Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Rudyard Kipling Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kipling, Rudyard, 1865-1936.
Title: Rudyard Kipling Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1883-1967
Quantity: 13.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the British author, novelist, poet, journalist. Includes correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the British author as well as research material from a number of private collections. Correspondence, totaling over 950 items (over 750 authored by Kipling) and spanning 1889-1935, includes incoming and outgoing letters as well as third-party correspondence. Writings include holographic and/or typescript manuscripts and published versions of Kipling's prose, speeches, verse and dramatic works as well as production records, notes, and miscellany. Memorabilia consists of legal material, photographs, portraits and caricatures, printed materials sketches by Kipling, writings by other, and miscellany. Also included are three small collections of Kipling material formerly owned by H.H. and S.S. McClure, E.W. Martindell, and Alan D. Wilson.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph Rudyard Kipling (1865–1936) was an English author and poet. His best-known works include the novels and short story collections The Jungle Book (1894), Just So Stories (1902), Puck of Pook's Hill (1906), and Kim (1901), as well as a number of poems such as "Mandalay" (1890), "Gunga Din" (1890), and "If—" (1910).

Kipling was born in Bombay, India, into an artistic family: his father was a sculptor, pottery designer, and professor of architectural sculpture and two of his aunts were married to painters (Georgiana to Edward Burne-Jones and Agnes to Edward Poynter). At the age of six and he his sister were sent back to England to school, as was common with the children of British colonial India. After six unsatisfactory years with a Mr. and Mrs. Holloway, Rudyard and Trix were taken in by their aunt Georgiana.

Kipling attended the United Services College in Devon and then went to Lahore in what is now Pakistan to become assistant editor of a small newspaper. In addition to editing, Kipling contributed a great many stories to the paper (approximately 39 in one year) and several travel sketches. In 1889 Kipling returned to London via a roundabout eight-month journey that took him to Rangoon, Singapore, Hong Kong and Japan, and various cities in the United States and Canada. Upon his arrival in London he began building a reputation as a writer, publishing two novels in two years along with several short stories.

In 1892 Kipling married Carrie Balestier and shortly thereafter the couple moved to the United States, settling in Vermont, where Kipling began writing the Jungle Book stories and produced four novels in four years. In July 1899, despite their pleasant life in Vermont, Kipling decided to return to England and came to Torquay on the Devon coast. Kipling soon earned a reputation as "the poet of the Empire" and when he and his family paid a Christmas visit to the British colonies in South Africa (which became an annual tradition) they were warmly received.

In 1907 Kipling was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature "in consideration of the power of observation, originality of imagination, virility of ideas and remarkable talent for narration which characterize the creations of this world-famous author," becoming the first English-language recipient.

After World War I, during which Kipling's only son John was killed, he wrote (1923) a two-volume history of his son's regiment, the Irish Guards, which is considered to be one of the finest examples of regimental history. He also became a "roving correspondent" for the British press. Among his other occupations, in 1922 he developed "The Ritual of the Calling of an Engineer" for the University of Toronto, a statement of duties and responsibilities to be recited by graduates in engineering; the ritual is sometimes called the Kipling Ritual and is still in use today. In 1925 he became Lord Rector of St. Andrews University in Scotland, though his writing began to slow somewhat in the late 1920s and early 1930s.

Kipling died in 1936 and his ashes were interred in Poet's Corner in Westminster Abbey, in the company of other luminaries of British literature including Geoffrey Chaucer, Edmund Spenser, Charles Dickens, Thomas Hardy, and Alfred Lord Tennyson.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rudyard Kipling Collection contains the papers of the British author, novelist, poet, and journalist, as well as three small collections of Kipling material formerly owned by H.H. and S.S. McClure, E.W. Martindell, and Alan D. Wilson.

Correspondence contains more than 950 items (over 750 authored by Kipling) and spanning 1889-1935, includes incoming and outgoing letters as well as third-party correspondence. Writings include holographic and/or typescript manuscripts and published versions of Kipling's prose, speeches, verse and dramatic works as well as production records, notes, and miscellany. Memorabilia consists of legal material, photographs, portraits and caricatures, printed materials sketches by Kipling, writings by other, and miscellany.

McClure material contains correspondence (7 items), writings (including notes on Kipling's lawsuit against Putnam), and memorabilia (clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous).

E.W. Martindell material contains correspondence (1 item), writings (including 29 uncollected Kipling verses), and memorabilia (clippings with a short explanatory piece by Martindell).

Alan D. Wilson material consists of correspondence (15+ items), writings about Kipling, and memorabilia relating to Wilson.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Outgoing and incoming correspondence is arranged chronologically. Third-party correspondence (neither from nor to Kipling) is arranged alphabetically by sender. Writings and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type. The three smaller collections are arranged alphabetically by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search SUMMIT, our main catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kipling, Caroline, 1865-1939.
Kipling, Elsie.
Kipling, John Lockwood, 1837-1911.
Kipling, Rudyard, 1865-1936.
McClure, H. H.
McClure, S. S. (Samuel Sidney), 1857-1949.

Corporate Bodies

S.S. McClure Company (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Dramatists, English.
English literature -- 19th century.
English literature -- 20th century.
English literature -- Illustrations.
English literature -- Manuscripts.
English poetry -- Manuscripts.
Journalists -- England.
Novelists, English.
Poets, English.
War stories, English.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Catalogs.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Illustrations.
Juvenilia.
Photographs.
Poems.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.
Telegrams.

