Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Jack London Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: London, Jack, 1876-1916.
Title: Jack London Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1904-1931
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: Correspondence from American author Jack London and (after his death) his wife Charmian, to various recipients
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010

Biographical History

Jack London (1876-1916) was an American author and journalist. He is particularly known for his adventure novels such as The Call of the Wild and The Sea Wolf, but he also wrote plays, poetry, and more than a hundred short stories, as well as the dystopian novel The Iron Heel. Charmian Kittredge (1871-1955) was his second wife, to whom he was married from 1905 until his death. She was also an author and, after Jack's death, managed his literary estate.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack London Correspondence consists of letters from American author Jack London and his wife Charmian. The letters are to various recipients, not to one another. Included are a letter from Jack London to a Mr. Kullmer regarding a "star-finder" and one from Charmian mentioning an Esperanto translation of London's The Iron Heel.

Return to top


Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings


London, Charmian.
London, Jack, 1876-1916


Authors, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms


Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jack London Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information


Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Feb 2018
Revision history:

Return to top


Correspondence, outgoing
SC 816 London, Jack and Charmian 1904, 1911, 1924, 1929, 1931

Return to top