Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Lawrence, Jacob, 1917-2000.
Title:	Jacob Lawrence Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1937-2000
Quantity:	4.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Spanning 1937-1971, the Jacob Lawrence Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, artwork reproductions, writings, printed material, and memorabilia of the African-American painter, printmaker, and artist.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Jacob Lawrence (1917-2000) was a leading black American artist, working in gouache, an opaque water colour, and tempera, a mixture of pigment and a binder. He was famous for the distinctive flat surfaces of his narrative paintings depicting social problems, as in The Migration of the Negro (1940-1941) and Struggle: From the History of the American People (1955). Lawrence was born in Atlantic City, New Jersey. He studied under Charles Alston at the Art Workshop in Harlem, New York (1932-1939), and at the Harlem Art Center and the American Artists School in New York City (1937-1939). He was a professor of art emeritus at the University of Washington, Seattle. [From Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Biography (2000)]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jacob Lawrence Papers consist of Biographical data, Correspondence, Artwork (reproductions), Memorabilia, Printed material and Writings of the African-American painter, printmaker, and artist. Born in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in 1917, Jacob Lawrence was an alumnus of the Harlem Workshop and the WPA Federal Art Project. The collection reflects not only the development of his artistic career, but also the social climate of the American art scene from the Depression through the early 1970s.

Two folders of Biographical data begin the collection.

Spanning 1937 through 1971, the Correspondence is almost exclusively of a business nature and comprises incoming letters and a few drafts of Lawrence's outgoing responses. Arranged chronologically (a selected name index appears at the end of this inventory), correspondents includes art historians (Alfred H. Barr, David C. Driskell, Creighton Gilbert, Abram Lerner, Alain Locke, Lee Nordness, Regenia A. Perry) and artists (Charles Alston, Benny Andrews, Romare Bearden, Lizzie Borden, Frank Bowling, Gerard Charriere, Claude Clark, Hy Cohen, Ernest Crichlow, Miki Denhof, Fritz Eichenberg, Philip Evergood, Elton C. Fax, Chuck Forsman, Harry Gottlieb, Eugene Grigsby, Joseph Hirsch, Carl Holty, Joe Lasker, Jack Levine, Frank Mechau, Earl Miller, Gregorio Prestopino, Charles Sheeler, Vincent Smith, Moses Soyer, Raphael Soyer, May Stevens, Walter Williams, Ed Wilson, Richard Yarde); as well as authors and poets (Miriam Biskin, Mildred Cummings, Harold Ehrensperger, M. A. Harris, Harry B. Henderson, Langston Hughes, Raymond Patterson, Margaret Rigg). Lawrence also received correspondence from educational institutions at which he has held teaching positions (Art Students League, Brandeis University, Denison University, Five Towns Music and Art Foundation, Inc., New School for Social Research, Pratt Institute, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture); foundations and institutions which have awarded him grants and/or fellowships (American Artists School, American Academy of Arts and Letters, Chapelbrook Foundation, Ford Foundation, John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Julius Rosenwald Fund, National Institute of Arts and Letters); galleries which represented his work (Downtown Gallery, Alan Gallery, Terry Dintenfass, Inc.); museums which have purchased and/or exhibited his work (Art Institute of Chicago, Brooklyn Museum, Carnegie Institute, Detroit Institute of Arts, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Fine Arts (Boston), Museum of Modern Art, North Carolina Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Whitney Museum of American Art); and institutions and publications which support and promote the study of Afro-American art and culture (American Society of African Culture, Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, Freedomways, Museum of African Art, Opportunity, National Urban League). In addition, Lawrence was approached by many local, national, and international organizations, from New York City high schools and churches to the Institute of International Education, to serve as a juror for art shows and the awarding of scholarships.

Artwork consists of reproductions of Lawrence's work, and features photographs, printed items, and slides. The photographs include images of both Lawrence's painting and a number of interior shots of gallery and museum shows. Printed material of Lawrence's work includes post cards, greeting cards, magazine covers, and appearances in various art and general publications which have illustrative material with minimal text.