Occupations

Authors.
Dramatists.
Journalists.
Novelists.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rudyard Kipling Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchases, gifts of Chancellor William Pearson Tolley, David J. Holmes, Lisa Lewis.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Mar 1993
Revision history: 20 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 7 Apr 2015 - amended date on Henley letter (MRC); 5 May 2017 - Goodchild items added, abbreviations expanded (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Outgoing
Box 1 1889 Jan Mr. G. Hooper - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 [1890] Elizabeth Bisland - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 [1890?] William Ernest Henley - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 [1892?] William Ernest Henley - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Mar 2 Mr. A. P. Watt - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Mar 4 Fitzroy Bell - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Mar 5 Fitzroy Bell - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Mar 11 Fitzroy Bell - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 May ? Agnes Macdonald Poynter - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 May 17 [ ] Jilbert - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Jun 12 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Aug 13 A. P. Watt - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1890 Dec 6 Edmund Gosse - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1891 Apr 30 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1891 May 14 Norman McColl - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1891 Aug Lady Pollock - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1891 Aug 12 [Fitzroy] Bell - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1891 Dec 5 John S. Lee - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1892 Jan 18 William Ernest Henley - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1892 Jan 30 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1892 Feb 9 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1892 Sep 25 Mr. Gilder - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1892 Nov 10 Richard Harding Davis - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Mar 19 D. Appleton & Co. - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 May 22 W. J. Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Jun 22 [Herbert] Stephen - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Jul 21 Association of American Authors - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Jul 23 Youth's Companion - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Oct 5 Guy Newell Boothby - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Oct 24 Miss E. M. Willard - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Dec 10 Corpl. J. H. Cooke - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Dec 10 S. McClure - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1893 Dec 10 Edward Lucas White - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 [1894] Elliott & Fry - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Mar 9 Mr. [Frank Hall] Scott - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Jun 4 J. Stuart - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Aug 17 Scribner's Magazine - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Aug 21 [Edward L. Burlingame] - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Aug 24 Mary Mapes Dodge - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Aug 27 T. Fisher Unman - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Sep 2 Mary Mapes Dodge - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Sep 6 Mary Mapes Dodge - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 [1894? Sep 22] Mary Mapes Dodge - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Nov 16 E. M. Camp - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Nov 16 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Dec 4 D. O. Melville - autograph letter, signed
Box 1 1894 Dec 12 George W. Melville - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Apr 3 Charles Eliot Norton - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Apr 10 Mr. [J. L.] Nourse - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Jun 14 Paul Wyatt - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Jul 24 Paul Wyatt - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Jul 29 Paul Wyatt - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Sep 24 Messrs Smith & Winchester - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Nov 23 W. Hallett Phillips - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1895 Dec 22 Miss Conant - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Mar 14 Robert Barr - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Apr 7 Alan D. Wilson - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 May 10 Rufus Fairchild Zogbaum - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 May 27 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 May 31 Rufus Fairchild Zogbaum - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Jul 28 Reuben Best Co. - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Aug 24 H. H. McClure - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Oct 29 Edith Nesbit Bland - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Nov 2 Robert Barr - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Nov 7 Robert Barr - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1896 Nov 8 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 [1897 Jan 24] H. Mineloz - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1897 Mar 1 Mary Mapes Dodge - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 [1897 May 20] William A. Fraser - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1897 [May/June] Mr. Adee - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1897 Jun 23 George Allen - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1897 Aug 22 Mrs. George E. Buckle - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 [1897 Late Aug] Miss Blogg - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1897 Sep 10 [Edward] Burlingame - ALS copy
Box 2 1897 Dec 2 George E. Buckle - autograph letter, signed
Box 2 1897 Dec 2 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Jan 20 Bruno Lessing - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 May 20 Mr. Spearing - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Jul 11 W. Woods - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1898 Jul 23 Walter Besant - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Aug 14 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Sep 23 Frank Bullen - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1898 [Oct] Frank Bullen - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Nov 11 Frank Bullen - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Nov 12 Mrs. Sington - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1898 Nov 25 Frank Bullen - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Dec 5 Mrs. [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1898 Dec 6 Mrs. Armitage - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1899 Copeland Kell - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 [1899?] H. H. McClure - telegram
Box 3 circa 1899 Mr. [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 H. H. McClure (signed "Doubleday") - telegram
Box 3 1899 H. H. McClure (signed "S. S. McClure") - telegram
Box 3 1899 Jan 19 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Feb 6 Rufus Fairchild Zogbaum - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Feb 13 Arthur Brentano - Brentanos - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Feb 18 H. H. McClure - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Mar-Apr [The Press] - ALS (draft)
Box 3 1899 Sep 19 The New York Press - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Sep 22 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Oct 19 [Vernon Blackburn?] - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Nov 29 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1899 Dec 23 Caspar Whitney - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1899 Dec 29 Mrs. Trotter - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1900 Jan 1 Mr. and Mrs. Frederick W. Childs - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1900 Jan 2 H. H. McClure - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1900 May 28 W. French - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1900 Jun 21 [Sir Frederick James Mirrielees] - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1900 Jun 21 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - autograph card, signed
Box 3 1900 Aug 20 C. W. N. Rolfe - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1900 Aug 24 C. W. N. Rolfe - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1900 Sep 21 J. Watson - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1900 Oct 16 Sir Henry Fletcher - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1900 Oct 30 Augustus Gurlitz - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1900 Nov 4 C. W. N. Rolfe - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Jan 24 [ ] Heathcote - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Apr 16 A. E. Wayt - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 May 16 Mr. Walker - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 May 19 A. E. Wayt - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 May 23 Augustus Gurlitz - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 May 24 H. H. McClure - copy
Box 3 1901 May 30 H. H. McClure - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 May 30 Mr. Walker - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Jun 13 Augustus Gurlitz - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Jun 29 Augustus Gurlitz - TLS, ALS
Box 3 1901 Jun 29 Mr. Walker - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Jul 1 John S. Arkwright - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Aug 8 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Aug 14 Mr. Walker - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Aug 21 Miss Maury - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Sep 1 Bruce M. Falconer - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Sep 21 G. Matheson - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Nov 16 Mrs. Guthrie - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Dec 4 Guy Newell Boothby - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1901 Dec 14 [ ] Rutter - typed letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Mar 23 Capt. Morton Riter - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Apr 16 A. E. Wayt - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Jun 6 George E. Buckle - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Jul 17 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Jul 23 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Aug 16 J. Smith - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Aug 21 W. J. Smith - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Sep 24 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Sep 25 Mr. Matheson - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Sep 29 Lady Edward Cecil - typed letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Oct 8 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Oct 19 Ambrose Poynter - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Nov 3 F. E. James - typed letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Nov 15 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 3 1902 Dec 3 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1903 May 13 W. J. Smith - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1903 Jul 9 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1903 Aug 16 Augustus Gurlitz - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1903 Sep 22 Leigh Canney - TLS copy
