Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Franklin J. Kaufmann Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kaufmann, Franklin J.
Title: Franklin J. Kaufmann Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1892-1907
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Incoming correspondence to Dr. Franklin J. Kaufmann in Syracuse, New York, mostly regarding Austro-Hungarian residents of the city.
Language: English, German, Italian, Hungarian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Franklin J. Kaufmann (1863 or 1864-1936) was a physician in Syracuse, New York in the late 19th and early 20th century. According to his obituary in the Oswego Palladum-Times (8 Feb 1936), he "was a representative to the Austrian government in the United States for many years, and was a personal friend of the Emperor Frans Joseph of Austria and received from him two of the highest honors in the gift of Austria, the Order of the Cross of Malta and the Order of Frans Joseph...Dr. Kaufmann was Austrian consul in Central New York from 1890 until the World War, although he was a United States citizen." He was a Freemason, a member of F. and A. M. Lodge #613, Cleveland, Oswego, New York.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Franklin J. Kaufmann Correspondence consists entirely of incoming correspondence, much of it from the Austrian Consulate in New York, to Dr. Kaufmann in Syracuse, New York. The letters refer to assistance rendered by Kaufmann to citizens of Austria and Hungary, or immigrants from those countries, in such matters as pensions, military service, legal documentation, and banking. There are also one or two invitations to official functions.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kaufmann, Franklin J.

Subjects

Austrians -- United States.
Consuls -- United States.
Diplomatic and consular service, Austrian -- United States.
Hungarians -- United States.
Immigrants -- New York (State)
Physicians -- New York (State)

Places

Austria. -- Generalkonsulat (New York, N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Invitations.

Occupations

Consuls.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Franklin J. Kaufmann Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Jun 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence, incoming
SC 826 Correspondence 1892-1899
SC 826 Correspondence 1900-1905
SC 826 Correspondence 1906-1907, undated

Return to top