Memorabilia comprises awards, financial material, non-exhibition-related invitations, personal photographs, printed material, and manuscript writings about Lawrence by others. Printed material contains magazine articles about Lawrence (1939-1969) from various general and art periodicals, newspaper clippings (1937-1970), and programs and calendars from public events at which Lawrence spoke or was honored.

In their original state, the Lawrence Papers contained three scrapbooks which held a variety of materials, including correspondence, exhibition announcements and catalogs, magazine appearances, and newspaper clippings, which documented the early stages of his career (pre-1950). In the interest of preservation, the scrapbooks were dismantled and the materials integrated into various parts of the collection.

Printed material, consisting of academic brochures and course catalogs, exhibition announcements, invitations, catalogs, and posters, reflects Lawrence's dual career as teacher and artist. Course catalogs include those of Brandeis University (1965), the New School (1966-1969), and Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture (1968-1970). Exhibition announcements, invitations, and catalogs, document the course of Lawrence's artistic career, and include catalogs from his first one-man exhibition in 1938 sponsored by the James Wheldon Johnson Literary Guild at the Harlem YMCA, the American Negro Exposition (1939) in Chicago, at which he won second prize, and many other exhibition catalogs of one-man and group shows from the late 1930s through 1971. The collection also contains posters for two of his shows.

Writings include interviews, speeches, and miscellaneous manuscripts which suggest Lawrence's philosophy about his work.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Other series are arranged alphabetically by type or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A number of printed items, including a copy of Federico García Lorca's Gypsy ballads translated by Langston Hughes and signed/inscribed by him to Lawrence, have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on "Gift of Jacob Lawrence" to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jacob Lawrence Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jacob Lawrence, 1963, 1966, 1971.

Ramie Streng letter (2/20/1995) gift of Ramie Streng, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Anne Diekma, KM
Date: Jan 1992
Revision history: 19 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 5 Sep 2014 - rehoused, inventory and index updated (MRC); 29 Sep 2015 - Ramie Streng letter added (MRC); 21 Jul 2021 - added "In Memoriam" (RMH); 31 Jan 2023 - flattened and rehoused poster (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical data
Box 1		Compiled by the American Federation of the Arts
Box 1		Miscellaneous

	Correspondence
Box 1		General 1937, 1940-1949, 1952-1956, 1958-1966, undated (19 folders)
Box 2		General 1967-1971, 1995 (14 folders)
			Ramie Streng letter (2/20/1995) gift of Ramie Streng, 2014.
Box 2		General undated (5 folders)

	Artwork (reproductions)
Box 2		Photographs
Map-Case		Poster, "We wish to plead our own cause" - large, color
Box 2		Printed material (3 folders)
Box 3		Printed material (10 folders)
Oversize 1		Printed material, oversize
Box 3		Slides (2 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 3		Awards
Oversize 1		Awards - Committee for the Negro in the Arts
Box 3		Financial
Box 3		In Memoriam 2000
Box 3		Invitations, non-exhibition related 1946, 1962-1969, 2000
Box 3		Photographs
Oversize 1		Photographs - photo of Lawrence with students in a classroom
		Printed material
Box 3			Articles about 1939-1957 (3 folders)
Box 4			Articles about 1958-1969, undated (7 folders)
			Books about
Box 4				Jacob Lawrence by Aline Saarinen - page proofs
Box 4				Peripheral mention (3 folders)
Box 4			Clippings 1937-1960 (6 folders)
Box 5			Clippings 1961-1970, undated (11 folders)
Box 5			Programs, calendars (2 folders)
Box 5			Miscellaneous about JL
		Writings by others
			Gypsy ballads by Federico García Lorca, translated by Langston Hughes (Beloit Poetry Journal Chapbook No. 1) - inscribed presentation copy from Hughes to Lawrence
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Box 5			Typescripts, various
Box 5		Miscellaneous (2 items)