Box 4 1903 Dec 7 Mrs. Trotter - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1903 Dec 11 A. B. Filson Young - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Mar 22 A. B. Filson Young - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Jul 16 Mr. [Alfred J. Warne] Browne - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Sep 29 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Oct 10 Mr. Leonard - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Oct 25 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Nov 22 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1904 Nov 22 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Nov 24 W. J. Smith - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Nov 27 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Nov 28 A. B. Filson Young - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1904 Nov 29 Mr. Smith - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Jan 3 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Feb 21 George Baldwin - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 May 9 R. Malleson - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 May 22 Mr. Leonard - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Jun 21 Edward Noble - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Jul 5 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Jul 28 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Aug 26 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Oct 4 Mr. Tomalin - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Nov 15 Mrs. Nesbitt - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Dec 4 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Dec 16 Mrs. Frank N. Doubleday - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Dec 16 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1905 Dec 21 [Albert] Hunt - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1905 Dec 21 Sir Algernon Methuen - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Feb 14 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Mar 22 E. Elliott Frost - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 [1906] Mar 27 George Baldwin - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 May 15 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Jul 4 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Jul 24 Mr. Cope - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Sep 20 Reginald Haines - typed letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Oct 14 [Charles] Scribner - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 [1906 Nov] Claude Flight - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1906 Nov 13 Claude Flight - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1906 Nov 23 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1906 Dec 10 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 Mar 27 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 May 3 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 Jun 17 Edward William Bok - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1907 Jul 18 Mrs. T. J. B. Nicholson - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1907 Aug 23 H. H. McClure - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1907 Aug 23 J. Watson - APCS
Box 4 1907 Sep 12 Henry Pegram - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 Oct H. H. McClure - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 Oct 12 T. Sothern Holland - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 Nov 9 Douglas Murray - autograph letter, signed
Box 4 1907 Nov 9 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph card, signed
Box 4 1907 Nov 26 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box (Adds) 1907 Dec 7 Henry Wymyss Feilden
Box 4 1907 Dec 17 Henry Pegram - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1908 Sunday Lady Edward Cecil - autograph note, signed
Box 5 1908 Jan 21 Mr. Garlick - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Feb 16 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Mar 11 Mrs. Armitage - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Mar 11 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Apr 8 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 May 25 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 May 30 Claude Flight - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Jun 23 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Jun 30 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Jul 4 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Jul 8 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph note, signed
Box 5 1908 Jul 14 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Jul 30 [Stephen William] Black - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Aug 4 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Aug 12 [Mr.] Leonard - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 [Aug 18] Mrs. Leonard - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Oct 8 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Oct 14 Mr. Leonard - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Oct 17 A. J. Connabeer - typed letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Oct 29 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Nov 17 Mr. Brand - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Nov 20 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Nov 26 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Dec 2 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph note, signed
Box 5 [1908?] Dec 21 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1908 Dec 26 Sir Algernon Methuen - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Jan 10 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Jan 29 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 [1909 Mar] James Rennell Rodd - autograph note, signed
Box 5 1909 Mar 4 James Rennell Rodd - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Mar 9 James Rennell Rodd - autograph note, signed
Box 5 1909 Apr 2 James Rennell Rodd - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Apr 6 Fred Runtree - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 [1909 Apr 7] Lady James Rodd - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Apr 11 Lady James Rodd - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 May 7 William Earl Hodgson - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Jun 3 Scottish Provident Institute - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Jun 10 Claude Flight - typed letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Jul 13 Ian D. Colvin - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Aug 2 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Aug 24 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Aug 30 Joseph Jacobs - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Sep 7 Mrs. Lucy Pearson - typed letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Sep 9 A. Selwyn Bruce - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Sep 30 A. Selwyn Bruce - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Oct 29 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1909 Nov 12 Thomas Seccombe - typed letter, signed
Box 5 [1909 Dec] Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 5 1909 Dec 30 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 5 [1910] Mr. Shee of National Service League - AL copy
Box 5 1910 Jan 15 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Jan 22 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Jan 22 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Jan 27 Major C. F. Massey - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Feb 3 C. W. N. Rolfe - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Feb 8 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 [Mar] Miss Maggie Hooper - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Jul 12 [Mr. Shee, of Nat'l Service League] - AL
Box 5 1910 Aug 2 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Aug 27 Mr. Paine - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Sep 7 Mr. Leonard - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 [1910?] Oct 22 Major Chapman - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Nov 9 Ethel Rolt Wheeler - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Nov 24 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Nov 30 Douglas Sladen - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Dec 11 J. Porter Watson - autograph letter, signed
Box 5 1910 Dec 12 J. Porter Watson - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 [1911 Jan] Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box (Adds) 1911 Jan 13 Henry Wymyss Feilden
Box 6 1911 Feb 15 Sher Mohommed - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Feb 23 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Mar 6 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Mar 15 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Apr 7 Herman Moroney - autograph letter, signed
See also Kipling Writings: Miscellany: "A Report of Tour to Automobile Club"
Box 6 1911 Apr 12 Legal & Commercial Ins. - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1911 May 11 Lord Alfred Milner - autograph note, signed
Box 6 1911 May 12 Miss Ensor - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Jun 12 Ralph David Blumenfeld - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1911 Jul 21 Sir Bertrand Dawson - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1911 Sep 23 Lord Alfred Milner - copy
Box 6 1911 Oct 8 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Oct 11 Watson [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Oct 14 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1911 Oct 16 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Oct 20 [ ] Trotter - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Oct 22 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Oct 24 G. Marconi - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Nov 13 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Nov 23 Arthur Poyser - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Dec 4 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Dec 4 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1911 Dec 10 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1911 Dec 11 J. Porter Watson (missing Nov. 1992) - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Feb 8 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 [1912 Mar 5] Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph note, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 9 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 12 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 12 Stephen Paget - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 13 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 16 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 16 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 24 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 28 S. L. Bensusan - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 28 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 28 Moreton Frewen - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Mar 29 R. M. [sic] Underwood Johnson - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Apr 9 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Apr 10 W. J. Harding - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Apr 17 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Jul 11 Douglas Sladen - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Sep 21 Mrs. Black - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Sep 24 Lord Blyth - APCS
Box 6 1912 Nov 2 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Nov 12 W. Smither - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1912 Dec 2 [General John Barton Sterling] - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1913 Jan 4 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box (Adds) 1913 Jan 29 Henry Wymyss Feilden
Box 6 1911 Feb 15 Sher Mohommed - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Mar 14 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Apr 3 Mr. Vedrenne - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Apr 9 C. Bowyer Vaux - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Apr 14 George Baldwin - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Apr 25 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph note, signed
Box 6 1913 May 10 Mr. Vedrenne - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Jun 12 Ian D. Colvin - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1913 Jun 23 R. W. K. Edwards - typed note, signed
Box 6 1913 Jul 23 R. W. K. Edwards - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Aug 15 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Aug 15 R. W. K. Edwards - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Aug 23 Anthony Belt - autograph note, signed
