Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Joseph W. Jacques Interviews

An inventory of his recordings at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jacques, Joseph W.
Title: Joseph W. Jacques Interviews
Inclusive Dates: 1972-1973
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Taped interviews with eleven leaders in the field of adult education, undertaken as part of Jacques's dissertation research. Interviews with Mary Armstrong, R.J. Blakely, Leland P. Bradford, Mary L. Collings, Paul L. Essert, Wilbur C. Hallenbeck, Samuel E. Hand, Andrew Hendrickson, Eugene I. Johnson, Howard Y. McClusky, and Ralph B. Spence. Also includes copy of Jacques' doctoral dissertation based on the interviews.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph W. Jacques, PhD in Adult Education, received his doctorate from Florida State University and later was on the faculty at Montclair State College. The interviews in this collection were conducted by Jacques as part of the basis for his doctoral dissertation.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph W. Jacques Interviews consists of taped interviews and writings.

Interviews, conducted by Jacques as part of his research for his doctoral dissertation, are with eleven established leaders in the field of adult education in the United States: Mary Armstrong, Robert J. Blakely, Leland P. Bradford, Mary Louise Collings, Paul L. Essert, Wilbur C. Hallenbeck, Sam Hand, Andrew Hendrickson, Eugene I. Johnson, Howard Y. McClusky, and Ralph B. Spence. Following a format of structured questions, but allowing for free-wheeling discussion, Jacques' tapes probe the leaders' formative lives and educational experiences; their philosophies of living and of education; and their beliefs and opinions concerning current trends and the status of adult education in the United States. These 21 reels of recordings were made between March and May of 1972, and include much material not contained within Jacques' formal dissertation. The collection does not contain transcripts of the interviews.

Writings contains a copy of Jacques' doctoral dissertation which was based on the interviews and includes extensive excerpts.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by interviewee.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings may require advance notice for creation of a reading room copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Many of the tapes have been digitized. Contact the repository listed above for more information.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see the Wilbur C. Hallenbeck Papers and the Andrew Hendrickson Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hallenbeck, Wilbur C. (Wilbur Chapman), 1892-1986.
Armstrong, Mary.
Blakely, Robert J.
Bradford, Leland P. (Leland Powers), 1905-1981.
Collings, Mary L.
Essert, Paul L.
Hand, Samuel E.
Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Jacques, Joseph W.
Johnson, Eugene I.
McClusky, Howard Y., 1900-1982.
Spence, Ralph Beckett, 1901-1990.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Dissertations.
Oral histories (literary works)
Sound recordings.
Tape reels.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph W. Jacques Interviews,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joseph W. Jacques, 1976.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Oct 1976
Revision history: 5 Jun 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR); 26 Sep 2012 - added ID numbers (MRC); 11 Nov 2015 - updated inventory (MRC); 22 May 2018 - dissertation added (MRC); 4 Mar 2019 - updated media listing (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Many of the tapes have been digitized. Contact the repository listed above for more information.