	Printed material
		Academic brochures, course catalogs
Box 5			Brandeis University 1965
Box 5			New School 1966-1969
Box 5			Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture 1968-1970 (2 folders)
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 6		Exhibition announcements, invitations (2 folders)
Box 6		Exhibition catalogs 1937-1960 (19 folders)
Box 7		Exhibition catalogs 1961-1969, undated (11 folders)
Box 7		Exhibition posters

	Writings
Box 7		Interview 1967, undated
Box 7		Speeches
Box 7		Miscellaneous

Return to top

Selected Index to Correspondence

• Abernathy, Ralph David : 11 June 1968; 1 Oct. 1968
• Alan Gallery : 20 June 1955; 23 Sept. 1955
• Alston, Charles : 12 Oct. 1970
• American Artists School : 26 Aug. 1937
• American Negro Exposition : 6 Aug. 1940; 23 Aug. 1940
• Ames, Elizabeth : 10 Jan. 1953; 7 Jan. 1954
• Andrews, Benny : 12 Dec. 1966
• Art in America : 15 July 1963
• Barr, Alfred Hamilton : 24 Nov. 1945
• Bearden, Romare H. : 19 May 1965; 9 Apr. 1971; undated (3)
• Biskin, Miriam : 2 Feb. 1964
• Bocour, Leonard : 21 May 1965
• Borden, Lizzie : undated
• Bowling, Frank : 15 Dec. 1966
• Burns, Andrew : 5 Feb. 1953; 31 Jan. 1956; 3 Feb. 1965
• Carty, Leo S. : 4 Mar. 1970
• Chamberlain, Betty : 23 Feb. 1971
• Charriere, Gerard : 12 Feb. 1970
• Chase, Judith Wragg : 19 Feb. 1971
• Clark, Claude : 26 June 1968; 7 Aug. 1968; 30 Nov. 1968; 2 Feb. 1969; 7 Feb. 1969; 17 May 1969
• Cohen, Hy : 11 Mar. 1966; 22 Mar. 1966; 9 June 1967; 29 Mar. 1968
• Crichlow, Ernest T. : 2 Nov. 1961
• Cummings, Mildred H. : 16 Mar. 1968; 11 Apr. 1968; 4 July 1968; 13 July 1968
• Davis, Robert Tyler : 8 Nov. 1945
• Davis, Stuart : 1945 Sept. 30
• Denhof, Miki : undated
• Downtown Gallery : See Halpert, Edith Gregor
• Driskell, David C. : 7 May 1962; 7 May 1968; 31 May 1968; 26 June 1968; 11 Sept. 1968; 18 Oct. 1968; 21 Nov. 1968; 19 Dec. 1968; 10 May 1969; 14 July 1969
• Ehrensperger, Harold : 18 Nov. 1949
• Eichenberg, Fritz : 24 Mar. 1964; 1 Sept. 1964; 21 Apr. 1969
• Evergood, Philip : 21 Oct. 1963; 17 Nov. 1963; 23 Nov. 1964; 5 Feb. 1965; 8 Mar. 1965
• Fax, Elton C. : 7 Apr. 1967; 9 Aug. 1967; 15 Aug. 1967
• Forsman, Chuck : undated
• Fortune : 1 July 1941; 6 June 1947
• Gahagan, James E. : 13 Apr. 1969
• Gaither, Edmund B. : 29 Oct. 1969
• Gilbert, Creighton : 25 Sept. 1964; 19 Oct. 1964; 28 Dec. 1964; 8 Jan. 1965; 26 Jan. 1965; 26 Aug. 1968
• Gonzalez, Xavier : 16 Dec. 1966; 26 Dec. 1966
• Gottlieb, Harry : 4 Oct. 1937
• Grigsby, Eugene Howard : 22 Aug. 1968; 11 Nov. 1968
• Gwathmey, Rosalie (Mrs. Robert) : undated (2)