Box 6 1913 Sep 10 Hugh Poynter - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Oct 1 Sir Algernon Methuen - autograph note, signed
Box 6 1913 Oct 28 S. L. Bensusan - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Nov 1 Dr. Curteis - autograph card, signed
Box 6 1913 Nov 5 Rev. T. Dixon-Spain - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Dec 9 [ ] Loraine - typed letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Dec 15 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Dec 25 Mrs. Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Dec 25 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 6 1913 Dec 26 Roger Cherry-Garrard - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Jan 10 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 [1914 Feb 23] Lord Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Mar 6 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 May 20 Frank Bullen - autograph card, signed
Box 7 1914 May 28 M. J. F. McCarthy - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Jul 7 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Jul 22 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Aug 4 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Aug 7 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Sep 18 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 7 1914 Oct 28 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Nov 6 Herbert B. Swope - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Nov 12 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Nov 12 Moreton Frewen - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Nov 19 Frank Rosher - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Nov 27 Mr. Hargreaves - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1914 Dec 5 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Jan 4 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Feb 7 L. Hodson - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Apr 3 Captain Huth - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1915 May 13 [ ] Trotter - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1915 May 17 Lady Walker - autograph card, signed
Box 7 1915 Jun 30 H. H. McClure - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Nov 11 Private [ ] Perry - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Nov 15 Private [ ] Perry - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Nov 16 Captain a Becket - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Dec 9 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1915 Dec 15 Lady James Rodd - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Feb 13 [Dear Sir] - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Mar 16 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Mar 24 Leon Berthout - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 May 5 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 May 10 P. M. Alden - typed note, signed
Box 7 1916 May 28 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 May 29 Miss M. Nott - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Jun 7 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Jun 22 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Aug 10 Mr. Barnett - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Aug 17 [ ] Trotter - autograph card, signed
Box 7 1916 Sep 27 E. Capel Cure - typed note, signed
Box 7 1916 Oct 5 Ian D. Colvin - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Oct 6 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1916 Nov 9 Rev. G. Thompson - typed note, signed
Box 7 1916 Dec 28 Charles Wakefield - autograph note, signed
Box 7 1917 Jan 26 Mr. Gill - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Mar 28 James Rennell Rodd - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Apr 12 Israel Gollancz - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 May 7 James Rennell Rodd - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Jun 4 Captain F. Monroe - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Jun 10 Lady Edward Cecil - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Jul 22 C. V. Burne - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Jul 28 Edwin Unwin - typed letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Aug 16 Colonel Sitwell - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Aug 17 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Sep 4 Mr. Chappell - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Sep 30 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 7 1917 Nov 12 Sir James Dunlop Smith - autograph card, signed
Box 8 [1918 Jan?] Ellery Sedgwick - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Feb 1 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Feb 7 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph note, signed
Box 8 1918 Feb 23 Mr. [Allen] Ramsay - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Mar 8 [ ] Chappell - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Apr 27 Ralph David Blumenfeld - autograph card, signed
Box 8 1918 May 18 Lord Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Jul 2 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Jul 24 Moreton Frewen - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Aug 3 George Robert Parkin - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Aug 31 Lord Blyth - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Sep 21 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Oct 30 Lord Sydenham - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Nov 6 Miss Jefferson - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1918 Dec 13 P. N. Edmonds - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Jan 7 Thomas Edward Lawrence - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Feb 21 [ ] Gilmour - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Mar 14 Gerald Furlong - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Apr 30 Sir Fleetwood Wilson - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Aug 27 Mr. Smith - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Sep 13 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1919 Oct 8 Thomas Edward Lawrence - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Jan 5 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Jan 24 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Feb 20 R. A. Blankenberg - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Mar 13 [ ] Trotter - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Apr 26 H. H. McClure - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Apr 29 C. Denham Jenkins - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1920 May 4 Sir Roger Keyes - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 May 6 Sir Roger Keyes - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 May 11 C. Denham Jenkins - autograph card, signed
Box 8 1920 May 17 W. J. Kaye - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Jul 9 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Sep 27 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Oct 11 Lord Blyth - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Nov 8 Mrs. George Adam - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Nov 26 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1920 Nov 29 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Jan 5 J. E. Hodgson - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Feb 20 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box (Adds) 1921 Feb 21-28 Henry Wymyss Feilden
Box 6 1911 Feb 15 Sher Mohommed - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Mar 5 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Mar 27 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Apr 18 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 May 7 L. Hodson - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Jun 16 Lord Alfred Milner - typed letter, signed
Box 8 [1921 Sep?] [ ] Trevor-Battye - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Sep 20 [ ] Trevor-Battye - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Sep 28 Mrs. Sington - autograph card, signed
Box 8 1921 Oct 6 Geoffrey Boothby - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Oct 11 Geoffrey Boothby - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Nov 1 Ian D. Colvin - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Nov 22 "Grandande" [?] - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1921 Nov 25 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jan 2 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jan 12 M. Legorcis - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Feb 13 Sir Sidney Low - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Feb 23 Randolph Lewis - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Apr 29 Peter Charles Larkin - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jun 1 Lady Ida Margaret Poore - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jun 2 Miss M. M. Smith - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jun 7 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jun 8 Arthur Lyons - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jul 17 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jul 20 Thomas Edward Lawrence - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Jul 25 Thomas Edward Lawrence - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Sep 22 Charles P. Johnson - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Oct 1 Lady [ ] Clark - autograph letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Oct 5 Sub. Lt. H. A. Hunting - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Oct 12 Mr. J. Cushing - typed letter, signed
Box 8 1922 Nov 3 Captain J. H. Beith - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Jan 15 T. W. E. Moreton - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Feb 24 Mayor of Bath - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Feb 26 W. Somerset Maugham - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Mar 24 "Fiennes" [ ] - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Apr 19 Albert E. Montague - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 May 26 "Fiennes" [ ] - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Jun 19 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Jul 3 James Rennell Rodd - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Sep 13 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Sep 14 J. L. Paton - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Oct 4 [ ] - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Oct 27 James George Frazer - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Nov 12 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Nov 13 T. W. E. Moreton - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Nov 19 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1923 Dec 10 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jan 5 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Mar 22 Edward William Bok - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 May 3 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 May 7 A. Patterson Webb - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jun 11 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jun 18 Ursula Stanley - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jun 24 James Rennell Rodd - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jul 1 James Rennell Rodd - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jul 14 A. E. Wayt - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Jul 21 Mrs. A. F. Trotter - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Aug 22 Lord Dufferin - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Aug 22 Captain R. F. Gaviland Mahon - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Sep 23 L. Reynolds - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Oct 17 Mrs. Le Blond - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Nov 8 Miss A. T. Foster - typed note, signed
Box 9 1924 Dec 3 Charles G. Mortimer - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1924 Dec 13 James Van Allen Shields - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Jan 13 Emily Caroline Methuen - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Feb 4 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 May 8 Richard Bentley - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 May 12 [Roger Keyes?] - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 May 24 Mrs. Sington - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Jul 7 Sir Roger Keyes - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Jul 8 Col. W. P. Drury - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Jul 22 [ ] Martyn-Linnington - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Jul 22 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Aug 12 Jonathan Watson - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Sep 15 Creighton [ ] - autograph note, signed
