Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Josef Josephu Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Josephu, Josef, 1889-1971.
Title: Josef Josephu Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1912-1964
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Sculptor. Scrapbook of photographs of his work and three pieces of original work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Josef Josephu (1889-1970) was born February 12, 1889, in Vienna, Austria. Both he and his older brother Florian studied at the Department of Sculpture of the Municipal Trade school in Graz and at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. Josef served in World War I and was wounded but went on to complete his studies in 1919. In 1939 Josef and his family immigrated to the United States, while Florian went first to Yugoslavia and then returned to Vienna in 1950, where he remained until his death. Josef's body of American work includes statues, memorials, coins and figurines.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Josef Josephu Collection includes a scrapbook of photographs of his work and three pieces of original work.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of important sculptors. Please see the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

German Americans.
Sculptors, United States.
Sculpture, Modern, 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sculpture.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Josef Josephu Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Josef Josephu, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 27 Sep 1993
Revision history: 10 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 2 Jun 2011 - bio corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top