Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jean Kordalewski Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kordalewski, Jean B.
Title: Jean Kordalewski Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1971-1990
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, conference material, proposals, reports, most concerning the Regional Learning Service (RLS) of which Kordalewski was the first executive director, and the Education Information Centers (EIC) set up by the RLS.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jean Kordalewski was a pioneer in the field of adult education, particularly in the areas of connecting people with educational information and services, and widening their options through education, career and job counseling. She was a consultant for and later the first executive director of the Regional Learning Service (RLS), which today (2006) is the RLS Career Center and which provides assistance and information to adults wishing to find, change or improve their employment. RLS began as a project of the Syracuse Research Corporation in 1974; Kordalewski was instrumental in establishing it as an independent, non-profit agency. She also worked on various projects aiming to recognize non-traditional learning such as the External High School Diploma program and the External Degree Program.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jean Kordalewski Papers reflects Kordalewski's interest in a wide range of adult and continuing education issues, particularly her work with the Regional Learning Service (RLS) and Education Information Centers (EICs) in Central New York.

Correspondence-subject files contains letters, proposals, meeting minutes and other material relating to a variety of adult and continuing education activities such as the External High School Diploma, the External Degree Program, relevant state legislation, Guidance Team Training, and more. Conferences and workshops includes correspondence and conference material from conferences which Kordalewski organized, participated in, or presented at; of particular interest are the EIC Training Workshops which cover a number of relevant issues for EIC personnel such as serving special-needs population and publicizing the value of EICs; and the Regents' Regional Conferences. The Education Information Center (EIC) series, arranged chronologically to better represent the evolution of the EICs, includes client surveys, reports, summative evaluations, project descriptions and more. The Regional Learning Service (RLS) series includes two proposals for funding, press releases for a regular Madison County newspaper column, weekly reports, and an important paper by Stephen K. Bailey and Francis U. Macy, "Regional Learning Service: A Design for Educational Flexibility" (1974). (Bailey, a New York State Regent and Chairman of Syracuse Research Corporation's Policy Institute, and Macy, also of the Policy Institute, formulated the notion of a brokering service that would provide career and educational counseling to adults; one result of this was the RLS.) Four folders of Miscellaneous printed material complete the collection.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

In particular, additional information on External Degree Programs may be found in the Council on the Continuing Education Unit (CCEU) Records. A small amount of material on the Regional Learning Service may be found in the Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) Records.

The circulating collection has a copy of Jean Kordalewski's The Regional Learning Service : an experiment in freeing up lives. Please use the Classic Catalog to locate it.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kordalewski, Jean B.

Corporate Bodies

Regional Learning Service of Central New York.

Subjects

Adult education.
Alternative education.
Continuing education.
Counseling in adult education
Educational consultants.
Vocational guidance.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Minutes.
Proposals.
Reports.
Workshops (seminars)

Occupations

Adult education teachers.
Teachers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jean Kordalewski Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jean Kordalewski, 1994.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 30 May 2006
Revision history: 19 Jul 2006 - minor changes to subject headings (MRR); 10 Jan 2007 - additions, reboxed (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Advisory Council on Adult Learning Services 1978
Box 1 Community Council on Careers 1978-1979
External Degree Program
Box 1 Areas of competency 1971 (2 folders)
Box 1 Clippings 1972-1973, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1985-1986, 1990, undated
Box 1 Correspondence 1973-1992
Box 1 Newsletters 1971-1972, 1977
Printed material (photocopies)
External High School Diploma Program
Box 1 "Alternative paths to the high school diploma" (Stephen Bailey, Francis Macy, Donn Vickers) (2 folders)
Box 1 Proposal 1973
Box 1 Reports 1975-1976
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Guidance Team Training 1980
Box 2 "The Heavenly Seven" 1978-1979 - informal name of an organization formed of alumnae from the Seven Sister schools (Bryn Mawr, Wellesley, Radcliffe, Barnard, Mount Holyoke, Vassar, Smith) focused on womens' careers; bulk concerns "DIRECTIONS," a workshop offered by the group in Sep 1979
Box 2 Higher Education Library Advisory Service (HELAS) project 1977?
Box 2 Kellogg Foundation 1977
See also Regional Learning Service (RLS): Proposal to Kellogg Foundation
Box 2 Legislation 1983, 1988 - legislation to continue funding for Education Information Centers (EICs)
Box 2 New York State Plan for Career Education 1979 - covers elementary, secondary, post-secondary
Proposals
Box 2 "Establishment of an Educational Opportunity Center in Central New York" 1974
Box 2 "Projects in Womens' Counseling and Educational Change" 1977
Box 2 "Recognizing Adult Education in Onondaga County" (exhibit) 1991-1992
Box 2 Syracuse Research Corporation affirmative action plan 1977
Box 2 Women's Project 1981
Conferences and workshops
Box 2 EIC Training Workshop 1988, 1989, 1990 (5 folders)
See also Education Information Centers (EICs)
Box 3 Literacy teleconference 1984-1985
Box 3 "Next Century" seminar 1982-1983
Box 3 Regents' Regional Conference 1977-1984 (6 folders)
Education Information Center (EIC)
See also Conferences and workshops: EIC Training Workshop
Box 3 1978 "New York State Plan for the Administration of the Education Information Center"
Box 3 1980 EIC Advisory Committee meeting
Box 3 1982 Annual report
Box 3 1983 Client survey tally
Box 3 1983 Evaluation and progress report
Box 3 1983 Summative evaluation report
Box 3 1984 Press release
Box 3 1984-1985 Project description
Box 3 1985 Final report
Box 3 1986-1987 Project description
Box 3 1988-1989 Plans
Box 3 Project description undated
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Regional Learning Service (RLS)
Box 4 Madison County newspaper column 1979
Box 4 Overview undated
Box 4 Proposal to Carnegie Corporation 1977
Box 4 Proposal to Kellogg Foundation 1977
See also Correspondence-subject files: Kellogg Foundation
Reports
Box 4 "Evaluation Planning Site Visit Note" (Seeley, John A.) 1983
Box 4 "Home Management and Human Service Competencies" (Nickse, Ruth S. et al) 1975
Box 4 "Regional Learning Service: A Design for Educational Flexibility" (Bailey, Stephen K. and Macy, Francis U.) 1974
Box 4 "Rural Women Activity Report" (Simberg, B. Marion) undated
Box 4, 5 Weekly reports 1978-1980 (3 folders)
Box 5 Women's Career Handbook 1974
Miscellaneous
Printed material
Box 5 "Federal Programs Authorizing Educational and Occupational Information Services" (Christoffel, Pamela et al) 1978
Box 5 "History of Occupational and Continuing Education in New York State" (presentation by Poczik, Robert) undated
Box 5 New York State Goals for Adult Learning Services (University of the State of New York, State Education Department) 1981
Box 5 Recognition of Nontraditional Educational Experience (University of the State of New York, State Education Department) 1987

Return to top