collection also reflects the creative energy of both the literary scene and the broader cultural milieu of the 1960s.

Focusing on the publication of Intransit: the Andy Warhol-Gerard Malanga Monster Issue (1968), the alphabetically arranged Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-3) encompasses the editorial correspondence and manuscript submissions of contributors. Letters from Toad Press editor and publisher Bill Thomas compose the bulk of the correspondence. Intransit issue contributors whose correspondence is of greatest depth and duration include George Bowering, Michael Benedikt, John Broderick, Paul Carroll, Edward Dorn, Larry Eigner, Joan Gilbert, Lindy Hough, Steven Katz, Ruth Krauss, Philip Lamantia, Michael McClure, Howard Moss, Charles Plymell, and Gilbert Sorrentino. Other correspondents include Daisy Aldan, David Omer Bearden, James Broughton, Joseph Ceravolo, John Hollander, Denise Levertov, William Meredith, Christopher Middleton, Kenneth Rexroth, Norman Rosten, Lorenzo Thomas, Anne Waldman, Philip Whalen, Jonathan Williams, and Marya Zaturenska. In addition to the submissions to Intransit, the collection also contains a number of manuscript poems from the 1940s of Malanga's teacher and mentor, Willard Maas.

Essays, interviews, notebooks, poetry, scripts, and editorial projects constitute Writings (Boxes 4-8). Incorporating book reviews, Essays also include Malanga's writings on film. Conversations with Edwin Denby, Steve Jonas, Paul Morrissey, and James Waring are recorded among the transcripts of Interviews. Lacking a readily identifiable sequence, although a few bear dates, the 35 Notebooks (ca. 1962-1970) containing diary entries, drafts of poems, and ideas for various projects have been assigned arbitrary numbers by which they are arranged. Divided into collections and individual titles, Poetry includes drafts and manuscripts arranged by title, followed by 30 folders of miscellaneous worksheets. Production records for the Wagner Literary Magazine, and manuscripts submitted for inclusion in Film Culture (#41) and the first two issues of Inter/view (together with the Intransit material among the Correspondence-Subject Files) represent Malanga's editorial projects.

Memorabilia (Box 8) encompasses an address book, a 1971 appointment calendar, an unidentified manuscript, a painting, and printed material, which includes flyers for poetry readings and promotional items.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Aldan, Daisy.
Ammons, A. R., 1926-2001.
Ashbery, John, 1927-
Bearden, David Omer.
Benedikt, Michael, 1928-
Bowering, George, 1935-
Brakhage, Stan.
Broughton, James Richard, 1913-1999.
Bukowski, Charles.
Carroll, Paul, 1927-1996.
Ceravolo, Joseph, 1934-
Cott, Jonathan.
Creeley, Robert, 1926-2005.
Denby, Edwin, 1903-1983.
Di Prima, Diane.
Dorn, Edward.
Eigner, Larry, 1927-1996.
Gallup, Dick, 1941-
Garrigue, Jean, 1912-1972.
Gilbert, Joan.
Guest, Barbara.
Harwood, Lee.
Hollander, John.
Hough, Lindy, 1944-
Katz, Steve, 1935-
Kennedy, Adrienne.
Krauss, Ruth.
Lamantia, Philip, 1927-2005.
Levertov, Denise, 1923-1997.
Levine, Philip, 1928-
Maas, Willard.
MacAdams, Lewis, 1944-
Malanga, Gerard.
Markopoulos, Gregory J.
Mayer, Bernadette.
McClure, Michael.
Mead, Taylor.
Meltzer, David.
Meredith, William, 1919-2007.
Middleton, Christopher, 1926-
Moss, Howard, 1922-1987.
Olson, Charles, 1910-1970.
Pack, Robert, 1929-
Plymell, Charles.
Rago, Henry, 1915-1969.
Rexroth, Kenneth, 1905-1982.
Rosten, Norman, 1914-1995.
Schjeldahl, Peter.
Simpson, Louis, 1923-2012.
Sorrentino, Gilbert.
