Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Philip Kappel Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kappel, Philip.
Title: Philip Kappel Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1932-1966
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American etcher, illustrator, author (1901-1981). Typescript drafts, revisions, and galley proofs for Jamaica Gallery; articles, reviews, and clippings (1932-1966); exhibition catalogs (1941-1966); and 2 photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Philip Kappel (1901-1981) was an American artist, art collector, and author. Born in Connecticut, Kappel worked in a variety of media including etching and illustrating and wrote several books and essays.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Philip Kappel Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia.

Correspondence consists of two incoming letters, one from Buckingham Palace acknowledging the Queen of England's receipt of Kappel's book Jamaica Gallery. Artwork contains three original etchings and a few reproductions (personal greeting cards and a dust jacket for Timothy Dexter Revisited by John P. Marquand). Writings include typescript drafts with revisions, galley proofs, and an introduction by Marquand for the book Jamaica Gallery, a book dummy of New England Gallery, and a published essay about Kappel's 18th century house.

Memorabilia comprises photographs and printed material. Photographs depict Kappel in his studio and home, and at a ceremony at Trinity College in which he received an honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degree. Printed material encompasses articles and reviews (1932-1965); newspaper clippings (1932-1966); an exhibit catalog (1966) of 18th and 19th century Japanese prints which Kappel arranged and selected from his personal collection; exhibition catalogs including Kappel's work (1941-1966); an exhibit invitation; and book publicity.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by title and/or type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kappel, Philip.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Etchers -- United States.
Illustrators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Drafts (documents)
Etchings (prints)
Exhibition catalogs.
Galley proofs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Etchers.
Illustrators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Philip Kappel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ASE
Date: Dec 1993
Revision history: 26 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 Jul 2017 - 3 etchings, 1 photograph added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Bigoraphical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Box 1 [General] 1960, 1961
Artwork
Oversize 1 Original etchings undated (3 items)
Gift of Clyde "Sandy" Morris, 2017.
Box 1 Reproductions 1951, 1960, undated
Writings
Books
Box 1 Jamaica Gallery - typescript drafts with revisions, galley proofs
Box 1 New England Gallery - dummy
Essays
Box 1 "Washington Never Slept Here," The New England Galaxy Winter 1964
Memorabilia
Photographs
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1955-1966, undated
One item gift of Clyde "Sandy" Morris, 2017.
Printed material
Box 1 Articles, reviews 1932-1965 (2 folders)
Box 1 Clippings 1932-1966, undated
Box 1 Exhibition catalog: "Exhibition of Japanese Prints by 18th and 19th Century Masters" (arranged and selected by Philip Kappel from his personal collection) 1966
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs 1941-1947, 1963, 1966
Box 1 Exhibition invitation 1961
Box 1 Programs 1966 - "Inauguration of Albert Edward Holland as President of Hobart and William Smith Colleges" (Kappel served as delegate of Pratt Institute), and "140th Commencement of Trinity College" (Kappel received honorary degree)
Box 1 Publicity (book) undated

Return to top