Finding Aids
printer friendly version

David A. Kyle Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kyle, David A.
Title: David A. Kyle Papers
Inclusive Dates: circa 1969-1974
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Typescript manuscript short stories.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David Kyle was an American author, science fiction short story writer, publisher and co-founder of Gnome Press. He also wrote under the name Kyle Ackerman.

His professional career in the field spans six decades; beginning as a writer and illustrator for pulp magazines, then as publisher, anthologist, illustrator, book designer, editor, and literary agent. In 1947 he and Martin Greenberg co-founded Gnome Press, the imprint that pioneered the first hardcover editions of works by such authors as Isaac Asimov, Sir Arthur C. Clarke, and Robert Howard. Kyle's own works include the award-winning A Pictorial History of Science Fiction and The Illustrated Book of Science Fiction Ideas and Dreams as well as three novels set in the Lensman universe (originated by E.E. "Doc" Smith in 1934) and many articles for various fanzines.

He has received several honors, among them First Fandom’s Science Fiction Hall of Fame; a special award from the British Science Fiction Association; and an award for Outstanding Achievement from The International Society of Science Fiction, Horror and Fantasy. He was included in Starlog's list of the "100 Most Important People in Science Fiction and Fantasy."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David A. Kyle Papers consists of manuscripts of short stories and essays.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kyle, David A.

Corporate Bodies

Gnome Press.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Publishers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David A. Kyle Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Jan 1967
Revision history: 17 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 29 Sep 2006 - inventory updated (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 "Who's Who in the East"
Manuscripts
Box 1 Base Ten - original
Box 1 Base Ten - revised
Box 1 Be It Ever So Humble
Box 1 Beanball Bugaboo
Box 1 Blood Relations
Box 1 Corpse for Sale - draft
Box 1 Corpse for Sale
Box 1 Count Ten
Box 1 Cupid Wore a Mustache (2 copies)
Box 1 Damn You, Max
Box 1 Death Thumbs a Ride
Box 1 Dictionary of Science Fiction: Introduction
Box 1 Dictionary of Science Fiction - draft
Box 1 My Love is Blind
Box 1 Ten-Pin Tycoon
Box 1 Three to Get Buried
Box 1 Too Many Heroes
Box 1 Touchdown Tyrant

Return to top