Thomas, Bill, 1934-
Thomas, Lorenzo, 1944-2005.
Torregian, Sotère.
Towle, Tony, 1939-
Vaughn, James.
Waldman, Anne, 1945-
Whalen, Philip.
Wieners, John, 1934-2002.
Wilbur, Richard.
Williams, Jonathan, 1929-2008.
Zaturenska, Marya, 1902-1982.

Associated Titles

Intransit: the Andy Warhol-Gerard Malanga monster issue.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Bohemianism -- United States.
Literature, Experimental.
Periodical editors-- United States.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Address books.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gerard Malanga Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: 1994
Revision history: 7 Jun 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1 Agenoux, Soren
ms. poem
Box 1 Aldan, Daisy
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Ammons, A. R.
correspondence
Box 1 Ashbery, John
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Baum, Timothy
"Elephant" - ms. story
Box 1 Bearden, David Omer
correspondence
Box 1 Benedikt, Michael
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Berkson, Bill
ms. poem
Box 1 Berrigan, Ted
Clear the Range (Chapters 3-5) - ms.
Box 1 Bowering, George
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Brakhage, Stan
ms. poem
Box 1 Broderick, John
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Brodey, James
ms. poems
Box 1 Broughton, James
correspondence, "The Summit Meeting" - ms. play
Box 1 Bukowski, Charles
ms. poems
Box 1 Byron, Stuart
ms. poem
Box 1 Cale, John
ms. poems
Box 1 Carroll, Paul
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Caruso, Paul
ms. poems
Box 1 Cassidy, Daniel Patrick
ms. poem
Box 1 Cathcart, Adrian
ms. poem
Box 1 Ceravolo, Joseph
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Clark, Tom
correspondence
Box 1 Cordier, Robert
ms. poems
Box 1 Cott, Jonathan
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Creeley, Robert
correspondence
Box 1 Cutrone, Ronnie
ms. poem
Box 1 Denby, Edwin
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Di Prima, Diane
correspondence, "The Feast of the Calculus of Variations" (from Section 7) - ms.
Box 1 Dorn, Edward
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Dylan, Bob
ms. poem
Box 1 Eberhart, Richard
ms. poem
Box 1 Eigner, Larry
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Emerson, Eric
ms. poem
Box 1 Fainlight, Harry
ms. poems
Box 1 Finkelstein, Nat
correspondence
Box 1 Ford, Charles Henri
ms. poems
Box 1 Gallup, Dick
"The Bingo" (Act 3 of play) - ms.
Box 1 Garrigue, Jean
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Gilbert, Joan
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Ginsberg, Allen
ms. poem
Box 1 Goldman, Charles
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Gregory, Marya Zaturenska
See Zaturenska, Marya
Box 1 Guest, Barbara
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Harwood, Lee
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Heliczer, Piero
ms. poem
Box 1 Henderson, David
ms. poem
Box 1 Hochman, Sandra
ms. poem
Box 1 Hocken, Janice
ms. poem
Box 1 Hollander, John
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Hood, Edward M.
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 Hough, Lindy
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 1 "Ingrid Superstar"
ms. poems
Box 1 Jonas, Steve
ms. poem
Box 1 Katz, Paul
ms. poems
Box 1 Katz, Steven
correspondence, ms. poem, story
Box 1 Kennedy, Adrienne
ms. poem
Box 1 Kolmar, Richard
ms. poems
Box 1 Krauss, Ruth
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Lamantia, Philip
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Levertov, Denise
correspondence
Box 1 Levine, Philip
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 1 Levy, D. A.
ms. poem
Box 1 Maas, Willard (2 folders of 3)
ms. poems
Box 2 Maas, Willard (1 folders of 3)
ms. poems
Box 2 MacAdams, Lewis
correspondence, Get the Money (Chapter 5) - ms
Box 2 MacLise, Angus
ms. poem
Box 2 Malanga, Paul
correspondence
Box 2 Markopoulos, Gregory J.
correspondence (copy), ms. poem
Box 2 Mayer, Bernadette
ms. poems
Box 2 McCloskey, Mark
correspondence, "Impression on Poetry" - ms.
