Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

David Kalugin Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kalugin, David.
Title: David Kalugin Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1940-1976
Quantity: 10.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the U.S. Postal Service employee and poet. Correspondence (1940-1976); scrapbooks relating to the Postal Services' Suggestions Program to which Kalugin submitted over 500 suggestions (1963-1976); manuscript and/or published novels, poems, and short stories.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David Kalugin (?-1986) was an American poet.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David Kalugin Papers consist of correspondence, miscellaneous material, music, newspaper clippings, post office scrapbooks, published material, tape recordings, writings, and art and photographs.

A few items of Art and photographs begin the collection. Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing. Miscellaneous contains biographical material, award for poems, poetry society announcements, and papers by high school students about Kalugin.

Music contains announcements and programs for a concert, and copies of songs inspired by Kalugin's poems. Newspaper clippings contains articles of a general nature. For articles dealing with Kalugin's poetry, see Published material: Publication announcements.

Post Office scrapbooks (1963-1976) focus largely on the Suggestions Program in the Post Office. This incentive program recognized and awarded employees for an active interest in the conditions and efficiency of the Postal Service. Kalugin submitted more than 500 suggestions during this period, and almost single- handedly brought his office to national prominence in the Suggestions Program. The scrapbooks contain award certificates, letters of commendation, and records, samples, and reviews of his suggestions. Included here are a scrapbook of thank-you notes from a visiting grammar school class and

Published material consists of books, literary magazines, and assorted other items. The Tape recording is of unspecified content.

Writings consists of handwritten manuscripts (holographs), typescripts, and published items; the material includes novels, poetry, short stories, criticism, and more.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

For the most part, material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kalugin, David Archives.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Postal Service -- Officials and employees.

Subjects

Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David Kalugin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KBP
Date: 14 Mar 1979
Revision history: 14 Jan 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Art and photographs
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Box 1 1940
Box 1 1943-1968 (22 folders)
Box 1 1970
Box 1 Undated
Box 1 Beecher, John -- Sharma, Narenda -- Wadia, Sophia
Box 1 Dalvin, Rae -- Delfis, Fivos
Box 1 Elli (2 folders)
Box 1 Kalugin, Eric
Box 1 Kremborg, Alfred -- Everts, Lillian (2 folders)
Box 1 Lorraine, Lilith -- Smith, Vincent
Box 1 Margolis, William
Box 1 May, James Boyer (2 folders)
Box 1 McNair, Lura T.
Box 1 Nystedt, Robert
Box 1 Press Family
Box 1 Yu Zuwa -- Zarkos
Box 1 Rejections and acceptances
Box 1 Wolchok collection
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Biographical material, awards, papers about Kalugin, assorted other items
Music
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Newspaper clippings
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Post office scrapbooks
Box 2 Miscellaneous (5 folders, 6 volumes)
Box 3 Miscellaneous (8 volumes)
Published material
Box 3 Books (4 folders)
Box 4 Literary magazines
Box 4 Membership rosters
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Publication announcements, comments, reviews (5 folders, 1 volume)
Tape recording
Box 4 Unidentified
Writings
Holographs
Box 4 Criticism
Box 4 Notebooks
Box 4 Novels (4 folders)
Box 4 Poetry
Box 4 Prose
Typscripts
Box 4 Criticism
Box 4 Poetry
Box 5 Poetry (2 folders)
Box 5 Prose (4 folders)
Box 5 Short stories
Published
Box 5 Books (3 folders)
Box 5 Pamphlet
Box 5 Poems (8 folders)
Box 6 Poems (1 folder, 2 volumes)
Box 6 Poetry anthologies (2 folders)
Box 6 Short stories

Return to top