Box 9 1925 Oct 21 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Oct 27 J. G. Gubbins - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Nov 9 Mr. Medley - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1925 Nov 18 A. S. Frere-Reeves - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 May 21 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 May 28 Mrs. Heron-Maxwell - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Jun 7 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Jun 12 P. M. Walker - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Jun 14 F. L. Minnigerode - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Jun 26 S. L. Bensusan - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Jun 30 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Jul 13 Mrs. Hartley Clark - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Aug 26 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Aug 30 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Sep 16 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Sep 23 Plunket Barton - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Sep 26 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Oct 4 Lady Alfred Milner - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Oct 7 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Oct 18 Stephen Tallents - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Oct 19 Major Hartley Clark - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Nov 8 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Nov 14 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Nov 17 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Nov 23 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1926 Dec 8 Charles G. Mortimer - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Jan 7 Ursula & Jane Stanley - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Jan 19 [ ] Levy - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Jan 22 Earl Beauchamp - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Mar 14 Senor Villares - autograph letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Jun 6 T. W. E. Moreton (missing Nov. 1992) - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Jul 5 T. W. E. Moreton - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Jul 7 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Aug 4 J. C. Squire - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Aug 5 John Bennion Booth - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Sep 12 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Oct 10 Stephen Tallents - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Oct 27 Mr. Swezey - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Oct 31 M. P. Klingel - TL
Box 9 1927 Nov 8 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Nov 19 Stephen Tallents - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Dec 12 Mr. Boothby - typed letter, signed
Box 9 1927 Dec 21 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jan 14 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jan 17 Dr. Curteis - typed note, signed
Box 10 1928 Apr 7 Sir Roger Keyes - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1928 May 9 Mary Elizabeth Walford (missing Nov 1992) - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 May 23 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1928 May 27 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 [1928 Jun?] Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jun 4 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jun 8 [Ursula] Stanley - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jun 11 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jun 21 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jun 25 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jun 26 Stephen Tallents - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jul 6 S. L. Bensusan - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jul 6 Peter Charles Larkin - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Jul 21 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Aug 1 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Aug 13 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Aug 24 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Sep 1 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Sep 4 Walter R. Lawrence, bart. - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Sep 4 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Sep 29 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Oct 24 General G. S. Heard - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Oct 29 A. Hunt - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Oct 30 Harry Perry Robinson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Nov 23 Alan D. Wilson - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1928 Dec 6 Mr. Wynne - typed note, signed
Box 10 1928 Dec 19 Lady Alfred Milner - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Jan 24 A. S. Frere-Reeves - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Jan 26 John W. Frost - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Mar 6 Junean, John & Peter Rochy - autograph card, signed
Box 10 1929 Mar 14 Ursula Stanley - autograph card, signed
Box 10 1929 Apr 3 R. Kett - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Apr 16 [ ] Watson - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Jun 14 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Jun 27 S. L. Bensusan - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Jul 17 George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Oct 21 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1929 Dec 9 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Jan 19 Stephen Tallents - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Jan 27 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Jan 29 A. S. Frere-Reeves - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Feb 2 Mr. Cigolini - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Mar 10 Mary Elizabeth Walford - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Mar 18 Captain J. M. Reith - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Mar 30 Mary Elizabeth Walford - autograph card, signed
Box 10 1930 Apr 7 Mr. Cigolini - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Apr 13 Mrs. Rogers - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Apr 29 Captain J. M. Reith - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 May 11 Betty Hanlon - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 May 12 Captain J. M. Reith - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Jun 9 Captain J. M. Reith - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Jun 18 W. R. Morrison - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Sep 13 E. V. Lucas - copy
Box 10 1930 Oct 16 Mary Elizabeth Walford - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Oct 23 L. H. Chandler - copy
Box 10 1930 Nov 6 E. V. Lucas - copy
Box 10 1930 Nov 6 Lady Alfred Milner - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Nov 16 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Nov 27 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Nov 27 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 [1930?] Nov 28 Dr. Curteis - autograph note, signed
Box 10 1930 Dec 4 Lady Alfred Milner - typed letter, signed
Box 10 [1930] Dec 8 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Dec 8 [ ] - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Dec 9 W. R. Morrison - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Dec 20 Betty Hanlon - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1930 Dec 22 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Jan 2 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Jan 6 Mary Elizabeth Walford - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Jan 26 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Feb 3 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Mar 18 Mrs. George Adam - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Mar 18 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 May 7 Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 10 1931 May 19 Ian MacAlister - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Jul 12 S. L. Bensusan - typed letter, signed
Box 10 1931 Sep 5 Mrs. George Adam - typed note, signed
Box 11 1931 Sep 12 A. O. Bradley - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1931 Sep 24 James Tregaskis - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1931 Oct 3 Tristram Grayson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1931 Oct 8 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1931 Oct 10 A. S. Frere-Reeves - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1931 Dec 1 Lady Alfred Milner - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1931 Dec 22 Mary Elizabeth Walford - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Jan 30 E. V. Lucas - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Apr 16 [ ] Snow - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Apr 29 S. L. Bensusan - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Apr 29 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 May 2 H. M. Wallis - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Jun 2 Roland Gwynne - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Jun 8 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Jun 21 Roland Gwynne - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Jul 25 James Tregaskis - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Aug 20 Roland Gwynne - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Aug 24 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Aug 30 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Sep 3 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Nov 14 Alan D. Wilson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Nov 16 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Nov 17 B. E. Aldous - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Nov 24 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Nov 26 Mr. Rubin - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Nov 30 Mrs. Becher - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Dec Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 11 1932 Dec 8 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1932 Dec 26 Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 11 1932 Dec 26 Roland Gwynne - autograph card, signed
Box 11 1933 Jan 11 Lady Alfred Milner (Viola) (about Shakespeare sonnets) - TLS/ALS
Box 11 1933 Jan 12 A. S. Frere-Reeves - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Jan 18 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Mar 3 Victor Baskerfield - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Apr 11 Roland Gwynne - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1933 May 15 W. Cumming Tait - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1933 May 25 Lady Alfred Milner - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Jun 19 Claude Farrere - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Aug 1 Neville Lawrence - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Aug 3 Neville Lawrence - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Aug 15 A. G. Beaman - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Oct 2 Walter [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Nov 26 Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1933 Dec 20 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Jan 29 Customs Officer - typed note, signed