Box 2 McClure, Michael
correspondence, "A Straight Shot on Heroin" - ms.
Box 2 Mead, Taylor
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 2 Mekas, Jonas
"From the Diaries" - ms.
Box 2 Mellman, Larry
ms. poems
Box 2 Meltzer, David
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 2 Meredith, William
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Merrill, James
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Messing, Ellen
ms. poem
Box 2 Middleton, Christopher
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 2 Millaway, George
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 2 Moss, Howard
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 2 Murray, David B.
ms. poem
Box 2 Nicholson, Ivy
ms. poem
Box 2 O'Hara, Frank
ms. poem
Box 2 Olivio, Bob
ms. poem
Box 2 Olson, Charles
correspondence
Box 2 Overman, Gina
ms. poem
Box 2 Overman, Michele
ms. poem
Box 2 Pack, Robert
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Padgett, Ron
ms. poem
Box 2 Paiewonsky-Conde, Edgar
ms. poem
Box 2 Paul, Steve
ms. poem
Box 2 Perreault, John
ms. poems
Box 2 Plymell, Charles
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Powell, Roxie
ms. poem
Box 2 Rago, Henry
correspondence
Box 2 Rexroth, Kenneth
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Rosten, Norman
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 "Rotten Rita"
ms. poem
Box 2 Santoro, Louise
ms. poems
Box 2 Schjeldahl, Peter
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Semsel, George
ms. poem
Box 2 Shapiro, David
ms. poems
Box 2 Simpson, Louis
correspondence
Box 2 Slaten, Carol Fitzhugh
ms. poem
Box 2 Smith, Michael
ms. poems
Box 2 Sorrentino, Gilbert
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 2 Stevenson, Rosalind
The Puppet Woman (Chapter 2) - ms.
Box 2 Strickhausen, Harry
ms. poems
Box 2 Swenson, G. R.
correspondence, "Good-bye Calvin: Six Pieces" - ms.
Box 2 Swenson, May
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 2 Szabo
ms. poem
Box 2 Tavel, Ronald
ms. poems, prose selection
Box 2 Thomas, Bill (2 folders of 3)
correspondence
Box 3 Thomas, Bill (1 folder of 3)
correspondence
Box 3 Thomas, Lorenzo
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 3 Tinker, Carol
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 3 Torregian, Kathleen
ms. poem
Box 3 Torregian, Sotere
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 3 Towle, Tony
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 3 Vaughn, James
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 3 Waldman, Anne
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 3 Warhol, Andy
"Cock" (photocopy) - ms.
Box 3 Warsh, Lewis
correspondence, ms. poems
Box 3 Weinstein, Arnold
ms. poem
Box 3 Whalen, Philip
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 3 Wieners, John
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 3 Wilbur, Richard
correspondence
Box 3 Williams, Jonathan
correspondence, ms. poem
Box 3 Yuder, Jacob
untitled ms. poem
Box 3 Zaturenska, Marya
correspondence
Box 3 A-Z, unidentified (1 folder)
Writings
Essays
Box 4 "The Advent of Benedetta and the Pure Light That Surrounds Her" (working title: "The Film as Allegory")
ms. drafts
Box 4 "Charles Olson Via Gloucester"
Box 4 "The Error of Writing Poetry/The Error of Writing on Film"
research material, ms. drafts
Box 4 "Notes on the Works of Stephen Jonas"
ms. drafts
Box 4 "Notes on Whitman's 'When I Heard the Learn'd Astronomer'"
ms. draft
Box 4 "The Poetry of Night, Dawn & Dream: Cesar Vallejo Visionary Poet"
ms. drafts, translations by Malanga
Box 4 "Some Thoughts on Louis Zukofsky's Bottom: On Shakespeare and After I's"
ms. drafts, with notes by LeRoi Jones
Box 4 "Three Firsts"
ms. drafts
Box 4 "Up to the Minute With Charles Henri Ford"
ms. drafts
Box 4 "White Light"
ms. draft
Interviews
Box 4 Denby, Edwin
holograph transcript
Box 4 Jonas, Steve
holograph transcript
Box 4 Morrissey, Paul
typed transcript, with holograph additions
Box 4 Warhol, Andy (2)
questions only; unpublished "paste-up ready-made"
Box 4 Waring, James
typed transcript
Notebooks
Box 4 [I]-[XXII] (22 folders of 33)
Box 5 [XXIII]-[XXXV] (11 folders of 33)
Poetry (Collections)
Box 5 "An Additional Muse"
ms.
