Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Krasner, Louis, 1903-1995.
Title: Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera
Inclusive Dates: unknown
Quantity: .3 linear ft. (88 items)
Abstract: Music-related ephemera collected by musician and Syracuse University music professor Louis Krasner
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Louis Krasner (1903-1995) was a renowned Ukrainian-born American classical violinist. He is perhaps best known for commissioning and premiering Alban Berg's famous violin concerto. He studied at the New England Conservatory and performed as a virtuoso recitalist in the 1920s and 1930s. In 1944 Krasner was named concertmaster of the Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra, a post he left in1949 to join the faculty of Syracuse University where he taught violin and chamber music until 1972. He was also an active contributor to local radio station WCNY, hosting a program featuring both classical and contemporary music entitled "What's With Music." He also taught at the New England Conservatory and at Tanglewood.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera comprises music-related ephemera from the 18th and 19th century collected by Louis Krasner, a Russian-born violinist and composer who taught violin and chamber music at Syracuse University from 1949-1972. The collection comprises bookplates, trade cards and concert programs, as well as several undated photographs and sketches (artist and photographer unknown).

Bookplates include those of several well-known musicians or collectors of music-related books and manuscripts: Sir Henry Ellacombe (1790-1885), a pioneer of campanology; Walter Parratt (1841-1924), premier organist of St. George's chapel; Henry Fleetwood Sheppard, precentor of the Doncaster Choral Union and collector of Devon and Cornwall folksongs; Sir John Stainer, chorister and organist at St. Paul's; Thomas Bever (1725-1791), lawyer and collector of rare books and manuscripts, particularly on music; Julian Marshall (1836-1903), English collector of and writer on music; Rev. William Gostling, a minor Canon of Canterbury cathedral and creator of a “curious and valuable” collection of music; Michael Christian Festing (1705-1752), English composer and violin virtuoso, Master of the King's Music, leader of the Philharmonic Society Orchestra and co-founder of the Royal Society of Musicians; and William Crotch (1775-1847), composer and teacher, organist at Christ Church in Oxford, and co-founder of Royal Academy of Music.

Trade cards and programs include that of Mr. Herring (“Harpsichord &c taught”); John Young, Musicall Instrument Seller; James Davenport, Music Seller; W.E. Hill and Sons, London; and the Theatre, Oxford (1818 and 1823).

Photographs include nyckelharpa and Indian instruments. Sketches include African instruments; Chinese street musicians; and Assyrian musicians playing various instruments.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Krasner, Louis, 1903-1995

Subjects

Bookplates, English.
Library bookplates.
Music in art.
Musicians.

Genres and Forms

Bookplates.
Photographs.
Sketches.
Trade cards.

Occupations

Book collectors.
Musicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Krasner Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera ,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Donated by Louis Krasner

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 17 Jan 2006
Revision history: 23 Jan 2006 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Bookplates
Box 1 Bookplates from musicians, music libraries, collectors of music and music-related books

1 HSI
2 Kate Lee
3 Henry Thomas Ellacombe
4 Walter Parratt
5 John Bishop of Cheltenham
6 J. Archer, Oxford
7-8 James E. Matthew
9-10 Reverend Sir George Lee, Baronet
11 R. E Brandt
12 Thos. Gaisford
13 Johannis Bumpus
14 Alexander Meyrick Broadley
15 Henry Fleetwood Sheppard
16 Wm. Gostling
17-19 Robert Buchanan Stewart
20 “Early, before 1323”
21-24 Juliani [Julian] Marshall
25-27 Sir John Stainer
28 T. W. Bourne
29 A. Merrick
30 F. G. Edwards
31 Richard Greene Lichfield
32 F. J. Morrell
33-34 Thomas Bever, LLD
35 Gray’s Inn Library
36 [unknown]
37 William Crotch
38-39 The Henry Watson Musical Library [Manchester, UK]
40 Michael Christ. [Christian] Festing
Trade cards and programs
Box 1 Trade cards - Advertisements from music teachers, music dealers, musical instrument makers

41 Mr. Herring
42 John Young, Musicall Instrument Seller
43-45 James Davenport, Music Seller [Oxford]
46 Tony Bingham [London]
47 Hymne des Marscillois et Air Militaire [London]
48 Longman & Broderip [London]
49-50 W. E. Hill & Sons [London]
51 W. M. Cahufac, Mufical Inftrument Maker [London]
52 Hardy [Oxford]
Box 1 Programs

53 Concert of Ancient Vocal and Instrumental Music
54 For the Benefit of M. Banti
55 Dramatic Institution [ticket]
56-57 Theater, Oxford
58 Sacharifsa
Photographs
Box 1 Photographs of musical instruments

59 Swedish nyckelharpa
60 Indian derivatives from musical bows
61 14th century cope converted into altar hanging
Sketches and drawings
Box 1 Pen and ink sketches and drawings

62-65 [African instruments]
66 Pouque [conch shell]
67 Gallery of Musicians seated at the entry of the Earl of Leicester into the Hague 1585
68-69 Street musicians Tien-Sin
70 Miserere [?] in Exeter Cathedral
71 [frieze or relief carving?]
72 Les Enfans de Choeur desdites Eglises, representez par ce nombre
73-88 [Assyrian musicians and musical instruments]

Return to top