Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Bruce H. Maddock Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Maddock, Bruce H.
Title: Bruce H. Maddock Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1943-1988
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Personal patents, writings, and schematics from Union Carbide Plastics Division employee Bruce H. Maddock.
Language: Most material in English, one item in Japanese.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Bruce H. Maddock was a key figure in the development of processes and equipment for extrusion of thermoplastics. He joined the Bakelite Company in 1936. In 1939 the company was acquired by Union Carbide, and Maddock remained with the company until his retirement in 1974. He is credited with numerous important developments and was the author of a many important technical and research papers. An active member of the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE), he received both their Engineering and Technology Award (1982) and International Award (1988). In 1997 he was inducted into the Plastics Hall of Fame.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bruce H. Maddock Papers are divided into three series. Patents contains both Canadian and United States patents granted to Maddock for his work. Writings contains works by Maddock, both published and unpublished, about plastics extrusion. Miscellaneous includes two clippings of articles relating to plastics extrusion, not written by Maddock; one list of Maddock's patents and publications; and a schematic depicting a plastics mixing screw.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged alphabetically, and chronologically within folders.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Maddock, Bruce H.

Corporate Bodies

Union Carbide Corporation.

Subjects

Plastics -- Extrusion.
Plastics industry and trade.
Thermoplastics.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Patents.
Technical drawings.
Typescripts.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bruce H. Maddock Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Nancy Maddock, 2018.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Sep 2018
Revision history: 13 Jun 2019 - processed (DSA)

Return to top

Inventory

Patents
Box 1 Canadian 1960
Canadian Patent no. 608,466.
Box 1 United States 1958-1973
United States Patents, nos. 2,834,054; 2,993,875; 3,032,822; 3,846,192; 3,730,492; 3,756,574. Some include correspondence informing Maddock of the patent's granting.
Writings
Box 1 Typescripts 1943-1971, undated - articles and papers by Maddock (4 folders)
Box 1 Publications 1952-1988, undated - clippings and reprints, one article in Japanese (6 folders)
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Clippings 1984-1989 - one item cites Maddock
Box 1 "Patents and publications" list 1972
Box 1 Schematic of 4.5-inch mixing screw 1971

Return to top