Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Jarvis Cartoons

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jarvis, John.
Title: John Jarvis Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1963-1973
Quantity: 14 items
Abstract: 10 original cartoons, newspaper clippings, published material and 2 photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Jarvis is an American cartoonist.

John Jarvis, an Illinois native, sold his first cartoon while still in high school for five dollars to Health and Strength magazine. After graduating high school in 1936, Jarvis studied at the Academy of Fine Arts and the Chicago School of Professional Art. Javis taught at the Chicago School of Professional Art before serving over three years with the Air Force during World War II. While in the military, several of his cartoons were published in Yank magazine.

Following the war, Jarvis published cartoons in Look, Esquire and Collier's and spent a few years with the Western Newspaper Union. After he was laid off, he returned to Geneva, Illinois and in 1953, started working at the Aurora Beacon News where he drew editorial cartoons and illustrated some advertisements. In addition to editorial cartoons, Jarvis’ work has appeared as single panel cartoons and comic strips titled Inklings, Courthouse Squares and Croaker. His illustrations accompanied the "Where in the World Is" trivia feature published in the Chicago Times as well as the Geneva (Illinois) Republican feature, "Old Timers Column".

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Jarvis Cartoons are organized into 2 series. Cartoons contains 10 original editorial cartoons and one black and white photograph of a cartoon. Three of the cartoons are dated. The 7 undated cartoons lack captions. The cartoons range in size from 10 1/4" x 11 ½" to 10 ½" x 16". The cartoons were drawn primarily in ink and watercolor with some crayon shading and dot screening appeared in selected cartoons. Notations appear in the borders in pen and various colors of pencil.

Published Material contains a copy of The Bell Ringer, a publication for Aurora Beacon News employees containing an article about Jarvis' donation of cartoons to Syracuse University (1967) and two clippings of cartoons as they appeared in the Beacon News with related editorial content (1966).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Jarvis, John.

Associated Titles

Beacon news (Aurora, Ill.)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Illinois.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Illinois.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Illinois.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

Aurora (Ill.) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Aurora (Ill.) -- Newspapers.
United States -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Black-and-white photographs.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Editorial cartoons.
Publications.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Jarvis Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Jarvis, 1966-1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 20 Nov 2008
Revision history: 20 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 9 Dec 2009 - bio, scope and inventory added (SK); 3 May 2012 - corrected collection name (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize 1 Dated
December 25, 1966: Follow the Star- Christmas
June 2, 1963: Okay, Dad, Let me Take over now- college graduates
April 20 (unknown year): The Old Runaround- city departments and services
Oversize 1 Undated - without captions
Three astronauts receiving diplomas
Nikita Khrushchev telling a woman, "Women are better off under communism"
Latin America and U.S. agricultural surplus
Man with a snake rapped around him while another man carries cage with label reading "poison snake cage"
Two members of the armed forces discuss dating and a female member of the military
Couple in sports car with "1973" license plate at a gas station
Group of men labeled "plane builders" ask Uncle Sam for $750 million for supersonic jets
Oversize 1 Photograph of cartoon undated
Our Streets and Highways with man filling potholes while saying "I'm patching as fast as I can!"
Published material
Oversize 1 The Bell Ringer with original photograph Jan 1967 - publication for employees of the Aurora Beacon News, contains article about donation of Jarvis material to Syracuse University and an original photograph of Jarvis selecting cartoons is attached
Oversize 1 Clippings from the Beacon News 6 Nov 1966, 25 Dec 1966 - two cartoons as published in the Beacon News with related editorials

Return to top