Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

I. Klein Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Klein, I.
Title: I. Klein Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1926-1981
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Jewish cartoonist, animator. Correspondence (most with Jim Carmichael, editor of The Peg Board, monthly paper of Hollywood's Motion Picture Screen Cartoonists Local 839); ca. 200 original political and comic cartoons; animation work; articles by Klein, and a diary.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

I. (Isidore) Klein (1897-1986) was a Jewish American cartoonist and animator. Born in Newark, New Jersey, he studied at the National Academy of New York and the Art Students League, and began his career drawing cartoons for silent movies. He went on to work on Mutt and Jeff and Krazy Kat cartoons and for educational and promotional films, but returned to cartoon animation in the late 1920s when sound was developed for films.

Over his career Klein worked for several significant animation studios including Van Beuren Studios, Screen Gems, Hal Seeger Productions, and Walt Disney, often writing as well as animating. For several years he was an animator and writer for Paul Terry's Terry-Toons studio, drawing popular characters such as Mighty Mouse and Farmer Al Falfa. In the 1940s he moved to Paramount's Famous Studios where he wrote for several animated series including Casper, Little Audrey, Little Lulu, and Popeye. In the 1960s Klein began animating, producing and directing his own work as a freelancer for several studios including Famous. He worked on many theatrical cartoon shorts and television shows, and was key animator for Beetle Bailey and for Hal Seeger's The Milton the Monster Show.

In addition to his cartoon work, Klein produced animated television commercials, political and comical illustrations for major publications including Common Sense, New Masses, New Yorker, Colliers, and Life, and wrote articles for various trade journals. He was active in his union, Motion Picture Screen Cartoonists Local 841 in New York City, serving on the Executive Board and twice as President, and as editor of Top Cel, the union's monthly paper. He also contributed several articles to the multi-volume Walt's People, about the Disney Studios.

He is sometimes credited as I. Klein, Izzy Klein, and I. Klien.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The I. Klein Papers contains artwork, correspondence, memorabilia, writings, and one item of miscellany.

Artwork includes cartoons for Collier's, Common Sense, Life, New Masses, and the New Yorker; illustrations for Top Cel, the monthly paper of Motion Picture Screen Cartoonists Local 841 in New York City of which Klein was editor; drawings for Hal Seeger's Milton the Monster show; and two exhibit catalogs and a poster for "We the People."

The bulk of Correspondence is between I. Klein and Jim Carmichael, Klein's friend and editor of The Peg Board, monthly paper of Motion Picture Screen Cartoonists Local 839 in Hollywood, California. There are a few letters from Walt Disney, as well as correspondence with various magazines and publishers. Klein contributed some cartoons to an exhibit of the cartoon in wartime, and there is some correspondence with the War Cartoons Committee on this topic.

Memorabilia consists of two clippings and an interview with Klein and his wife, artist Ann Klein, on the work of Louis Lozowick.

Writings consists mainly of published articles on various topics related to animation and cartooning, including reminiscences of his years at Disney Studios, profiles of Milt Gross and Bill Tytla, reflections on sex in cartoons (specifically Fritz the Kat). Also included here is Klein's account of a potential split in Local 841 in 1968-1969.

A chronology of World War II events comprises Miscellany.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Klein, I.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Animation (Cinematography)
Animators -- United States.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Jews, American.

Places

United States -- Civilization, 1918-1945 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government, 1901-1953 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Editorial cartoons.
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

I. Klein Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: Apr 2008
Revision history: 9 Aug 2012 - oversize box numbers revised; additional material integrated (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork
Oversize 1 Collier's - illustrations (7 items)
Box 2 Common Sense 1932-1934 - bound scrapbook of clippings; title page signed I. Klein (15 pages)
Oversize 1 Life - illustrations (4 items)
Oversize 2 "Milton the Monster" - drawings for television show (149 drawings)
Oversize 2 New Masses - cartoons, scrapbook of illustrations (4 items)
Oversize 1 New Yorker 1930-1934 - illustrations (15 items)
Oversize 2 Top Cel 1971-1973 - cartoons (7 items)
Oversize 1 "We the People" - 2 catalogs, 1 poster
Correspondence
Box 1 Bush, Martin 1969
Box 1 Carmichael, Jim 1969-1980 (11 folders)
Box 1 Collier's (magazine) 1929-1942 (gaps) - includes reproductions and clippings
Box 2 Committee on War Cartoons 1942-1943
Box 2 Common Sense 1932-1933 - Selden Rodman and Afred Bingham, editors
Box 2 Disney, Walt 1954, 1957
Box 2 Englander, Otto 1940-1969
Box 2 New York American (newspaper) 1931-1934 - includes reproductions and clippings
Box 2 United State Congress (various) 1975 - concerning raise in communication rates; includes original cartoon
Box 2 Miscellaneous publishers
Memorabilia
Box 2 Clippings
Box 2 Interview with Ann and I. Klein on Louis Lozowick (by Virginia Marquardt) 1979
Writings
Box 2 "Animation controversy" 1965
Box 2 "Diary of my hospitalization at Beth Israel Medical Center" 1978
Box 2 "An Explosive Situation in the Screen Cartoonists Local 841" 1968-1969
Box 2 "Golden Age animator Vladimir (Bill) Tytla" 1970
Box 2 "Memories of Milt Gross" 1972
Box 2 "No '3 Little Pigs' to the Rescue: Concerning the Van Beuren Studio in New York City", Cartoonist Profiles, Dec 1976 (photocopy)
Box 2 "Pioneer animated cartoon producer Charles R. Bowers" 1975
Box 2 "Reminiscences" 1970 - Disney Studio
Box 2 "The Sex Explosion in Animated Cartoons" 1974
Box 2 Top Cel monthly paper Nov 1968 - Jun 1974
Box 2 "A Vision of Katzenjammers" 1972
Box 2 "When Walt Disney Took Another Giant Step", Cartoonist Profiles, Mar 1977 (photocopy)
Box 2 "Winsor McCay" 1960
Box 2 "Your travels can be a good source of gags" 1981
Miscellaneous
Box 2 War chronology (World War II)

Return to top