Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

S. D. Jackson Diaries

An inventory of the items at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jackson, S. D.
Title: S. D. Jackson Diaries
Inclusive Dates: 1880-1897
Quantity: 15 v. (SC)
Abstract: Diaries of a farmer in Oswego County; volumes missing for 1881, 1887 and 1894.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

S. D. Jackson (fl. 1880-1897) was an American farmer who lived in Sand Bank (Oswego County), N.Y. during the second half of the 19th century.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The S. D. Jackson Diaries consist of 15 diaries of the Oswego County farmer. The diaries discuss details such as weather conditions, daily activities, and bills owed. Each diary is bound and contains an almanac for the respective year at the front of the volume. With the exception of 1881, 1887, and 1894, which are absent from the collection, there is a single diary for each year.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The diaries are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Jackson, S. D. -- Diaries.

Subjects

Farmers -- Diaries.

Places

Oswego County (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Farmers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

S. D. Jackson Diaries
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 24 Nov 2008
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
Diaries
SC 260, Folder 1 1880
SC 260, Folder 1 1882
SC 260, Folder 1 1883
SC 260, Folder 1 1884
SC 260, Folder 1 1885
SC 260, Folder 1 1886
SC 260, Folder 1 1888
SC 260, Folder 1 1889
SC 260, Folder 2 1890
SC 260, Folder 2 1891
SC 260, Folder 2 1892
SC 260, Folder 2 1893
SC 260, Folder 2 1895
SC 260, Folder 2 1896
SC 260, Folder 2 1897

Return to top