Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt

An inventory of her collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kleinhans, Thelma Burnett Curley.
Title: Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt
Inclusive Dates: 1926-1962
Quantity: 16 items (SC)
Abstract: Letters and memoranda
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1926 to 1962, the Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt contains 16 items, including nine letters of the then trustee of the Georgia Warm Springs Foundation and future President of the United States. A memorandum written by former Surgeon-in-Chief LeRoy W. Hubbard certifies that in 1926 and 1927 Thelma Burnett was a member of the physiotherapy staff of the "center for the study and after-treatment of poliomyelitis (infantile paralysis)." The early Roosevelt letters thank Miss Burnett for her service at the center and indicate pleasure in securing her for subsequent periods after she had married and re-located to Syracuse, N.Y.

The letters after 1927 refer to Roosevelt's political campaigns, and a single letter (18 Oct. 1928) from Eleanor Roosevelt on behalf of the Democratic National Committee suggests:

"Perhaps you will go to hear my husband when he speaks in Syracuse, and you may find yourself more interested in Smith than you now are in Hoover. "

Letters which originated from the White House during the 1940s are signed by Private Secretary Grace G. Tully.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.

Corporate Bodies

Georgia Warm Springs Foundation.

Subjects

Physical therapy.
Poliomyelitis.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memoranda.

Occupations

Physical therapists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Spector and William Pearson Tolley

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Nov 1996
Revision history: 8 Feb 2006 - EAD file created (MRR); 13 Jun 2007 - updated inventory to SC format (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 127 undated LeRoy W. Hubbard, M.D. memorandum: "To Whom It May Concern"
SC 127 undatedFranklin D. Roosevelt to Miss Burnett
SC 127 1926 Aug. 24 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Miss Burnett
SC 127 1926 Nov. 1 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Miss Burnett
SC 127 1927 Jan. 24 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Miss Helena T. Mahoney
SC 127 1928 Aug. 6 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Mr. and Mrs. John Curley ("Dear Jack and Thelma")
SC 127 1928 Oct. 18 Eleanor Roosevelt to Mrs. John Curley ("Dear Mrs. Curley")
SC 127 1928 Oct. 27 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Mr. and Mrs. John Curley ("My dear Curleys")
SC 127 1930 Dec. 24 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Mrs. John J. Curley ("My dear Thelma")
SC 127 1932 July 16 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Mrs. John Curley ("Dear Thelma")
SC 127 1932 Aug. 2 Franklin D. Roosevelt to Mrs. John Curley ("Dear Thelma")
SC 127 1941 Oct. 23 Grace G. Tully to Mrs. Curley ("Dear Mrs. Curley") (photocopy)
SC 127 1944 Jan. 14 Allen L. Dewey to Thelma B. Curley ("Dear Lt. Curley")
SC 127 1944 Mar. 13 Grace G. Tully to Thelma B. Curley ("Dear Lieutenant Curley")
SC 127 1944 Apr. 12 Grace G. Tully to Thelma Curley ("My dear Lieutenant Curley")
SC 127 1962 Jan. 29 White House envelope to Mrs. Thelma Kleinhans, Executive Director, United Cerebral Palsy and Handicapped Children's Association of Syracuse, Inc.

Return to top