Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Sidney Lanier Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Sidney Lanier Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1878-1940
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Contains published material and a small amount of miscellany about the American poet and musician. The collection does not contain anything by Lanier himself.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sidney Lanier (1842-1881) was an American poet and musician. He was a soldier in the Confederate army, a lawyer and a teacher before beginning to write poetry, and eventually joined the faculty at Johns Hopkins University where he lectured on the English novelists and Elizabethan and Anglo-Saxon poets. He took up the flute in the late 1870s or early 1880s, and for a time played with the Peabody Orchestra in Baltimore, Maryland. He was known for combining music and poetry in a proselike form known as logaoedic verse.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sidney Lanier Collection consists of published material about Sidney Lanier (nothing by him) and a small amount of miscellany about the American poet and musician. Included are several copies of a musical piece entitled "The Grasshopper: A Tragic Cantata." The connection of this piece to Lanier is unknown, as he is not listed as either the composer or the lyricist. The collection was likely accumulated by John S. Mayfield.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of published works by and about Sidney Lanier in both our regular and Rare Books holdings. Please search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Emmett, Chris, 1886-1971 -- The general and the poet.
Beeson, Leola Selman -- Sidney Lanier at Oglethorpe University.
Johnston, Albert Sidney, 1803-1862.
Lanier, Sidney, 1842-1881.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983 -- Sidney Lanier in Texas.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983 -- Sidney Lanier's immoral bird.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983 -- Some new facts concerning Sidney Lanier in Florida.
Randolph, Innes, 1837-1887 -- The grasshopper: a tragic cantata.

Subjects

American poetry -- 19th century.
American poetry -- Southern States.

Places

Georgia -- Intellectual life -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Printing plates.
Sheet music.

Occupations

Biographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sidney Lanier Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 11 Oct 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Published material
Box 1 The general and the poet, Chris Emmett 1940 - comparative biographical sketches of Sidney Lanier and General Albert Sidney Johnston; signed and inscribed to John S. Mayfield
Box 1 The grasshopper: a tragic cantata, Innes Randolph 1878 - multiple copies, various sizes and colors
Box 1 Sidney Lanier's immoral bird, John S. Mayfield May-June 1935 - reprint from The American Book Collector (3 copies)
Box 1 Sidney Lanier at Oglethorpe University, Leola Selman Beeson 1936 - signed and inscribed to John S. Mayfield
Box 1 Sidney Lanier in Texas, John S. Mayfield 1932 (2 copies)
Box 1 Some new facts concerning Sidney Lanier in Florida, John S. Mayfield Nov 1935 - reprint from The Johns Hopkins Alumni Magazine
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Correspondence 1935, 1940 - Mayfield and publishers
Box 1 Printing plates - small copper plates, backed with wood blocks; portrait of Lanier with dates (5 items)

Return to top