Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Harold Larrabee Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Larrabee, Harold A. (Harold Atkins), 1894-1979
Title: Harold Larrabee Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1919-1967
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Pamphlets, articles, books, manuscripts, correspondence of the American author and educator.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold Atkins Larrabee (1894-1979) was an American philosopher, author, and teacher.

Born in Melrose, Massachusetts, Larrabee graduated from Harvard University in 1916, received his master's degree from Columbia in 1918 and earned a Ph.D from Harvard in 1925. He taught at Syracuse University and the University of Vermont before joining Union College in Schenectady, New York, where he held the Ichabod Spencer Chair in philosophy until his retirement in 1960. He wrote journal articles, books, pamphlets and book reviews for various outlets, and was for decades the Senior Editor of the New England Quarterly. His writings focused on philosophy, history and the importance of education.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Larrabee Papers consists of correspondence, printed material, and writings.

Correspondence consists of a single folder of letters in response to book reviews written by Larrabee.

Printed material contains articles, essays, books, book reviews, and poems by Larrabee, as well as a few items by others, probably kept by Larrabee as souvenirs or memorabilia.

Writings contains typescripts by Larrabee, many with handwritten corrections, annotations, or revisions. Included are drafts of Larrabee's books Decision on the Chesapeake is here, as well as his thesis and dissertation, "The Philosophical Foundations of the Social Theory of Henri de Saint-Simon."

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by type of material. Printed material is subdivided by type (articles, books, etc.) and within that alphabetical by title, while writings (manuscripts) are alphabetical by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Larrabee, Harold A. (Harold Atkins), 1894-1979.

Subjects

Philosophers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.
Philosophers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Larrabee Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harold A. Larrabee, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 16 Oct 2009
Revision history: 25 Nov 2020 - processed (BH)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Comments on Larrabee's book reviews 1927, undated - includes letters from author Will Durant, publisher M. Lincoln Schuster
Printed materials
Box 1 Articles, essays, tributes, etc. by Larrabee 1927, 1932-1937, 1942-1945, 1950-1964, 1967 (4 folders)
Box 1 Book, The Handbook of Political Fallacies, by Jeremy Bentham 1962 - signed and inscribed to SU by Larrabee
Box 1 Book, Reliable Knowledge, by Harold Larrabee 1945 - includes publicity/advertising material from publisher
Box 1 Book reviews 1933, 1939-1944, 1953-1955, 1959, 1964 - includes publicity/advertising material from publisher
Box 1 Miscellaneous by others 1938, 1953, 1963 - Bulletin of the AAUP, memorial tributes to Joseph Rotondo, Union College Symposium program (includes photo of Larrabee)
Writings
Box 1 Beginning Early 1919 - typescript of article; includes acceptance letter
Box 2 Bibliography of published writings 1967
Box 2 Decision on the Chesapeake undated - typescript (4 folders)
Box 2 Decision on the Chesapeake 1964 - reviews
Box 2 Dissertation 1925
Box 2 Dr. Knott's Duel 1939 - typescript; trifold printed version
Box 2 The Philosophical Foundations of the Social Theory of Henri de Saint-Simon 1925 - typescript of thesis, pp. 1-290 (3 folders)
Box 3 The Philosophical Foundations of the Social Theory of Henri de Saint-Simon 1925 - typescript of thesis, pp. 291-423 (2 folders)
Box 3 Reliable Knowledge, Experimental Edition 1940 - mimeographed typescript, bound
Box 3 Reliable Knowledge, Second Experimental Edition 1941 - mimeographed typescript, bound
Box 3 Remarks at the inauguration of T. V. Smith 1948 - typescript draft, heavily corrected and annotated
Box 3 Rhymes about College 1936 - original manuscript as sent to printer, including some pages that are clippings; printed edition
Box 3 The Story of Philosophy by Will and Ariel Durant, review 1926 - typescript draft of Larrabee's review with corrections; reprint of published version
Box 3 What Phliosophy Is 1928 - typescript carbon, with corrections (2 folders)

Return to top