Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Luise Kaish Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kaish, Luise.
Title: Luise Kaish Papers
Inclusive Dates: pre-2000
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Photographs, books, pamphlets relating to the American experessionist sculptor. Unprocessed.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Luise Kaish (1925-2013) was an American expressionist sculptor. She was the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, Rome Prize Fellowship (American Academy in Rome), and Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation Grant, and received the Arents Pioneer Medal from her alma mater, Syracuse University. She was Professor Emerita of Columbia University, where she Chaired the Division of Painting and Sculpture, and was the first woman Artist-in-Residence at Dartmouth College. She served as guest lecturer, critic, and panelist at numerous institutions and conferences, and was a Trustee Emerita of the American Academy in Rome. Her work has been exhibited in major art galleries around the country.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Luise Kaish Papers consist of photographs and printed material (books and pamphlets) relating to the American sculptor.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kaish, Luise.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Sculptors -- United States
Sculpture, American.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States
Women sculptors -- United States

Genres and Forms

Pamphlets.
Photographs.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Luise Kaish Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Luise Kaish, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Jan 2010
Revision history: 24 Oct 2011 - corrected bio (MRC); 26 Jul 2017 - bio updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top