Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Neil R. Jones Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jones, Neil R.
Title: Neil R. Jones Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1950-1988
Quantity: 13 linear ft.
Abstract: Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, photo albums, memorabilia, typewriter of the American science fiction author. Includes 250 volumes of his diary spanning more than fifty years.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Neil Ronald Jones (1909-1988) was an American science fiction author from Fulton, New York. Although neither prolific nor well-known today, he was nevertheless an important figure in early science fiction. His first story, published in Air Wonder Stories in 1930, is the first recorded use of the word "astronaut," and he was one of the first, if not the first, author to write on now-classic science fiction tropes such as cyborg and robotic characters and cryopreservation. Many of his stories centered on Professor Jameson, a cryopreserved human revived by an alien race 40 million years in the future.

Jones was for many years an insurance claims examiner for New York State, and served in the military from 1940-1942.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Neil R. Jones Papers consist of manuscripts, diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, photo albums, and memorabilia of the American science fiction author. Included in the collection are 250 volumes of Jones' personal diary spanning more than fifty years, and his typewriter.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Many of Jones' stories may be found in published anthologies and "pulp" magazines in our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items (search on "jones, neil r." as author). In addition, Special Collections Research Center has substantial material relating to the early days of science fiction in both our Rare Books and manuscript collections. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to located related published material, and to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Jones, Neil R.
Jones, Neil R. -- Professor Jameson space adventure.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photograph albums.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Neil R. Jones Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Neil R. Jones, 1988.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Feb 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top