Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kaufmann, Edgar, 1910-1989.
Title: Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records
Inclusive Dates: 1931-1962
Quantity: 25.0 linear ft.
Abstract: The Kaufmann Industrial Design Award was administered by the Institute of International Education and sponsored by the Edgar Kaufmann Foundation to give public recognition to accomplishments in all fields of design and to encourage enterprising design developments. The award was discontinued in 1967. The collection includes correspondence, published material, films, tapes, and photographs relating to design awards candidates.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edgar Kaufmann, Jr. (1910-1989) was an American industrial designer, architect and artist. He apprenticed with Frank Lloyd Wright (1933-1934) and his father, Edgar Kaufmann, Sr., commissioned Fallingwater from noted architect Frank Lloyd Wright in 1936. Among his other accomplishments, he was director of the industrial design department at the Museum of Modern Art (1946-1955) and worked to encourage uniform standards for industrial design education.

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from information found in the "People" section of the Industrial Design Society of America's website, http://www.idsa.org.]

The Kaufmann Industrial Design Award was administered by the Institute of International Education and sponsored by the Edgar Kaufmann Foundation to give public recognition to accomplishments in all fields of design and to encourage enterprising design developments. The award was discontinued in 1967.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records contains material relating to candidates for the award from 1960-1962.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is subdivided by year and within that arranged chronologically by name of candidate. Duplicate material and oversize material is filed at the end of the collection.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous noted industrial designers and related organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Edgar Kaufmann Foundation.
Institute of International Education (New York, N.Y.)
Kaufmann Industrial Design Award.

Subjects

Industrial design -- Awards.
Industrial designers.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kaufmann Industrial Design Award Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 5 Jun 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Awards candidates
1960
Box 1 Albini, Franco
Box 1 Artex Studio and Alrar Aalto
Box 1 Bill, Max
Box 1 The Braun Co. and Hans Gugelot
Box 1 Clusellas Gerado (Argentina)
Box 1 Dreyfuss, Henry
Box 1 Eames, Charles
Box 2 Franck, Kai
Box 2 Jacobsen, Arne
Box 2 Juhl, Finn
Box 2 Konzern, Kahla (H. Loffelhardt)
Box 2 Knoll International Ltd. and Eero Saarinen
Box 3 Kovar, Zdenek
Box 3 Lindberg, Stig
Box 3 Loewy, Raymond
Box 3 Ponti, Gio
Box 3 Proure, Jean
Box 3 Rinascente compasso d'oro
Box 4 Rinascente compasso d'oro
Box 4 Sarpanera, Timo
Box 4 Le Signe d'or industrial
Box 4 Wadiraj, D. (India)
Box 4 Wagenfeld, Wilhelm
Box 5 Wegner, Hans
Box 5 Wirkkala, Tapio
1961
Box 5 Albers, Josef
Box 5 Arnold, John
Box 5 Bayer, Herbert
Box 6 Belgiojoso-Peressutti-Rogers
Box 6 Bill, Max
Box 6 Black, Misha
Box 6 Breuer, Marcel
Box 6 Cranbrook Academy of Art
Box 6 Fuller, R. Buckminister
Box 6 Gropius, Walter
Box 6 Herlow, Eric
Box 6 Hochschule Fuer Gestaltung, ULM
Box 6 Institute of Design (Illinois Institute of Technology)
Box 7 Itten, Johannes
Box 7 Katvolos, William
Box 7 Kepes, Gyorgy
Box 7 Leeds College of Art (Basic Research)
Box 7 Massachusetts Institute of Technology School of Architecture and Planning
Box 7 Mies Van Der Rohe
Box 7 Nelson, George
Box 8 Pratt Institute (School of Industrial Design)
Box 8 Rigby, Ivan
Box 8 Royal College of Art, London
Box 8 Scholl, Inge Aicher
Box 9 Syracuse University (School of Art)
Box 9 Istituto Universitario di Architettura di Venezia
1962
Box 10 Alcoa
Box 10 Alcoa, Cupples Products
Box 10 Alcoa, Wear-Ever Products
Oversize  Alcoa exhibits
Box 10 Arabia
Box 12 Ar-Flex (S.P.A.)
Box 12 Braun, Max
Box 13 Braun, Max
Box 13 British European Airways (BEA)
Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS)
Box 13 Materials List
Oversize 1 Materials list, oversize
Oversize 3 Design examples
Box 13 Container Corporation of America (CCA)
Oversize  Container Corporation of America, oversize (4 items)
Box 13 De Cirkel
Box 14 De Cirkel
Box 14 Facit Group (A.B. Atvidabergs Industrier)
Box 14 Fritz Hansens Eftfl
Box 14 General Motors Corporation (GMC)
Box 15 Gustavsberg
Box 15 IBM Corporation
Box 15 Kartell S.R. L.
Knoll Associates, Inc.
Box 16 Knoll International, Inc.
Oversize  Knoll Associates, Inc. oversize (1 item)
Box 16 La Societe KORES
Oversize  La Societe KORES, oversize (1 item)
Box 17 La Mondiale
Oversize  Herman Miller, Inc. (1 item)
Oversize 1, 2 Olivetti and Co., S.p.A. (2 items)
Box 17 Orient Line
Oversize  Orient Line, oversize (1 item)
Box 17 Orrefors
Oversize  Orrefors, oversize (1 item)
Box 18 Penguin Books, Ltd.
Box 18 Pott, C. Hugo
Box 19 Venini, S.p.A.
Box 19 Wohnedarf
Duplicate material
Box 20 Albini, Franc 1960
Box 20 Alcoa 1962
Box 20 Alcoa, Cupples Products 1962
Box 20 Alcoa, Wear-Ever Products 1962
Box 21 Arabia 1962
Box 21 Ar-Flex, 1962
Box 21 Artex Studio and Alrar Aalto 1960
Box 21 Bill, Max 1960
Box 21 Bill, Max 1961
Box 22 The Braun Company and Hans Gugelot, 1960
Box 22 Braun, Max, 1962
Box 23 Braun, Max, 1962
Box 24 CBS (Columbia Broadcasting System) 1962 - list of materials
Oversize 2 CBS, oversize 1962 - list of materials
Box 24 Container Corporation of America 1962
Box 25 Container Corporation of America 1962
Oversize  Container Corporation of America 1962 (8 items)
Box 25 De Cirkel, 1962
Box 25 Dreyfuss, Henry, 1960
Box 25 Eames, Charles, 1960
Box 25 Franck, Kaj, 1960
Box 26 Fritz Hansens Eftfl, 1962
Box 26 General Motors Corporation (GMC) 1962
Box 26 Gustavsberg 1962
Box 27 Gustavsberg 1962
Box 28 Herlow, Eric, 1961
Box 28 Jacobsen, Arne 1960
Box 29 Juhl, Finn, 1960
Box 29 Knoll International, Ltd., and Eero Saarinen, 1960
Box 29 Kovar, Zdenek, 1960
Box 29 Leeds College of Art (Basic Research) 1961
Box 29 Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1961
Oversize  Herman Miller, Inc. 1962 (2 items)
Oversize  Orient Line 1962 (1 item)
Oversize  Orrefors 1962 (4 items)
Box 30 Penguin Books, Ltd., 1962
Box 30 Ponti, Gio, 1960
Box 30 Proure, Jean, 1960
Box 30 Royal College of Art, London, 1961
Box 31 Sarpanera, TiMO, 1960
Box 31 Wegner, Hans, 1960
Box 31 Wirkkala, Tapio, 1960
Box 31 Wohnedarf, 1962

Return to top