• Halpert, Edith Gregor : 15 Dec. 1941; 12 Feb. 1942; 12 Mar. 1942; 4 June 1948; 1 Apr. 1961; 13 July 1964; 31 Aug. 1964; undated
• Harris, M. A. : 20 Nov. 1967
• Henderson, Harry Brinton : 17 Nov. 1970; 4 Jan. 1971
• Hirsch, Joseph : undated
• Hirshhorn, Joseph H. : 8 Apr. 1968
• Holty, Carl : 22 May 1969
• Hough, Winston Harry : undated
• Hughes, Langston : 26 Feb. 1966
• Jefferson, Louise E. : 11 Feb. 1969
• Julius Rosenwald Fund : 17 Apr. 1940; 11 Apr. 1941; 18 Apr. 1942
• Kent, Norman : 17 Apr. 1970
• Koch, John : 24 Nov. 1969
• Lasker, Joe : 11 Dec. 1968
• Lerner, Abram : 3 Feb. 1960
• Levine, Jack : 9 May 1966; undated
• Lindsay, John V. : 26 Sept. 1968
• Lion, Stephan : 20 Sept. 1968
• Lipman, Jean : See Art in America.
• Locke, Alain LeRoy : 11 Nov. 1948; undated
• Mayor, A. Hyatt : 23 July 1962; 2 Aug. 1962; 10 Sept. 1962
• Mebane, Mary E. : 30 Mar. 1964
• Mechau, Frank : 24 Apr. 1940; 23 Sept. 1940
• Meltzer, Milton : 29 Apr. 1966
• Miller, Earl : 14 Jan. 1968
• Moore, Trevor Wyatt : 14 Mar. 1965
• Nordness, Lee : 15 Jan. 1962; 18 July 1962
• O'Connor, Francis V. : Mar./Apr. 1968
• Patterson, Raymond : 9 Jan. 1968; 4 May 1968; 18 Oct. 1968; 6 Mar. 1969; 14 June 1969
• Penney, Edmund F. : 2 Apr. 1970
• Perry, Regenia Alfreda : 8 Mar. 1971
• Pratt Institute : 7 June 1956; 2 Oct. 1958; Aug. 1962; Aug. 1963; 21 Nov. 1963; 18 Feb. 1965; 8 July 1965; 29 June 1966; 24 May 1968; 10 June 1969; 17 June 1971; 15 Sept. 1970
• Prestopino, Gregorio : undated
• Randolph, A. Philip : 14 Oct. 1970
• Rigg, Margaret : 18 Jan. 1962; 20 Mar. 1962; 25 Sept. 1962; 18 Oct. 1962; 12 July 1963; 8 Oct. 1963; 24 Sept. 1970
• Ross, John : 1 June 1964; 30 Apr. 1968
• Sheeler, Charles : undated
• Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture : 13 Apr. 1967; 26 Sept. 1968; 4 Aug. 1967; 7 Nov. 1967; 16 Nov. 1967; 24 Nov. 1967; 5 Nov. 1968; 1 Apr. 1969; 16 Feb. 1971; undated
• Smith, Joseph A. : undated
• Smith, Vincent : 28 Dec. 1967; 29 Mar. 1968
• Soyer, Moses : undated
• Soyer, Raphael : 21 Nov. 1968
• Spingarn, Amy : undated
• Stevens, May : 26 Aug. 1968
• Taylor, Francis Henry : 5 Nov. 1945
• Terry Dintenfass, Inc. : 5 Feb. 1963; 23 Apr. 1963; 9 May 1963; 13 July 1964; 30 Sept. 1964; 6 Mar. 1965; 9 Mar. 1965; 11 Mar. 1965; 4 May 1965
• United States Committee for the First World Festival of Negro Arts, Inc. : 12 Oct. 1964; beg. 1966; 11 Mar. 1966; 17 Aug. 1966
• Walker, Constance : 1 Oct. 1968
• Williams, Walter : 27 May 1969
• Wilson, Ed : 23 Dec. 1967; 11 Mar. 1969
• Yarde, Richard : 19 Oct. 1967

Return to top