Box 11 1934 May 11 Madame Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 May 24 Guitous Stores - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 May 31 Madame Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Jun 1 W. R. Morrison - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Jun 2 A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Jul 25 W. R. Morrison - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Jul 31 A. S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Aug 7 Dr. Curtis - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Sep 3 Durand [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Oct 1 Dr. Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Oct 5 S. L. Bensusan - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Oct 12 S. L. Bensusan - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Nov 19 Captain Arthur R. Rawlinson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Nov 26 Major Arthur R. Rawlinson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Nov 27 S. P. B. Mais - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Dec 3 Arthur R. Rawlinson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Dec 9 Arthur R. Rawlinson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Dec 20 Dr. Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1934 Dec 30 Bernard Sanders - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jan 1 Roland Gwynne - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jan 1 Bernard Sanders - autograph card, signed
Box 11 1935 Jan 2 Arthur R. Rawlinson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jan 3 Roland Gwynne - autograph card, signed
Box 11 1935 Jan 16 Arthur R. Rawlinson - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jan 31 William V. Baskerfield - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1935 May 4 Miss T. Lawrence - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 May 8 St. John Mildmay - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 May 10 Ernest Raymond - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1935 May 11 Dr. Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jun 15 Ernest Raymond - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jun 27 Sally - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jul 12 Stephen Tallents - typed letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jul 19 Bernard Sanders - autograph letter, signed
Box 11 1935 Jul 19 [ ] - autograph card, signed
Box 12 1935 Jul 25 John Bennion Booth - autograph card, signed
Box 12 1935 Aug 24 Dr. Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Sep 8 Dr. Bres - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Sep 12 Bernard Sanders - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Sep 15 S. L. Bensusan - autograph card, signed
Box 12 1935 Sep 28 Commander White - typed letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Sep 29 Bernard Sanders - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Oct 3 Mary Elizabeth Walford - autograph card, signed
Box 12 1935 Oct 4 Bernard Sanders - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Oct 8 Robert U. Johnson - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Oct 15 Mary Elizabeth Walford - autograph card, signed
Box 12 1935 Nov 1 Mrs. Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1935 Dec 28 Brother White - typed letter, signed
Box (Adds) 1935 Dec 30 Henry Wickham Steed
Box 6 1911 Feb 15 Sher Mohommed - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 1936 Jan 3 Dr. Bres - autograph card, signed
Box 12 [no year] May 2 Mr. Scott (on the back of a telegram to H. H. McClure) - autograph note, signed
Box 12 [no year] Jun 28 H. H. McClure? - telegram
Box 12 [no year] Jun 30 H. H. McClure - autograph card, signed
Box 12 [no year] Aug 15 Miss Braver - autograph card, signed
Box 12 [no year] Aug 25 [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 [no year] Sep 2 George E. Buckle - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 [no year] Oct 20 Edward William Bok - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 [no year] Dec 27 A.S. Frere-Reeves - typed letter, signed
Box 12 undated A. Belt - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated Lady Byng - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated Ian D. Colvin - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated - Wed. Dr. Curteis - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated - Thurs Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated - Sat. Dr. Curteis - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated - Sun. Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated Dr. Curteis - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated Dr. Curteis - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated - Tues. Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated - Fri. Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box (Adds) undated Henry Wymyss Feilden
Box 12 undated - Sun. Mrs. Henry Wymyss Feilden - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated [ ] Fraser - autograph note, signed
Box 12 undated Moreton Frewen - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated Mr. Goodchild (4 telegrams)
Gift of Michael Zinman, 1996.
Box 12 undated - Mon. Caroline Grosvenor - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated - Mon. even. Caroline Grosvenor - autograph note, signed
Box 12 undated Caroline Grosvenor - autograph note, signed
Box 12 undated Caroline Grosvenor - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated Augustus Gurlitz - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated [ ] Hunt - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated John [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated Low [Morgens] - autograph letter, signed
Box 12 undated [Low Morgens] - autograph card, signed
Box 12 undated - Wed. Mr. Price - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 undated A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 undated - Tues. A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 undated - Sun. A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph card, signed
Box 13 undated A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph card, signed
Box 13 undated A. Sutherland-Harris - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 undated Mary Elizabeth Walford - autograph note, signed
Box 13 undated A. E. Wayt - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 undated A. E. Wayt - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 undated [ ] - autograph note, signed
Box 13 undated [ ] - typed letter, signed
Box 13 undated [ ] - autograph letter, signed
Miscellany
Box 13 1911 Jan 13 H. W. Feilden - 3 envelopes
Box 13 1921 Mar 1 H. W. Feilden - in 1 folder
Box 13 Undated H. W. Feilden - 13 in 1 folder
Box 13 Undated Colonel Feilden - 1 envelope
Box 13 1899 Nov 14 Augustus Gurlitz - envelope
Box 13 1904 Mar 5 Augustus Gurlitz - envelope
Incoming
Box 13 1899 [no day] Andrew Carnegie - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 1899 Feb 20 S. S. McClure - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1899 Feb 21 S. S. McClure - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1899 Mar 12 Peter Low - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 1899 Apr 21 British Empire League - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1899 May 4 Oliver Armstrong Fry - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1899 May 15 Arthur Brisbane - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1909 May 17 [ ] - envelope
Box 13 1899 May 23 Horace W. Greely - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 1899 Jun 3 S. S. McClure Co. - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1899 Sep 19 The New York Press - TLS copy
Box 13 1911 Feb 25 William Percival Westell - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1911 Feb 28 J. H. Gurney - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 1917 Mar 28 James Tregaskis - typed letter, signed
Box 13 1928 Jun 7 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Jun 12 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Jun 21 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Jul 11 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Jul 18 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Jul 20 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Aug 8 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Aug 11 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Aug 31 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Sep 4 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Sep 8 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Sep 15 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Sep 25 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Sep 27 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Sep 28 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1928 Oct 2 Harry Perry Robinson - carbon
Box 13 1929 Apr 5 Alan D. Wilson - copy
Box 13 1930 Oct 15 E. V. Lucas - copy
Box 13 1930 Nov 6 E. V. Lucas - copy
Box 13 1932 Feb 20 H. H. McClure - copy
Box 13 1934 Jul 30 J. B. Booth - autograph letter, signed
Box 13 1935 Dec 10 Mrs. Luther S. Livingston - autograph card, signed
Box (Adds) 1935 Dec 29 Henry Wickham Steed
Box (Adds) 1935 Dec 30 Henry Wickham Steed
Box 13 [undated] Munni Lal ? - "Despicable brute and unwilling father of babies" - holograph copy by R.K.
Third party correspondence
Box 14 Sara Anderson to H. H. McClure Nov 17 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to H. H. McClure Dec 15 1899 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to H. H. McClure Dec 28 1899 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to H. H. McClure Jan 4 1900 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to H. H. McClure Feb 10 1900 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Mar 20 1900 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Apr 16 1900 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Jul 3 1900 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to Walter T. Spencer Aug 8 1900 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to Walter T. Spencer Aug 13 1900 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Dec 11 1900 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Jun 4 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Jun 29 1901 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to James Carleton Young Jul 2 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Sara Anderson to Augustus Gurlitz Jul 23 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Stanley Baldwin to Duchess of [ ] Dec 29 1936 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Anna S. Balestier to H. H. McClure May 8 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Ellis Ames Ballard to Alan D. Wilson Feb 14 1930 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Ellis Ames Ballard to Robert Dechert Sep 13 1935 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Ellis Ames Ballard to H. H. McClure May 10 1938 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Elsie Kipling Bambridge to George P. Anderson Jan 23 1956 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Elsie Kipling Bambridge to George P. Anderson Feb 8 1956 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 George Bambridge to Edward Knoblock Jan 30 1936 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Geoffrey Barkas to Arthur R. Rawlinson Dec 12 1934 - copy, contains Kipling marginalia
Box 14 Robert Barr to Coulson Kernahan Feb 11 1892 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Robert Barr to H. H. McClure Dec 15 1905 - APCS
Box 14 Basil M. Bazley to W. G. B. Maitland Feb 28 1955 - T/env.
Box 14 Basil M. Bazley to W. G. B. Maitland Apr 19 1961 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Earl of Birkenhead to Mr. Booth Jun 4[no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 E. R. Blaikie to James Carleton Young Jan 23 1906 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Andrew Carnegie to Caroline Kipling Mar 7 1899 - card
Box 14 N. Chamberlain to Private Perry Nov 20 1915 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Lloyd H. Chandler to Mary Elizabeth Walford Nov 25 1929 - copy
Box 14 J. E. Coates to James Carleton Young Jan 11 1911 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Curtis Publishing Co. to Cary Bok Jan 20 1956 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Daily Telegraph to A. P. Watt Jan 28 1919 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Frank Nelson Doubleday to H. H. McClure May 2 [no year] - copy (original in R.K. Letters - Outgoing, May 2 [no year], Mr. Scott)
