Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

John Kay Print

An inventory of his print at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kay, John, 1742-1826
Title: John Kay Print
Inclusive Dates: 1786
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Print by Scottish caricaturist, John Kay
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Kay (1742-1826) was a Scottish caricaturist who specialized in portrait etching and miniature painting.

He was born near Dalkeith, Scottland and at age 13 was apprenticed to a barber, whom he served for six years. In 1785, a year after publishing his first caricature of Laird Robertson for which he received great praise, he gave up barbering to open a print shop in Parliament Close. There he continued making prints of local celebrities and oddities of Edinburgh society. His shop was destroyed by the Great Edinburgh Fire of November 1824 and he died in Edinburgh two years later.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Kay Print is a single print of American General Buttons on horseback, originally drawn by British Colonel Archibald Campbell.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kay, John, 1742-1826.

Subjects

Etchers -- Scotland.
Prints -- 18th century.

Places

Saratoga (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Etchings (prints)
Prints (visual works)

Occupations

Etchers.
Printmakers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Kay Print,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KD
Date: 10 Jan 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Print
SC 835 Provincial General Buttons marching to Saratoga with plunder 1786

Return to top