Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles H. Kuhn Collection

An inventory of his Collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kuhn, Charles Harris, 1892-1989
Title: Charles H. Kuhn Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1961-1966
Bulk dates: 1961-1962
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: 98 original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Grandma (1961-1962); 20 pieces of incoming correspondence from readers (1961-1966).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Harris Kuhn (1892-1989) was an American cartoonist and creator of the comic strip Grandma.

Born in 1892 in Prairie City, Illinois, Kuhn attended the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts before serving in the Navy during World War I. He spent most of his career primarily as an editorial cartoonist, starting his career with the Rocky Mountain News, and spending the bulk of it with the Indianapolis News. In 1947, Kuhn launched his own comic strip feature, Grandma, with the Richardson syndicate. King Features picked-up the strip the following year, and altogether Grandma ran some twenty-two years, until Kuhn's retirement in 1969.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles H. Kuhn Collection contains 62 original daily cartoons and 36 original Sunday cartoons from the comic strip Grandma (1961-1962). The collection also includes approximately 20 pieces of incoming reader correspondence (1961-1966). Daily cartoon: traces of graphite, zipatone, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 7 ½ x 23 ¼ in. Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, blue pencil, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 19 x 27 in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Daily and Sunday cartoons are arranged separately in chronological order. Correspondence is foldered.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kuhn, Charles Harris, 1892-1989.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Grandma (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles H. Kuhn Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles H. Kuhn, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EF
Date: 11 June 1968
Revision history: 9 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 14 Apr 2009 - revised (MD); 2 Mar 2012 - box numbers revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Grandma cartoons (98)
Click here for detailed inventory.
Daily cartoons (62)
Oversize 1 1961 Jan - 1962 Nov
Sunday cartoons (36)
Oversize 1 1962 Jan - 1962 Dec
Correspondence (approximately 20 items)
Oversize 1 1961-1966

Return to top