Box 14 Paul Du Chaillu to Caroline Kipling Feb 27 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Gerald Du Maurier to March & Mrs Rudyard Kipling May 9 1928 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Edna Ferber to Frank Nelson Doubleday May 12 1930 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Henry B. Fuller to H. H. McClure Jul 12[no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Hamlin Garland to Caroline Kipling Sep 25 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 R. W. Gilder to S. S. McClure Apr 3 1899 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 May L. Hamilton-Russell to Mrs. Sinclair Jan 7[no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Hodder & Stoughton to W. G. B. Maitland Jul 10 1941 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 M. Hogg to James Carleton Young Aug 24 1911 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 M. Hogg to James Carleton Young Sep 16 1911 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 M. Hogg to James Carleton Young Oct 25 1911 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 M. Hogg to James Carleton Young Nov 23 1911 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 M. Hogg to R. W. K. Edwards Jun 26 1913 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 R. Thurston Hopkins to Holbrook Jackson Dec 29 1915 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 R. Thurston Hopkins to Holbrook Jackson Jan 4 1916 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Henry James to William James May 21 1903 - typed letter, signed
William James (1882-1961) was a painter, son of philosopher William James
Box 14 Henry James to William James Jul 8 1903 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Henry James to William James Oct 11 1903 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Henry James to William James Feb 2 1904 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Edward G. Janeway to [ ] Mar 6 1899 - autograph note, signed
Box 14 Edward G. Janeway to [ ] Mar 20 1899 - autograph note, signed
Box 14 Edward G. Janeway to [ ] undated - autograph note, signed
Box 14 Edward G. Janeway to [ ] undated - autograph note, signed
Box 14 Copeland Kell to Theodore Dunham Mar 6 1899 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Copeland Kell to H. H. McClure Apr 7 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Alice Kipling to Mrs. Hales Mar 20 1910 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to [ ] Mar 12 1895 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to [ ] Feb 3 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to S. S. McClure Feb 23 1899 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to (Longevity) A. P. Watt Feb 27 1899 - autograph note, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Apr 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Frank Nelson Doubleday May 1 1899 - telegram
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure May 5 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz May 9 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz May 27 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz May 31 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Jun 6 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Jun 10 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Jun 29 1899 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Jul 31 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Oct 2 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Nov 17 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Nov 28 1899 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Dec 1 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Dec 11 1899 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Wed. eve. [1899] - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Sat. [1899] - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to J. Porter Watson Aug 17 1900 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to J. Porter Watson Oct 8 1900 - autograph card, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Oct 30 1900 - typed letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Mar 9 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Mar 26 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Apr 9 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure May 24 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 14 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Jun 3 1901 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. Trotter Jun 6 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Sep 2 1901 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Oct 6 1902 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Nov 6 1902 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz May 20 1903 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Aug 6 1903 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Aug 18 1903 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Sep 19 1903 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Jan 5 1904 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. H. H. McClure Jun 6 1904 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to R. W. K. Edwards Aug 1 1913 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to [ ] November [9] 1929 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. F. N. Doubleday Sep 25 1930 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. F. N. Doubleday Jul 8 1934 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Roland Gwynne Jan 2 1935 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Henry N. Flynt Feb 18 1936 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to S. L. Bensusan Feb 25 1936 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. Nicholas Penniman Feb 28 1936 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Henry N. Flynt Mar 26 1936 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Henry N. Flynt Aug 15 1936 - tele
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Henry N. Flynt Sep 24 1936 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Dr. Curteis Oct 13 1936 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. Black Sun. undated - autograph card, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Mrs. F. N. Doubleday Apr 29 [no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz May 10 [no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz undated - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz undated - copy
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Wed. [no year] - autograph card, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Sun. [no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to H. H. McClure Jul 27 [no year] - autograph card, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Dear People Tues. [no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to Dolly [ ] Thurs. undated - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Caroline Kipling to [ ] Mon. undated - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 J. Lockwood Kipling to Augustus Gurlitz Feb 11 1901 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 J. Lockwood Kipling to Douglas Murray Dec 17 [no year] - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 J. Lockwood Kipling to H. H. McClure undated - autograph note, signed
Box 15 Ladies' Home Journal to Cary Bok Dec 16 1955 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 William M. Laffan to Frank Nelson Doubleday Apr 10 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Lanchester Engine Co. to George Baldwin Jun 6 1904 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Flora V. Livingston to William G. B. Maitland Jan 29 1934 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Flora V. Livingston to W. G. B. Maitland Jan 8 1936 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 E. V. Lucas to James Tregaskis Nov 15 1930 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 E. V. Lucas to James Tregaskis Feb 23 1931 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 E. V. Lucas to James Tregaskis Apr 14 1931 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 E. V. Lucas to James Tregaskis May 28 1931 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 E. V. Lucas to Hugh Tregaskis Sep 9 1931 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 H. H. McClure to Ellis Ames Ballard May 12 1938 - copy
Box 15 George A. Macdonald to Caroline Kipling Sep 25 1900 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Ian MacLaren to Caroline Kipling Feb 25 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Ernest Walter Martindell to Alan D. Wilson May 21 1928 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Ernest Walter Martindell to Alan D. Wilson Jun 19 1928 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Mowbray Walter Morris to James Rennell Rodd Oct 20 1889 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Cecily L. Nicholson to J. B. Booth Jan 13 1934 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Cecily L. Nicholson to T. W. E. Moreton Mar 4 1935 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Cecily L. Nicholson to Henry N. Flynt Jan 16 1936 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Charles Eliot Norton to Herbert Small Apr 26 1895 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Charles Eliot Norton to H. H. McClure Apr 17 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Thomas Nelson Page to Caroline Kipling Mar 3 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 K. E. Parker to James Carleton Young May 3 1904 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 K. E. Parker to James Carleton Young May 31 1904 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 J. B. Pond to H. H. McClure Feb 15 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Agnes Macdonald Poynter to Lady Constance [ ] May 20 1890 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Rosenbach Co. to A. E. Wayt Jun 11 1929 - contract
Box 15 Frank Hall Scott to [ ] Johnson Jun 7 1896 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Jan Christiaan Smuts to R. A. Blankenberg Apr 7 1921 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Frank R. Stockton to Frank Nelson Doubleday Mar 5 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 Nikola Tesla to Caroline Kipling Mar 6 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 George E. Vincent to William H. P. Walker Oct 7 1899 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Mary Elizabeth Walford to Charles G. Mortimer Jul 7 1927 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Mary Elizabeth Walford to T. W. E. Moreton Oct 1 1927 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Mary Elizabeth Walford to Harry Perry Robinson Aug 3 1928 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Mary Elizabeth Walford to Alan D. Wilson Jan 21 1929 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Mary Elizabeth Walford to Lloyd H. Chandler Nov 15 1929 - copy
Box 15 John Watson to Caroline Kipling Mar 3 1899 - autograph letter, signed
Box 15 A. P. Watt to Augustus Gurlitz Feb 2 1904 - typed letter, signed
Box 15 Alan D. Wilson to Ernest Walter Martindell Nov 13 1928 - typed letter, signed
Writings
KpR #s in this section refer to those assigned by Barbara Rosenbaum in the Index of English Literary Manuscripts (London; New York: Mansell, c1990, Vol. 4, pt. 2).
Prose
Box 16 "At the End of the Passage" - KpR 1411
Box 16 "Below the Mill Dam" - KpR 1435 - typescript manuscript
Oversize 2 "Dis Aliter Visum" The Pioneer, 4 July 1885 - KpR 1545 - corrected copy of 1st publication; comments by Martindell written on inside folder flap
From Sea to Sea: Letters of Travel
See Writings: Miscellany: Preface to unknown volume
Box 16 "How Fear Came to the Jungle" ( 1894) - KpR 1713
Box 16 "In Defense of His Home" - KpR 1748
Box 16 "In the Interests of the Brethren"
Box 16 "Letters to the Family"
Box 16 Limits and Renewals
Box 17 Limits and Renewals
Box 17 "Naval Manoeuvres"
Box 17 "Plain Tales From the Hills"
Box 17 Preface to Andre Chevrillon's L'Angleterre et la Guerre - autographed manuscript with holograph revisions
Box (Adds) Puck of Pook's Hill - proof copy of the first edition with holograph corrections (London, 1906), added 2/93
Oversize 1 Soldier Tales - production records - illustrations, 21 full-size and 13 head and tail pieces
Box 17 "Surgical and Medical"
Box 17 "The Tabu Tale" - galley proof with holograph corrections
Box 17 "Thy Servant a Dog"
Box 17 "The Visitation of the Sick"
Box 17 "The War in the Mountains" - KpR 2219 - revised typescript of first (discarded) article
Box 17 "The War in the Mountains" - production records - 2 sets of galley proofs for the first edition, each with Kipling's corrections
