Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Legal Records, 17th Century France

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Legal Records, 17th Century France
Inclusive Dates: circa 1642-1692
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed signatures of varying length, relating to various civil and criminal court matters in 17th century France. Some pertain to Cardinal Armand Jean du Plessis, Duc de Richelieu.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Names mentioned in the documents include academics, members of the aristocracy, and religious orders including the Jesuits. Among the persons of note are the following.

Cardinal Armand Jean du Plessis, Duc de Richelieu (1585-1642), a French clergyman, nobleman, and statesman. He served as Foreign Secretary and chief minister to Louis XIII of France and had extensive power and influence.

Roger de Rabutin, Comte de Bussy (1618-1693), a French memoirist and relative of Madame de Sévigné, is mentioned several times, as is his wife Louise de Rabutin (née Louise de Rouville).

Henry de La Tour d'Auvergne (1555-1623) was a French aristocrat, Duc de Boüillon, Prince of Sedan and Marshal of France.

"La Dame de Sassy" is almost certainly Marie/Marguerite Gaudon, wife of Nicolas Vauquelin de Sassy and widow of Pierre de Troussebois, Marquis de Ris. See for example: Catalogue des factums et d'autres documents judiciaires anterieurs a 1790, Bibliotheque Nationale, Département des Imprimés (1902), Volume 6, pp. 268-270).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This small collection of Legal Records, 17th Century France consists of twenty-eight printed signatures in French. Neither the printer nor the publisher is known. The signatures are of varying length and have been trimmed to roughly the same height and width. It cannot be determined whether any of the items were intended eventually to be bound together.

Most of the items in folder 1 are connected with the disposition of the estate of Cardinal Armand Jean du Plessis, Duc de Richelieu. Other items in the collection pertain to libel and slander cases, inheritances, and various other civil and criminal matters. A few items concern the Jesuits in Paris and Reims, and three relate to the case of "la Dame de Sassy," who is accused of murdering, or attempting to murder, her first husband; the accusation is brought by her former brother-in-law, Poitevin de Villiers.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items remain in the order in which they were received when purchased.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bouillon, Henri de la Tour-d'Auvergne, Duc de, 1555-1623.
Bussy, Roger de Rabutin, comte de, 1618-1693.
Certain de Germay family.
Richelieu, Armand Jean du Plessis, duc de, 1585-1642.

Corporate Bodies

Jesuits -- France -- 17th century.

Subjects

Law -- France -- 17th century.
Upper class -- France.

Places

France -- History -- 17th century.

Genres and Forms

Briefs (legal documents)
Genealogies.
Legal documents.
Wills.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Legal Records, 17th Century France,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 23 Oct 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Box 1 Folder 1 circa 1642-1692
Contains the following:
Testament de l'eminentissime Cardinal Duc de Richelieu
Sommaire Pour Monsieur le Duc de Richelieu
Factum Pour Monsieur le Duc de Richelieu, deffendeur et demandeur
Estat abrege des dettes de Monsieur le Cardinal de Richelieu
Factum contenant plusieurs de lettres missives & Actes tres-particuliers
Response a la Table donnée par Monsiuer le Marquis de Richelieu [...]
Transaction du 31, Mars 1643 Entree les Heritiers & Legataires de Monsieur le Cardinal Duc de Richelieu
Memoire pour Monsieur le Marquis de Richelieu
Factum pour le Sieur Millieu Treforier des Revenus Casuels [...]
Memoire pour Monsieur le Duc de Boüillon Demandeur en Réglement de Juges
Genealogie Henry de la Tour d'Auvergne, Duc de Boüillon [...]
Box 1 Folder 2 circa 1642-1692
Contains the following:
Replique pour Monsieur le Duc de Boüillon au Factum et au Memoire de Monsieur le Duc d'Albret
Factum pour la Dame de Sassy, Appellante & Intimée, contre Monsieur Poitevin Seigneur de Villiers, Intimé & Appellant
Table des matieres contenues dans les ecritures de la Dame de Sassy, contre Monsieur de Villiers Conseiller de la Cour
Factum pour Madame la Marquise de Sassy, Accusée, contre Monsieur Poittevin [sic] Seigneur de Villiers, Conseiller au Parlement, Accusateur
Box 1 Folder 3 circa 1642-1692
Contains the following:
Titres du mariage du Sieur de la Riviere et de Dame Louise de Rabutin
Factum signifié pour Leonord de Hée Marchand, Maistre Teinturier [...] contre Claude Baillet elû en l'election d'Amiens, & Henry Ledieu de la Mothe [...]
Reponse du Sieur de la Riviere aux libels diffamatoires du Sieur de Bussy
Requête signifiee a Monsieur le Lieutenant Criminel du Bailliage de Langres [...]
Factum pour Me Pierre Braux, Prêtre, Docteur ès Droits de la Faculté de Paris [...] contre Mes Pierre Braux, Conseiller du Roy, elû en l'election de Châlons, Jean Braux, & Demoiselle Agnès Braux, Demandeurs et defendeurs
Replique pour Me Pierre Braux, Chanoine de l'Eglise Cathedrale de Châlons, defendeur & demandeur, contre Me Pierre Braux, elû en l'election de Châlons, Me Jean Braux Avocat, & Damoiselle Agnès Braux, Demandeurs et defendeurs
Memoire pour Nicolas Certain de Germay Ecuyer [...], Nicolas-François Certain de Germay, [...] et Charles-Auguste Certain de Germay [...] contre Nicolas Valet et Jeanne Quillers sa femme [...] et Pierre Valet [...]
Memoire instructif pour l'Université de Paris contre les Jesuites
A Monsieur le Lieutenant Civil [from Pierre Dounzel, Seigneur de Chantarieges]
Factum pour Vincent de Beausergent, Ecuyer Conseiller Secretarie du Roy [...] contre Marie Magdelaine Jolivet, fille majeure [...]
Box 1 Folder 4 circa 1642-1692
Contains the following:
Consultation de MM. Blaru & Prêvot Avocats du Parlement [...] entre les Maire & Echevins de Chaumonte et Bassigny [...] et de l'Hôpital de la même ville [...]
Factum pour les ordres du clergé et de la noblesse de la province de Lille, defendeurs, contre les bailliffs des quatre Seigneurs Hauts-Justiciers [...]
Memoire pour les Recteur, Doyens, Docteurs et Suppots de l'Université de Reims [...] contre les Peres Jesuites du College de Reims

Return to top