Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Carl Eric Lindin Translations of Vilhelm Ekelund

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lindin, Carl Olof Eric, 1869-1942.
Title: Carl Eric Lindin Translations of Vilhelm Ekelund
Inclusive Dates: undated
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Carl Eric Lindin was a Swedish-American artist; Vilhelm Ekelund a Swedish poet. Collection contains Lindin's translations into English of several works by Ekelund and two articles about him. Also included are a few photographs of Ekelund.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carl Olof Eric Lindin (1869-1942) was a Swedish-American artist. Born in Sweden, he came to America in 1887 and studied at the Chicago Art Institute. In 1893 he went to Paris and studied under Jean-Paul Laurens, Benjamin Constant, and Aman Jean. He returned to Chicago in 1897 and settled in Woodstock, New York in 1903. His primary interest was in art, and his work was exhibited in Paris, London, Munich, Stockholm, and the United States. He received a first and two second prizes given by the Swedish Club in Chicago, and his work is held in public and private collections in London, Stockholm, Philadelphia, Chicago, Memphis (Tennessee), and New York. His avocation was translating his favorite Swedish authors into English, particularly the works of poet Vilhelm Ekelund, with whom he had a voluminous correspondence but whom he never met in person. Lindin was one of the founders of the Woodstock Art Association, and was its honorary President until his death in November 1842.

Vilhelm Ekelund (1880-1949) was a Swedish poet known for the rhythmic and musical qualities of his verse. He was also influential on many later Swedish poets. In 1907 he gave up poetry in favor of writing essays and aphorisms.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carl Eric Lindin Translations of Vilhelm Ekelund consists of translations of works by Ekelund: "Lyre and Hades," "Metron," and "Between Passions; The Flight to Nature; The Genius of Clarity." Also included are translations of two articles about Ekelund and a few photographs of him.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A copy of Ekelund's Båge Och Lyra 1932, in Swedish, has been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ekelund, Vilhelm, 1880-1949.
Lindin, Carl Olof Eric, 1869-1942.

Subjects

Poets, Swedish -- 19th century.
Poets, Swedish -- 20th century.
Swedish poetry -- 19th century -- Translations into English.
Swedish poetry -- 20th century -- Translations into English.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.
Translations.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carl Eric Lindin Translations of Vilhelm Ekelund,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Karin L. Whiteley, 1982.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 23 Sep 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

About Ekelund
Box 1 Two articles, by Ivar Harric and Fredrik Böök - includes envelope with photographs of Ekelund
Ekelund's work
Box 1 Between Passions; Flight to Nature; Genius of Clarity (2 folders)
Box 1 Lyra and Hades (2 folders)

Return to top