Box 17 "The Way That He Took" Parts I and II in The Cosmopolitan, Nov. 1900, vol. 30, no. 1; Dec. 1900, vol. 30, no. 2
Speeches
Box 17 Untitled (re: Thugs in India) - 1 p. fragment
Verse and Dramatic Works
Box 17 "After O. W. the Unutterable" - KpR 10
Box 17 "The Answer" - KpR 29
Box 17 "A Ballad of Bitterness" - KpR 62 Dec. 1883
Box 17 "A Banjo Song"
Box 17 "The Baths of Biddlestone" - KpR 92
Box 18 "The Bridge-Guard in the Karroo"
Box 18 "Chartres Windows" - KpR 190
Box 18 "The English Way" - 4 typescript pages with holographic corrections
Box 18 "The Female of the Species" - KpR 359
Box 18 "The Five Nations"
Box 18 "Four Feet" - KpR 390
Box 18 "The Gipsy Trail" - KpR 418
Box 18 "The Heritage" - KpR 463
Box 18 "The Holy War" - KpR 472
"The Holy War" - galley proof with holographic corrections
Box 18 "La peinture a l'huile"
Box 18 "The Mater" - KpR 1368
Box 18 "McAndrew's Hymn" in Scribner's Magazine - production records, Dec. 1894 cover proof, original in Kipling - Outgoing Letters, 1893 June 22 - note before KpR 691
Oversize 2 "M.I." in Windsor Magazine - KpR 701 - production records, 3 cards each approximately 14x11 in. with "M. I." verse and illustrations by L. Raven-Hill
Box 18 "Mine Sweepers" - KpR 705
Box 18 "Morning Song in the Jungle"
Box 18 "A Mother to Her Son"
Box 18 "Oh, Radiant Bay of Naples" - holograph
Box 18 "Oh, Radiant Bay of Naples" - private printing (3 copies) and photocopies of letters about the poem
Box 18 "Pink Dominoes" - KpR 845
Box 18 "The Shepherd of Dartmoor Plain"
Box 18 "The Sin of Witchcraft"
Box 18 "So For Some the Wet Sail" - KpR 357
Box 19 Songs From Books - KpR 1111 - production records
Box 19 "The Sons of the Widow"
Box 19 "South Africa" - KpR 1118
Box 19 "The Stumbling Block"
Box 19 "There's Never a Flood" - holograph, 1 photograph
Box 19 Unpublished Items by Rudyard Kipling
Box 19 "Ulster" - KpR 1297
Box 19 "The Vampire" - KpR 1306
Oversize 2 The Years Between 1918 - production records - 2 sets of galley proofs (12 Apr 1918; 2 May 1918) of 1st English edition each with Kipling's revisions in holograph
Box 19 Uncollected verse
Miscellany
Box 19 Autographs (2 items, R.K.)
Box 19 Preface to unknown volume (possibly a draft for From Sea to Sea: Letters of Travel vol. 1), signed by Rudyard Kipling
Box 19 "A Report of Tour to Automobile Club"
Box 19 Revisions of a "War Graves" article
Box 19 Miscellaneous notes
Memorabilia
Legal
Box 19 Kipling's will January 25 1892
Box 19 Papers assigning Power of Attorney to make a transfer of Cecil John Rhodes estate land in Africa 1919
Photographs
Box 19 Of Kipling (11 items)
Portraits and caricatures
Box 19 Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Caricature of Kipling by Garretto, The Graphic Sep 24, 1927
Oversize 1 Photograph (probably albumen) of portrait of Kipling by Philip Burne-Jones; mount is signed and inscribed with poem "The [?] Bay" 1899
Oversize 1 Portrait of Kipling by E. P. Upjohn - cover of The Metropolitan Magazine
Oversize 2 Caricature of Kipling by Steven Spurrier - pen and ink with charcoal and white
Oversize 2 Framed pen and ink drawing of Rudyard Kipling by R. Mathews
Oversize 2 Framed photograph (platinotype ?) of Rudyard Kipling
Printed materials
Books
Box 20 Barrack Room Ballads / Rudyard Kipling, (signed R. K. to R. K.) 1926
Box 20 Collection De Contes Et Chansons Populaires Tome XXIV Contes Birmans d'apres le Thoudamma Sari Dammazat par Louis Vossion, 1901
Box 20 The Heart of Japan / C. L. Brownell 1902
Box 20 Historical Study of the Mother Tongue / H. C. Wyld 1906
Box 20 The House Building and Other Poems / Marshall Bruce Williams 1902
Box 20 Kate of Kate Hall / Ellen Thorneycroft Fowler and Alfred Laurence Felkin 1904
Box 20 The Loves of Miss Anne / S. R. Crockett 1904
Box 20 Memoirs of a Person of Quality / Ashton Hilliers, 1907 - inscribed by author to Rudyard Kipling
Box 20 Prophesies Miracles and Visions of St. Columba 1895 - title page only with inscription to Kipling
Box 20 Sir Roger's Heir / F. Frankfort Moore 1904
Clippings
Box 21 Reviews of Kipling books 1891-1898, Feb. 189[ ]
Oversize 2 "Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs - with Ms. notes by Author - Kipling - 1883-1884," collected by Martindell
Box 21 Miscellaneous clippings 1898-1936, undated
Miscellany
Box 21 Dealer catalogues - collected by Harvey Taylor
Box 21 Kipling burial service program Jan. 23, 1936
Box 21 Masonic Authors Lodge No. 3456 meeting notice 1936 - Kipling listed as an honorary member
Box 21 Pamphlets
Writings by others
Box 21 "Cervantes, Zola, Kipling, & Co." / Brander Matthews in The Cosmopolitan Mar. 1893
Box 21 " 'Cum Laude Platypus' by John R. Ornithorhynchus" / Albert B. Fowler
Box 21 "Foreword" by E. V. Lucas to Five Hundred Points of Good Husbandry / Thomas Tusser - 1931 reprint, typescript; notes; copies of letters to/from E. V. Lucas; scrapbook with clippings about book
Box 21 "John Howell, Bookman and Collector Reveals Kipling Rarities" / Harvey Taylor
Box 21 "Kipling: Laureate of the Empire" / Harvey Taylor - holograph and typescript
Box 21 "Kipling's India" / Arley Munson in The Bookman Mar. 1914
Box 21 "A late lark twitters..." - undated - 2 holograph pages, unidentified author
Box 21 "Mr. Eliot's Kipling" / Lionel Trilling in The Nation Oct. 16, 1943
Box 21 Notes of Harvey Taylor
Box 21 "On Some Tales of Mr. Kipling's" / S. R. Crockett in The Bookman Feb. 1895
Box 21 "Rudyard Kipling" / William Brunton (poem()
Box (Adds) A Series of Thirty Etchings by William Strang, Illustrating Subjects from the Writings of Rudyard Kipling / William Strang circa 1901 - production records, etchings (28 of 31, wanting #10 and #28) and typescript copy of manuscript, proofs of the final states by Wm. Strang, printed and signed by Strang's son, David Strang; added 4/93 (2 folders)
Box 21 "Today September the 16th 1890 I went up..." undated - 5 typescript pages, unknown author
Miscellany
Box 21 Advertising instructions with holograph note "Typed for me by his own hand by Rudyard Kipling... 23/8/06"
Box 21 Bookplates (2 items)
Oversize 2 Celluloid drawing (hand painted) - used in Walt Disney's movie production of The Jungle Book
Box 21 Change purse (autographed)
Etchings illustrating Kipling short stories
See Writings by others: A series of thirty etchings by William Strang...
Box 21 "Kipling Flowers" - dried
Box 21 Letters from Kipling to his niece, nephew, and godchildren (photocopies)
Gift of Lisa Lewis
Box 21 Pipe (broken, Kipling's)
Box 21 Report card from Haileybury College signed by Cornell Price (later headmaster at a Kipling school) Mar. 1874
Box 21 Sketches (pen and ink) by R. Kipling
Box 21 Stationery (Kipling's)
Typewriter - Kipling's Remington Noiseless (with case)
Shelved with oversize boxes
Scrapbooks
Box 22 Miscellaneous scrapbooks (4 items)
Box 22 T. W. E. Moreton scrapbook
Package 1 Henry H. Schlosser scrapbook relating to the printing of E. A. Ballard's Catalogue Intimate and Descriptive of My Kipling Collection (Philadelphia: Privately printed, 1935). [M84-1:12]
McClures Material
Correspondence
Box 23 E. A. Ballard/H. H. McClure 1938
Box 23 Dr. Conland to H. H. McClure June 11, 1899
Box 23 L. de Forest to H. H. McClure May 29, 1899
Box 23 H. H. McClure to A. P. Watt [1899]
Box 23 McClures'/Kipling Family correspondence (photocopies)
Box 23 McClures'/Miscellaneous correspondence (photocopies)
Box 23 Miscellaneous letters to R. Kipling via McClures 1899
Writings
Box 23 "The Absent-Minded Beggar" by Rudyard Kipling circa 1899
Box 23 "Before Kipling Becomes a Myth," H. H. McClure Feb. 2, 1936 - typescript and printed release
Box 23 The Courting of Dinah Shadd A Contribution to a Bibliography of the Writings of Rudyard Kipling (private printing) 1898
Box 23 "Do women have to be alive today. . ." by H. H. McClure Apr. 28, 1937
Box 23 "The King" by Rudyard Kipling 1899 - 1st edition American copyright
Box 23 "Kipling's Life In America" by H. H. McClure
Box 23 "Mr. Kipling visited our office. . ." by H. H. McClure March 7, 1899 - typescript
Box 23 "To the Editor, Readers' Digest" by H. H. McClure
Box 23 Notes on Kipling by H. H. McClure undated
Box 23 Miscellany - Letters and statements about Kipling's suit against Putnam
Memorabilia
Box 24 Clippings (2 folders)
Box 24 Photographs
Box 24 Miscellaneous
E. W. Martindell Collection
Correspondence
Box 24 E. W. Martindell/Rev. W. A. Kirkman
Writings
Box 24 Martindell collection of 29 uncollected Kipling verses 1884-1906 - typescript copies (1 folder)
"Amir Ali Locuitur" - Pioneer - July 18, 1888
"Ballad: by an Em-n-nt Lord" - Civil & Military - May 8, 1886
"The Blind Bug" - National Observer - Dec. 27, 1890
"The Bugler" - The Regiment, No. 1 - Oct. 25, 1902
"The Bushman's Daughter" - St. James's Gazette - Aug. 13, 1890
"The City of Berlin" - Sept. 26, 1889
"Departmental Delirium" - Pioneer - April 26, 1887
"'An Echo from Old Calcutta'" - Pioneer – March 15,1886
"An Excellent Reason" - Pioneer - May 23, 1887
"The Half-Way House" - Pioneer - Apr. 15, 1887
"How Breitmann Became President . . ." - New York World - Apr. 26, 1890
"In Answer" - Civil & Military - Oct. 14, 1887
"The Lament of C. I. E." - Pioneer - Jan. 20, 1888
"The Last Call" - The Week's News - Mar. 31, 1888
"Ms. Verses to A. E. W." - Feb. 4, 1884
"The Michigan Twins" - Boston Advertiser - Mar. 1889
"A Nightmare of Names" - Civil & Military - Dec. 10. 1886
"A Picture in Smoke" - Pioneer - June 30, 1885
"Possibilities" - Pioneer - July 13, 1885
"The Rape of the Breeches" - Pioneer - Mar. 5, 1889
"A Rhodian Portrait" - 1886
"Rudyard and Kipling" - Boston Advertiser - Mar. 1889
"Selling the Cross" - St. James's Gazette - Feb. 2, 1890
"Signs" - Pioneer - Nov. 11, 1886
"Silence is - Golden(?)" - Pioneer - Aug. 18, 1886
"The Simla Exodus" - Pioneer - Aug. 5, 1886
"A Soliloquy from the South" - Pioneer - Dec. 8, 1886
"South Africa" - The Standard - July 27, 1906
"Summer Homes for Nursing Sisters" – Pioneer - Aug. 1, 1887
"Trial by Assessors" - Pioneer - July 14, 1886
Memorabilia
Oversize 2 "Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs with Ms. Notes by Author - Uncollected - Kipling - 1883-4" - 1883-1884 - includes folder with Martindell's history of the clippings
Alan D. Wilson Collection
Correspondence
re: Kipling
Box 24 Ellis Ames Ballard/Alan D. Wilson 1928-1930
Box 24 Frederick L. Ballard, Jr. to Robert Dechert Feb. 28, 1964
Box 24 Mrs. W. M. Carpenter to L. H. Chandler Oct. 22, 1931
Box 24 Lloyd H. Chandler to Ellis Ames Ballard 1927-1935
Box 24 Lloyd H. Chandler/M. E. Walfind [sic Walford](Kipling's secretary) 1929
Box 24 Lloyd H. Chandler/Alan D. Wilson 1929-1930
Box 24 L. H. Dunsterville to L. H. Chandler Oct. 10, 1930
Box 24 Rudyard Kipling to Lloyd Chandler copy Oct. 23, 1930
Box 24 Rudyard Kipling/Alan D. Wilson copies 1928-1932
Box 24 Flora V. Livingston (Widener Memorial Library, Harvard University)/Alan D. Wilson 1928-1933
Box 24 E. W. Martindell to Lloyd H. Chandler Oct. 6, 1930
Box 24 E. W. Martindell/Alan D. Wilson 1928
Box 24 Miscellaneous Wilson correspondence
re: Mark Twain
Box 24 Miscellaneous Wilson correspondence
Writings
Box 24 "Charles Buford: His Ancestors and Descendants; Together With Excerpts From His Correspondence and An Appeal to the Republican Party of the United States of about 1857 Presumably Drawn up by Him; Together with an Attempted Identification of the Persons Mentioned in These Papers," unidentified author
Box 24 " A Kipling Problem, 'Three and -- an Extra' or the Story of 'The Light That Failed' " / Lloyd H. Chandler 1929 - typescript
Box 24 "List of Kipling Stories Contained in Magazines (Owned by Ellis Ames Ballard)" [by E. A. Ballard] (2 copies)
A Summary of the Work of Rudyard Kipling Including Items Ascribed to Him (compiler, Lloyd H. Chandler) 1930
Box 24 "Introduction" by E. A. Ballard - typescript draft
Box 24 Typescript draft and research notes
Box 25 Typescript draft and research notes (3 folders)
Box 25 "Talk on the Kipling Society in the United States and Upon Mr. Kipling's Works, to be Given at a Meeting of the Kipling Society in London, June 9, 1931 by L. H. Chandler" - typescript transcript
Box 25 "Three and -- an Extra" by L. H. Chandler
Memorabilia
Box 25 Account book of Helen and Alan D. Wilson 1898-1920 - lists wedding gifts, household furnishings, and books in their library along with estimated prices (history of book noted inside by son-in-law Robert Dechert)
Box 25 Dealer catalogues listing Kipling and Twain items

Return to top