Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Knipe, Irvin Poley.
Title:	Irvin Poley Knipe Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1858-1932
Quantity:	1 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence of the Pennsylvania attorney.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Irvin Knipe was an attorney and Republican Party official in Norristown, Pennsylvania. He was born 22 Feb 1866 in Norristown, Montgomery, Pa, died 20 Jan 1930 in Norristown, Montgomery, Pa; married to (1) Margaret R. Richardson 23 Feb 1899 and (2) Anna Elizabeth Lovett. He was a partner in the law firm of Wanger and Knipe with Irving P. Wanger who served from 1893 to 1911 in the United States House of Representatives.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Irvin Poley Knipe Papers consists of correspondence and a small amount of miscellanea.

Correspondence contains general correspondence from the law firm of Wanger and Knipe as well as family correspondence.

Miscellaneous consists of a log of expenses of the estate of Edward Hough Trotter and some loose pages from a book on printing.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

General correspondence is arranged chronologically with the bulk being from the years 1907, 1920 and 1922.

Family correspondence is arranged alphabetically.

Miscellaneous is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Irvin Poley Knipe Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history: 20 Dec 2018 - Processed (PRB)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		General 1858, 1863
Box 1		General 1870-1879
Box 1		General 1906
Box 1		General 1907 (8 folders)
Box 1		General 1908-1910
Box 1		General 1917-1919
Box 1		General 1920 (2 folders)
Box 2		General 1921
Box 2		General 1922 (4 folders)
Box 2		General 1929-1932
Box 2		General undated
		Family correspondence
Box 2			Knipe, George 1922
Box 2			Knipe, Jay C. 1920
Box 2			Knipe, Norman L. 1920
Box 2			Knipe, R. Laura 1911, 1920
Box 2			Ogden, Emily P. 1920
Box 2			Ogden, Winston K. 1920-1922
Box 2			Poley, Helen 1922
Box 2			Poley, Horace S. 1922
Box 2			Poley, Warren H. 1921-1922
Box 2			Ralston, Emily R. 1922

	Miscellaneous
Box 2		Expenditures of the estate of William Hough Trotter 1872-1896
Box 2		Loose pages from a book on printing undated

Return to top