Box 5 "The Barzini Poems" (3 folders)
worksheets, ms. drafts
Box 5 "The Blue Book" (excerpts)
holograph ms.
Box 5 "Chic Death" (3 folders)
ms. drafts
Box 5 "Chic Death" (4 folders)
production records
Box 5 "The Christina Poems Incorporating What's Going Down"
ms.
Box 5 "Christina's World Im (Media) Cy Poemworks"
ms.
Box 6 "Christina's World Im (Media) Cy Poemworks"
ms. (carbon)
Box 6 "Christina's World Im (Media) Cy Poemworks"
miscellany
Box 6 "Clockworld"
ms. draft
Box 6 "The Cyclist" (3 folders)
ms. drafts
Box 6 "The Debbie High School Drop-Out Poems"
ms. draft
Box 6 "The Fool"
ms. draft
Box 6 "Important Emergency Information for Benedetta"
ms.
Box 6 "Italian Subtitles"
ms.
Box 6 "The Last Benedetta Poems" (2 folders)
Final draft
Box 6 "Lou Lou and What Came After Rome" (2 folders)
ms. drafts
Box 6 "Love Comic for Jennifer Lee"
ms. draft
Box 6 "Mother and Father"
ms. drafts
Box 6 "100 Years Have Passed"
ms.
Box 6 "Prelude Captain"
1st compilation
Box 6 "Prelude Captain"
Final assemblage draft
Box 6 "The Recording Zone Operator" (2 folders)
ms. draft
Box 6 "Screen Tests/A Diary"
ms. draft
Box 6 "Screen Tests/A Diary"
ms. (carbon)
Box 6 "The Selected Benedetta Poems"
ms. (photocopy)
Box 6 "10 Poems for 10 Poets"
ms. (carbon)
Box 6 "The Thunder Machine"
holograph ms.
Box 6 "The Thunder Machine"
typescript ms.
Box 6 "Venus in Furs"
ms. draft
Poetry (Individual titles)
Box 6 "Charles Olson Is Dead"
ms. drafts
Box 6 "Cunt"
ms. draft
Box 6 "Prelude to International Velvet Debutante"
holograph ms.
Box 6 "Prelude to International Velvet Debutante"
ms. (carbon)
Box 6 "Vibrations"
ms.
Box 6 "Where Else Can We Go to Escape From the Shimmering Chalice"
ms. draft
Box 7 Miscellaneous worksheets [I]-[XVIII] (18 folders of 30)
ms. draft
Box 8 Miscellaneous worksheets [XIX]-[XXX] (12 folders of 30)
ms. draft
Scripts
Box 8 "Donovan's Johnson"
ms. draft
Box 8 "Reel Two of Andy Warhol's 'Kitchen'"
ms. (photocopy)
Miscellaneous
Edited By
Periodicals
Box 8 Film Culture #41
submitted ms.
Box 8 Inter/view - Vol. 1, no. 1-2 (2 folders)
submitted ms.
Intransit
See Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-3)
Box 8 Wagner Literary Magazine
production records
Other
Oversize 1 Underground Cinema Eroticism & Visual Poetry Supplement
production records (partial)
Memorabilia
Box 8 Address book
Box 8 Calendar 1971
Box 8 Manuscript - "Three Flowers" (unidentified author)
Box 8 Painting by Neil Elsner
Printed material
Box 8 Publicity - flyers, posters
Box 8 Miscellaneous

Return to top