Interviews
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 1 - Armstrong, Collings] 3/19/1972; 5/8/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_001)
Side #1 / Mary Armstrong 10 to 12 noon / her home - Union, New Jersey /March 19, 1972 / Side #2 Mary Louise Collings 2:30-4:00 PM / May 8, 1972, her living room - apartment
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 2 - Blakely] 4/22/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_002)
Session #1 / Robert J. Blakely / Journalist / Adult educator / Adjunct Prof. - Syracuse / 9 AM to noon / April 22, 1972 / office Lib. of Cont’g Education / 107 Roney Lane, / Syracuse, NY / Interviewer - Historian / Joseph W. Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 3 - Bradford] 5/12/1972 - Note on front of the box also lists: Essert; Hand; LCE; Johnson; Blakely (1); Collings; Armstrong (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_003)
Side 1 and 2: L. P. Bradford - Home, May 12, 1972, 3 PM - 5:15 PM; Joseph W. Jacques, Interviewer - Historian
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 4 - Essert] 3/22/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_004)
Paul L. Essert / Adult Education / professor March 22 1972 / 10:30 AM to / 1:00 PM / Interviewer - Historian / Joseph W. Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 5 - Hallenbeck] 4/24/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 64:31) (ID#: jacques_005)
Session #1 W. C. Hallenbeck / Home - 36 Seapit Rd / Waquoit, East Falmouth, / Mass. 02536 / April 24, 1972, / 2:30 PM to 6 PM / Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 6 - Hallenbeck] 4/25/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 129:00) (ID#: jacques_006)
Session #1 (cont’d) Hallenbeck / Session #2 Home - April 25, 1972 / 9:30 AM to 1 PM
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 7 - Hallenbeck] 4/26/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 63:27) (ID#: jacques_007)
Session #2 (cont’d) Hallenbeck / Home April 26, 1972 / 9:30 am - 1:30 PM / Session #3 / Jacques / side #2 did not record
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 8 - Hallenbeck] 4/27/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_008)
Hallenbeck / Session #3 (cont’d) / Session #4 / Home - April 27, 1972 / 9:30 AM to 12:15 PM / Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 9 - Hand, Johnson] 5/17/1972; 5/30/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 120:10) (ID#: jacques_009)
Side #1 Dr. Sam Hand / Dir. Cont’g Education Office / Florida State Univ., Tallahassee / Interviewer-Historian, J. W. Jacques / May 30, 1972 / 9 AM - 11 AM / Side #2 Dr. Eugene I. Johnson / Adult Educator - Professor / office Fain Hall / Univ. of Georgia / Athens, Georgia / May 17, 1972, 4:30 PM - 6 PM
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 10 - Hendrickson] 6/5/1972; 6/9/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_010)
Jacques / Session #1 6/5/72 - Andrew Hendrickson / 9:15-11:15 office - FSU - Dep’t of Adult Education / Session #6 6/9/72 10:30-11 AM office
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 11 - Hendrickson] 6/6/1972; 6/7/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_011)
Session #2 Hendrickson - office / June 6, 1972 / 9:15 AM-11:15 AM / Session #3 June 7, 1972 / office / 10 AM to 11:45 AM / Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 12 - Hendrickson] 6/8/1972 - Note on the box reads: "Hendrickson #7". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_012)
Session #3 (cont’d) Hendrickson / Session #4 office / 9:15 - 11:15 AM / June 8, 1972 / Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 13 - Hendrickson] 6/8/1972 - Note in red marker: "Messed up". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_013)
Session #4 (cont’d) Hendrickson / Session #5 Hendrickson office / 9:15 to 11:15 AM / Jacques
Box 2 Dr. Eugene Johnson Tape 1 5/17/1972 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: jacques_022)
Dr. Eugene Johnson / Adult Educator-Professor / Univ. of Georgia / May 17, 1972
Box 2 Dr. Eugene Johnson Tape 2 5/17/1972 (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: jacques_023)
Dr. Eugene Johnson / Adult Educator-Professor / Univ. of Georgia / May 17, 1972
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 14 - McClusky] 4/10/1972; 4/11/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_014)
Session #1 McClusky - adult ed. professor / 10 AM to 11 AM /motel room April 10, 1972 / Session #2 motel room / 10:30 AM to noon April 11, 1972 / Interviewer-Historian / Jos. W. Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 15 - McClusky] 4/12/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_015)
Session #3 McClusky / Session #2 (cont’d) April 12, 1972 / motel room / 3:30 PM 5:30 PM / Jacques
Box 1 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 16 - McClusky] 4/12/1972; 4/13/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_016)
Session #3 (cont’d) / McClusky / motel - April 12, 1972 / Session #4 / motel / April 13th, ‘72 / 1:30 PM - 5 PM / Jacques
Box 2 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 17 - McClusky] 4/13/1972; 4/14/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_017)
Session #4 (cont’d) / McClusky / motel - April 13, ‘72 / 1:50 PM - 5 PM / Session #5 / motel / April 14, ‘72 / 1:30 PM - 4 PM / Jacques
Box 2 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 18 - Spence] 5/15/1972 - Note on box reads: "Spence No. 1; Blakely, take No. 2". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_018)
Session #1 / Dr. Ralph Beckett Spence / Office - Fain Hall / Univ. of Georgia / May 15, 1972 9 AM - 11 AM / Session #2 / Home of respondent / 355 Beechwood Drive, / Athens, Georgia
Box 2 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 19 - Spence] May 15-16, 1972 - "Spence No. 2". Note on back of the box reads: "Tape can be used - re-tape to tape No. 1". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_019)
Session #2 Spence / (cont’d) / Respondent’s home / 3 PM to 6 PM / May 15, 1972 / Session #3 / office / 11 AM to 12 noon / May 16, 1972 / Session #4 / home - 3 PM to 5 PM / May 16, 1972
Box 2 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 20 - Spence] 5/16/1972 - "Spence No. 3". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_020)
Spence - Session #4 / home - 3 PM to 5 PM / May 16, 1972 / Session #5 / office 9:30 AM to 11:30 AM
Box 2 [Joseph W. Jacques Interviews reel 21 - Spence, Blakely] 5/17/1972 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: jacques_021)
Side #1 / Session #5 / Spence / office 9:30 AM to 12 noon / May 17, 1972 / Side #2 / Session cont’d / Blakely / Jacques
Writings
Box 3 Recollections and reflections of professors of adult education: Early 20th century leaders and pioneers in the field 1973 - dissertation, Florida State University, for PhD in adult education (1 volume)

Return to top