Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Ida E. Lewis Poster

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Ida E. Lewis Poster
Inclusive Dates: [1964]
Quantity: 1 item
Abstract: Publicity poster for the Black writer and journalist's first book, The Deep Ditch and the Narrow Pit, published in 1964 by Pavilion Press
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ida E. Lewis (1934- ) is a Black American journalist, author, and teacher. Early in her career she wrote for both American and French newspapers and magazines, including Le Monde and Jeune Afrique. She became the second editor-in-chief of Essence magazine and the first female editor-in-chief of the NAACP's The Crisis, and founded the news magazine Encore which provided a Black perspective on international affairs. She has taught journalism at Columbia University, and has been for many years actively involved with Boston University's College of Communication, teaching as well as serving on its advisory board.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ida E. Lewis Poster consists of a poster advertising the Black writer and journalist’s first book, The Deep Ditch and the Narrow Pit, published in 1964 by Pavilion Press. The poster is illustrated with a line art drawing of Lewis at work, with a pen poised above an open notebook.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Lewis, Ida E., 1934-

Corporate Bodies

Pavilion Press.

Subjects

African American authors.
African American journalists.
Periodical editors.
Women authors.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Lithographs.
Posters.

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ida E. Lewis Poster,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Feb 2021
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Map-Case Poster, "Who in the world is Ida Lewis" [1964]

Return to top